Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Official Warhammer 40,000 and Tabletop Gaming Guild

Back to Guilds

The Official Gaian Home of Tabletop Gaming 

Tags: Games Workshop, Tabletop, Warhammer, Gaming, Wargaming 

Reply 40k Discussion
40k Rule Questions & Clarifications Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 21 22 23 24 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Robthebob

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:25 pm


When i was playing an apocalypse match, a some guys told me that I have to do a TO HIT roll with my ordinance from my baneblade as well as my Leman Russ shots.

It was odd, I mean. Ive always played that ordinance always hit, but... rolling a TO HIT roll is kinda BS.

I thought you only need to do a scatter roll with a ordinance.
PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 6:08 pm


They lie.

You NEVER roll to hit with ordenance.

Shinobi_8745


Robthebob

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:20 pm


Okay, this is a recent conflict that happened at a apocalypse match the other day....

My friend used his defiler, moved 6 inches, popped smoke (so he can stay obscured for my turn, being that it was only top of turn 1), used fleet and then charged my leman russ's front armor.

I thought since smoke takes place of the shooting phase, you cant use fleet.

And also i thought that if you move out of the smoke you dont get the benefit anymore.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:44 pm


Just check it up in the CSM codex for the "takes place in the shooting phase" part, but I've never heard of loosing popped smoke when fleeting. O.o;

Shinobi_8745


Oryn

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:59 pm


Robthebob
Okay, this is a recent conflict that happened at a apocalypse match the other day....

My friend used his defiler, moved 6 inches, popped smoke (so he can stay obscured for my turn, being that it was only top of turn 1), used fleet and then charged my leman russ's front armor.

I thought since smoke takes place of the shooting phase, you cant use fleet.

And also i thought that if you move out of the smoke you dont get the benefit anymore.


I wasn't aware Defilers got Fleet. Maybe it's something with the new codex. I'm not sure on the text for smoke launchers, so I'm not sure you could fleet after popping them. However, assuming you could the protection would last until your opponent's next turn no matter how far you move.
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 6:38 pm


Just a query, but can a techmarine on bike have a full servo harness? One guy I played against said I couldn't, but I couldn't find that you couldn't have servo harness and bike together.

Heroic Senior Officer


Shinobi_8745

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 6:54 am


I don't see anywhere in the rules where it states that you can't?

I belive it was even possible for them to have a jump-pack and even terminator armour, the servoharness just includes artificier armour, and armour can be changed, like in daemon hunters, a grand master can take artificier armour for instance, but it doesn't lead to anything really positive but it's damn cool.
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 9:29 am


Skimmers can only have glancing hits done to them, right? Well, if its open topped, does this mean that it takes double hits still?

Clockwork_Creep

Dangerous Lunatic

7,150 Points
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Person of Interest 200

Shinobi_8745

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:23 am


Yes they still take double hits from blast/template weapons.
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 11:10 am


So me and my friend are still bitterly divided on a rule from multiple codecie*sp, don't know the plural. Anyway in our last match we finally got fed up and called our local GW stored and they settled it for us, we are still divided over the decision. So I want to put it up to you guys, then show him the results.

Okay in the SM and IG codex Missile launchers are given two types of ammo. Krak and frag. Well his brother, an SM player, has always fired different types per turn. Mostly krak against me, but both against his brother, IG. In the Tau codex the Hammerhead Railgun has two ammo types. The Same occurs. I had always thought you could only fire one typer per game. Then a GW employee said otherwise. You guys also said otherwise. Well There is still a problem. SO WHAT DO YOU GUYS SAY!

The Red Hashishin


Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 11:50 am


You can fire either each turn. For example my IG squad with grenade launcher can fire a frag round in one turn and a krak round the other turn. You are NOT bound by one ammo type. Same with missile launchers and Tau Railguns or IG Vanquisher tanks, they can use either ammo type in a single game.

Plus if the majority says you're wrong, go with the flow, don't fight it unless dead sure of your case.
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 12:39 pm


The Red Hashishin
So me and my friend are still bitterly divided on a rule from multiple codecie*sp, don't know the plural. Anyway in our last match we finally got fed up and called our local GW stored and they settled it for us, we are still divided over the decision. So I want to put it up to you guys, then show him the results.

Okay in the SM and IG codex Missile launchers are given two types of ammo. Krak and frag. Well his brother, an SM player, has always fired different types per turn. Mostly krak against me, but both against his brother, IG. In the Tau codex the Hammerhead Railgun has two ammo types. The Same occurs. I had always thought you could only fire one typer per game. Then a GW employee said otherwise. You guys also said otherwise. Well There is still a problem. SO WHAT DO YOU GUYS SAY!


I thought we had settled this. The rules lawyer solution is simple. Ask him to show you exactly where it says you must choose which statline/shot to use each game. He can't because it's not in the rules. If he turns it around on you, several of the older codices do outright state that you may fire either shot each turn. The implicit text has been removed from the newer codices, but the intent hasn't changed because not rules text has been added to disallow the way that most people have played it from as far back as I believe 2nd ed.

Oryn


Robthebob

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 5:51 pm


Hmm, this came up with one of my old apocalypse matches.


Does heigth 3 terrain block LOS to superheavies such as the stompa and titans, which obviously tower far above it?

People say it doesnt, but i dunno. Infantry (such as my lascannon teams) were allowed to shoot them over H3 terrain.
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 9:28 pm


If they can be shot at then they can shoot back.

Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

Reply
40k Discussion

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 21 22 23 24 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum