Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

AFK Masturbating

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 5:56 pm


bobbyjar2
Celestia Whitesword
Also, Doubling Season + Modular.

Now, when an arcbound critter bites the dust and gives it's counters to another critter, does the season also double the counters that jumps on another critter, or nay?
A good thing to know is that it doubles the counters when the critter comes into play, so, lets say you have doubling season out and drop an archbound worker, it gets 2 +1/+1 counters (due to doubling season), and when it dies, you get to drop 4 +1/+1 counters on a creature.


Thanks, I thought that's how it worked. I'm working on a modular/doubling deck. ^_^
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 8:48 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
If you say, tapped 4 forest with mana reflection that would produce 8 green mana in your pool. You use 3 of that to activate doubling cube which leaves 5 green floating in your pool despite the fact that you only used 4 lands. The end result nets you 10 green mana since it doubles 5 green. Remember, doubling cube doesn't care how you got the mana in your pool it only cares how much is there.


Hmm....

I know when dealing with life, if a life total is doubled, it is treated as though life has been gained. In fact, even if life totals are simply switched and it caused someone to be at a higher life total the game treats it as life gain. For instance, if boon reflection was in play and you played beacon of immortality and had 20 life the spell would gain you 20 life and then boon reflection would double that to 40.

By comparison, wouldn't anything that causes the amount of mana in your pool considered adding mana to your pool? In that cause shouldn't doubling cube see 5 mana in the pool and add 5 more mana, triggering mana reflections and adding 10 mana instead? (in two separate chunks of 5 of course)

liz_bliz_inc


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 3:05 am


Since Doubling's Cubes ability is a mana ability I would assume that yes it would double the number. I forgot to think about that last part since I posted that answer when I was half awake.

Now then,

Rules Update:

June 1st DCI Banned/Restricted Announcement

Vintage:
Brainstorm is restricted
Flash is restricted
Gush is restricted
Merchant Scroll is restricted
Ponder is restricted

All other formats including Online formats: No changes
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:51 am


Lord Yawgmoth
Since Doubling's Cubes ability is a mana ability I would assume that yes it would double the number. I forgot to think about that last part since I posted that answer when I was half awake.

Now then,

Rules Update:

June 1st DCI Banned/Restricted Announcement

Vintage:
Brainstorm is restricted
Flash is restricted
Gush is restricted
Merchant Scroll is restricted
Ponder is restricted

All other formats including Online formats: No changes
Vintage; brainstorm is restricted? What?! Those mother ********/> mad

Right at the last second, they've unrestricted alot of things, then bam with this bullshit. Gush has been restricted back in forth, DCI needs to make up their minds. Oh well, I figure the restrictions will not last too long.

Lord Arrion


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:03 am


Lord Arrion
Lord Yawgmoth
Since Doubling's Cubes ability is a mana ability I would assume that yes it would double the number. I forgot to think about that last part since I posted that answer when I was half awake.

Now then,

Rules Update:

June 1st DCI Banned/Restricted Announcement

Vintage:
Brainstorm is restricted
Flash is restricted
Gush is restricted
Merchant Scroll is restricted
Ponder is restricted

All other formats including Online formats: No changes
Vintage; brainstorm is restricted? What?! Those mother ********/> mad

Right at the last second, they've unrestricted alot of things, then bam with this bullshit. Gush has been restricted back in forth, DCI needs to make up their minds. Oh well, I figure the restrictions will not last too long.


Ha....Flash, gush/tog and a Oath are no for the lose
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:38 pm


String_Theory
Lord Arrion
Lord Yawgmoth
Since Doubling's Cubes ability is a mana ability I would assume that yes it would double the number. I forgot to think about that last part since I posted that answer when I was half awake.

Now then,

Rules Update:

June 1st DCI Banned/Restricted Announcement

Vintage:
Brainstorm is restricted
Flash is restricted
Gush is restricted
Merchant Scroll is restricted
Ponder is restricted

All other formats including Online formats: No changes
Vintage; brainstorm is restricted? What?! Those mother ********/> mad

Right at the last second, they've unrestricted alot of things, then bam with this bullshit. Gush has been restricted back in forth, DCI needs to make up their minds. Oh well, I figure the restrictions will not last too long.


Ha....Flash, gush/tog and a Oath are no for the lose
I don't use those, so I'm not concerned with those.

Lord Arrion


Planeswalker92

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:04 pm


Quick question, if I have a morphed creature and I use a card that removes it from play and then brings it back at the end of the turn, would it come back as the morphed creature or it original form. Why/Why not?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:09 am


Planeswalker92
Quick question, if I have a morphed creature and I use a card that removes it from play and then brings it back at the end of the turn, would it come back as the morphed creature or it original form. Why/Why not?

It comes back in it's unmorphed form.

When it leaves play (or the game ends), you flip it over to reveal that it does in fact have morph. It enters it's new zone in the unmorphed form. Then being forced back will have it return as is and since as is is unmorphed, that is what you get.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Planeswalker92

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:27 am


Liquidor
Planeswalker92
Quick question, if I have a morphed creature and I use a card that removes it from play and then brings it back at the end of the turn, would it come back as the morphed creature or it original form. Why/Why not?

It comes back in it's unmorphed form.

When it leaves play (or the game ends), you flip it over to reveal that it does in fact have morph. It enters it's new zone in the unmorphed form. Then being forced back will have it return as is and since as is is unmorphed, that is what you get.

Ok, so if I have a morphed Krosan Cloudscraper, and I use Turn to Mist or Momintary(sp?) Blink that removes it, it will in fact come back as the 13/13?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:49 am


Planeswalker92
Liquidor
Planeswalker92
Quick question, if I have a morphed creature and I use a card that removes it from play and then brings it back at the end of the turn, would it come back as the morphed creature or it original form. Why/Why not?

It comes back in it's unmorphed form.

When it leaves play (or the game ends), you flip it over to reveal that it does in fact have morph. It enters it's new zone in the unmorphed form. Then being forced back will have it return as is and since as is is unmorphed, that is what you get.

Ok, so if I have a morphed Krosan Cloudscraper, and I use Turn to Mist or Momintary(sp?) Blink that removes it, it will in fact come back as the 13/13?


yes.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Planeswalker92

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 pm


Liquidor
Planeswalker92
Liquidor
Planeswalker92
Quick question, if I have a morphed creature and I use a card that removes it from play and then brings it back at the end of the turn, would it come back as the morphed creature or it original form. Why/Why not?

It comes back in it's unmorphed form.

When it leaves play (or the game ends), you flip it over to reveal that it does in fact have morph. It enters it's new zone in the unmorphed form. Then being forced back will have it return as is and since as is is unmorphed, that is what you get.

Ok, so if I have a morphed Krosan Cloudscraper, and I use Turn to Mist or Momintary(sp?) Blink that removes it, it will in fact come back as the 13/13?


yes.

That's wierd how that works out
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:08 am


Planeswalker92
Liquidor
Planeswalker92
Liquidor
Planeswalker92
Quick question, if I have a morphed creature and I use a card that removes it from play and then brings it back at the end of the turn, would it come back as the morphed creature or it original form. Why/Why not?

It comes back in it's unmorphed form.

When it leaves play (or the game ends), you flip it over to reveal that it does in fact have morph. It enters it's new zone in the unmorphed form. Then being forced back will have it return as is and since as is is unmorphed, that is what you get.

Ok, so if I have a morphed Krosan Cloudscraper, and I use Turn to Mist or Momintary(sp?) Blink that removes it, it will in fact come back as the 13/13?


yes.

That's wierd how that works out

Just remember that it follows all rules involving a new creature in the field. It has summoning sickness and the like.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200


TerashiLeonGoken


Eloquent Guildsman

9,325 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Signature Look 250
  • Elocutionist 200
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:04 pm


Okay, here's the scenario. He has seven life, I have one life. He has Teferi in play, I have Tibor and Lumia. My turn. I draw Repulse, and use it on Teferi, which goes back to his hand. Due to Repulse's effect. I draw Invoke the Firemind. I summon Tibor and Lumia and end my turn, hoping to blast him for mega damage for the win next round. His turn. He plays Telling Time (this was on Magic Workstation, don't ask me what he did with it), then summons Teferi back. He then tries to ATTACK with Teferi. His argument: "Teferi has flash."

The Question? Does summoning a creature with flash ON YOUR TURN make him somehow immune to summoning sickness!?

BTW, he left when I questioned him on the move. Which pissed me off. That game was neck and neck, and that win I had planned would have topped it off as one of the best games I've ever played. And he had to run away because I didn't agree with something he did.
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:53 pm


TerashiLeonGoken
Okay, here's the scenario. He has seven life, I have one life. He has Teferi in play, I have Tibor and Lumia. My turn. I draw Repulse, and use it on Teferi, which goes back to his hand. Due to Repulse's effect. I draw Invoke the Firemind. I summon Tibor and Lumia and end my turn, hoping to blast him for mega damage for the win next round. His turn. He plays Telling Time (this was on Magic Workstation, don't ask me what he did with it), then summons Teferi back. He then tries to ATTACK with Teferi. His argument: "Teferi has flash."

The Question? Does summoning a creature with flash ON YOUR TURN make him somehow immune to summoning sickness!?

BTW, he left when I questioned him on the move. Which pissed me off. That game was neck and neck, and that win I had planned would have topped it off as one of the best games I've ever played. And he had to run away because I didn't agree with something he did.


Are you sure he didn't do it on the end of your turn? If he had 7 mana open he could have .

However, if he indeed played Teferi on his own turn he cannot attack with it, flash does not give haste.

liz_bliz_inc



TerashiLeonGoken


Eloquent Guildsman

9,325 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Signature Look 250
  • Elocutionist 200
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:04 pm


String_Theory
TerashiLeonGoken
Okay, here's the scenario. He has seven life, I have one life. He has Teferi in play, I have Tibor and Lumia. My turn. I draw Repulse, and use it on Teferi, which goes back to his hand. Due to Repulse's effect. I draw Invoke the Firemind. I summon Tibor and Lumia and end my turn, hoping to blast him for mega damage for the win next round. His turn. He plays Telling Time (this was on Magic Workstation, don't ask me what he did with it), then summons Teferi back. He then tries to ATTACK with Teferi. His argument: "Teferi has flash."

The Question? Does summoning a creature with flash ON YOUR TURN make him somehow immune to summoning sickness!?

BTW, he left when I questioned him on the move. Which pissed me off. That game was neck and neck, and that win I had planned would have topped it off as one of the best games I've ever played. And he had to run away because I didn't agree with something he did.


Are you sure he didn't do it on the end of your turn? If he had 7 mana open he could have .

However, if he indeed played Teferi on his own turn he cannot attack with it, flash does not give haste.
That's what I thought.

...he may have done it at the end of my turn, though. Not quite sure anymore. neutral
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum