Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 8:54 pm


Never Too Young
I got some questions from a game I played last night...

Do artifacts have summoning sickness??? (N00bish but I need to know)

For the card "Recuperate" is the second choise only for the turn it is played or for the rest of the game until 6 damage has been done?

How do you flip a card face up??? Is it like an Instant or it flips when attacked or something else?

Can an instant or a creature with flash be played countering a spell or action or is there a certain order? (Also n00bish but I would very much like to know)

Is there a certain site that has a really in depth FAQ or something for Magic???

I don't play very seriously but I was wondering what all that Block stuff was about. I know nothing of it so if it would take to long to answer could you URL me a site or something that explains what is going to happen.


only if they are a artifact creature, summoning sickness only effects creature.

recuperate says on the card that it only prevents the next 6 damage the turn it is played

you can only flip a card face up if it has a morph cost. Morphing is like mana abilities, it does not use the stack and cannot be responded to.

uh...you worded that weird, but yes, creatures with flash and instants can be played in response to other spell and if they have the effect that counters a spell or ability, it can do that. Only instants, abilities or cards with flash may be played while there is another card on the stack or on other player's turns.

starcity games has a nice online judge thing for card rulings, and the official magic site's gatherer has all official card rullings and erratas for each card.

a block is the grouping of sets into a larger group. The block's name is always the name of the first set in the block. (Ravnica block is :Ravinca, Guildpact, Dissension).

Blocks are usually done in 3 sets, however the current block, Lorwyn, is made of two mini blocks of two sets, the mini Lorwyn block and the Shadowmoor block.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:58 am


Thanks!!!

Never Too Young


Umbrasisinus

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:30 am


What happens when a big creature like a 6/6 with double strike and trample goes up against a small creature like a 1/1? is the remaining 11 damage dealt straight to the defending player? or do they get a chance to block the second wave of attack?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 3:42 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
DestroX
DestroX
if a creature with Double Strike attacks and is blocked by a creature that would die from the first hit, does the second hit deal damage to the creature or the player? what if the creature with Double Strike also had Trample? me and my friends have been having an argument about this for some time now.

same ques. as i asked earlier.
Ah, sorry about missing this earlier. Ok.

If a creature with double strike kills the creature during the first strike damage step (the first time it deals damage) and DOESN'T have trample during the normal damage step it will attempt to hit the creature again. But it isn't there. So it's just like blocking and returning the blocker to your hand the creature swings hitting nothing but air. Now if a creature with double strike kills a creature during the first strike damage step and DOES have trample during the normal damage step the controller of the doublestriking trampler can choose to assign the second around of damage to the player. Since the creature blocking it is dead just think of it as a 0/0 blocking it during the normal damage step. You can assign 0 damage to it (which isn't really damage) and the rest (let's say it's a 5/5) to the player making him take 5. 3nodding
Thought this might be relevant to the current question.

Hoboerik


4G-Dragon

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:17 pm


Umm, yah a question.
On cards that give a player an extra upkeep such as "Paradox Haze"(Target player gets an extra upkeep)
Does that mean that player gets to draw two cards or just an extra upkeep for suspended cards and Thillads?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:24 am


4G-Dragon
Umm, yah a question.
On cards that give a player an extra upkeep such as "Paradox Haze"(Target player gets an extra upkeep)
Does that mean that player gets to draw two cards or just an extra upkeep for suspended cards and Thillads?

The turn phases are, in order: untap, upkeep, draw, main phase 1, combat, main phase 2, end phase, cleanup phase. Only during the draw step do players draw cards (unless some other card has specifically stated otherwise). Therefore having two upkeeps does not affect the amount of cards you normally draw in a turn. Abilities that trigger at the beginning of your upkeep however will trigger twice per turn. Yes, even the bad ones.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


4G-Dragon

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:07 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
4G-Dragon
Umm, yah a question.
On cards that give a player an extra upkeep such as "Paradox Haze"(Target player gets an extra upkeep)
Does that mean that player gets to draw two cards or just an extra upkeep for suspended cards and Thillads?

The turn phases are, in order: untap, upkeep, draw, main phase 1, combat, main phase 2, end phase, cleanup phase. Only during the draw step do players draw cards (unless some other card has specifically stated otherwise). Therefore having two upkeeps does not affect the amount of cards you normally draw in a turn. Abilities that trigger at the beginning of your upkeep however will trigger twice per turn. Yes, even the bad ones.

Thank you Lord Yawgmoth...hmm...then that kinda makes me think on something...such as my Thillads. (Fungus guys that make saprolings.) Ok they get aditional "Spore counters" and those that can, can make saprolings...but with a card such as "Sprout Swam" (Convoke: tap creatures as manna to play this, Buyback: [3] pay an aditional [3] to as this spell is played to put it into your hand as the turn reslovs. Make a 1/1 Saproling)
Ok i have just grown a few questions about this card...can i Convoke my creatures for its buyback cost? And also, if used with Thillads and they had recently made saprolings with no haste...can i still force them to tap for its convoke? If you can answer this thanks...you are a great help.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:41 am


4G-Dragon
Lord Yawgmoth
4G-Dragon
Umm, yah a question.
On cards that give a player an extra upkeep such as "Paradox Haze"(Target player gets an extra upkeep)
Does that mean that player gets to draw two cards or just an extra upkeep for suspended cards and Thillads?

The turn phases are, in order: untap, upkeep, draw, main phase 1, combat, main phase 2, end phase, cleanup phase. Only during the draw step do players draw cards (unless some other card has specifically stated otherwise). Therefore having two upkeeps does not affect the amount of cards you normally draw in a turn. Abilities that trigger at the beginning of your upkeep however will trigger twice per turn. Yes, even the bad ones.

Thank you Lord Yawgmoth...hmm...then that kinda makes me think on something...such as my Thillads. (Fungus guys that make saprolings.) Ok they get aditional "Spore counters" and those that can, can make saprolings...but with a card such as "Sprout Swam" (Convoke: tap creatures as manna to play this, Buyback: [3] pay an aditional [3] to as this spell is played to put it into your hand as the turn reslovs. Make a 1/1 Saproling)
Ok i have just grown a few questions about this card...can i Convoke my creatures for its buyback cost? And also, if used with Thillads and they had recently made saprolings with no haste...can i still force them to tap for its convoke? If you can answer this thanks...you are a great help.

yes, you can use any creatures for the convoke cost as the card with convoke is tapping the creatures, not their own abilities. Much like any card that says "tap and untapped (something)" does not require that thing to have haste.

also, yes, you can use convoke for the buyback cost. Buyback is an alteration to the normal casting cost, so you are still paying a casting cost for a spell, it is just greater. Convoke also is an alteration to the base casting cost and also happens as you play the spell.

If you ever have a card with kicker and convoke however, you may not use the convoke on the kicker because the convoke happens as you play the spell to alter the base casting cost and the option to pay the kicker happens after the spell is already on the stack as you must play the spell before you can pay the kicker. So kavu prim arch can never cost less than 4 colorless mana.

liz_bliz_inc


4G-Dragon

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:06 pm


Thanks Lord Yawgmoth You are a great help.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:14 pm


Are prowl costs payable as an instant? Or during the main phase that follows the attack phase?

AFK Masturbating


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:20 pm


Celestia Whitesword
Are prowl costs payable as an instant? Or during the main phase that follows the attack phase?

Prowl is an alternate cost. Not an alternate speed.

Whatever speed the card can normally be played as is the speed that the Prowl is cast.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:23 pm


Hm, I see then.

AFK Masturbating


Never Too Young

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:32 pm


Hilo! I gotz a question:

If a creature card has 2 differnt mana colors and an oppenent has a creature card that has protection from only one of those colors, do they still have the protection?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:49 pm


Yes, it does.

Reav-r
Crew


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:12 pm


Never Too Young
Hilo! I gotz a question:

If a creature card has 2 differnt mana colors and an oppenent has a creature card that has protection from only one of those colors, do they still have the protection?

A little more in depth answer so you understand a little better. A creature that is say costed as 1GR is both green and red. This means if a creature has protection from either of those colors it has protection from that creature. This means if something tells you to pick a green creature you can pick that, this means if someone plays a card that destroys a red permanent it can destroy that. This is also means if it something can't choose either one of those colors then it cannot pick that. For example, you wouldn't be able to Strafe the creature even though its green because its also red.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum