Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

SkeletonPhoenix

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:45 am


Crap I can't believe I'm asking a question?

I've been getting mixed rules about two cards.

A. Cone of fire
B. Incremental growth

My question is can you target the same creature three times. Also please explian why.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:20 am


No, you can't target the same creature with either spell.

Each of the spells says Target, another Target, and a Third Target. As such, you need at least 3 targets in play to use the cards.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

SkeletonPhoenix

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:02 pm


Thanks I was get some mix feedback from the people at FNM.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:49 pm


Hello, I'm new to this guild and just introduced myself on the other thread smile . I have a couple questions and they'll probably seem a little dumb to you guys so please bear with me, haha. I only recently got back in to the game after a long period of absence and I'm a little shaky on all the rules.
Okay, anyway, here's my questions:
1) The text on Ankh of Mishra reads 'Ankh does 2 damage to anyone who puts a new land into play', and the Oracle text reads 'Whenever a land comes into play, Ankh of Mishra deals 2 damage to that land's controller.' I was wondering then, does this oracle reading make this card interact with Parallax Tide? As in, could I bring the Tide into play, remove 5 counters and 5 lands, next turn when it dies, the opponent gets the 5 lands back and takes 10?
2) I have a flipped Kitsune Mystic so that I can swap creature enchantments at instant speed for 1. How does this interact with Pariah/Guilty Conscience. More specifically, on either of these, can I order things in such a way that I'll be able to move the enchantments after damage is dealt back at the creatures in order to keep the enchantments in play?

Sorry if I did not explain this well enough/these questions make me look like a total idiot. Thanks for all the help!

Yaakke


Ramar E. Mana
Crew

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:07 pm


Yaakke
Hello, I'm new to this guild and just introduced myself on the other thread smile . I have a couple questions and they'll probably seem a little dumb to you guys so please bear with me, haha. I only recently got back in to the game after a long period of absence and I'm a little shaky on all the rules.
Okay, anyway, here's my questions:
1) The text on Ankh of Mishra reads 'Ankh does 2 damage to anyone who puts a new land into play', and the Oracle text reads 'Whenever a land comes into play, Ankh of Mishra deals 2 damage to that land's controller.' I was wondering then, does this oracle reading make this card interact with Parallax Tide? As in, could I bring the Tide into play, remove 5 counters and 5 lands, next turn when it dies, the opponent gets the 5 lands back and takes 10?
2) I have a flipped Kitsune Mystic so that I can swap creature enchantments at instant speed for 1. How does this interact with Pariah/Guilty Conscience. More specifically, on either of these, can I order things in such a way that I'll be able to move the enchantments after damage is dealt back at the creatures in order to keep the enchantments in play? The thing you need to watch out for is that Guilty Conscience will look for an "Enchanted creature" on resolution to deal it's damage to. So in this way the damage does not simply disappear because the same creature wasn't enchanted when it triggered.

Sorry if I did not explain this well enough/these questions make me look like a total idiot. Thanks for all the help!
1.) You are correct, Ankh of Mishra only states that a land come into play for it to trigger, it does not matter where the land(s) come into play from.

2.) This one's a bit trickier. Guilty Conscience states that "Whenever enchanted creature deals damage" which means that damage has already gone on the stack, both players have responded to damage, and that it is all resolving. Once damage resolves Guilty Conscience will trigger and put damage on the stack again for both players to respond to. Which in your case would be the time where you could indeed use Kitsune Mystic's ability to move the enchantment to another creature.

The thing with Pariah however works so that once damage is assigned to you and is resolving, Pariah redirects any damage pointed at you to the creature, something you cannot respond to. Once it resolves State-Base effects will be checked before you have the opportunity to use the Mystic's ability.

Here are the ruling references I made while looking into it:
310.4.
Combat damage resolves as an object on the stack. When it resolves, it’s all dealt at once, as originally assigned. The combat damage object is then removed from the stack and ceases to exist. After combat damage finishes resolving, the active player gets priority.
410.8.
Triggered abilities with a condition directly following the trigger event (for example, “When/Whenever/At [trigger], if [condition], [effect]”), check for the condition to be true as part of the trigger event; if it isn’t, the ability doesn’t trigger. The ability checks the condition again on resolution. If it’s not satisfied, the ability does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. Note that this rule doesn’t apply to any triggered ability with an “if” condition elsewhere within its text. This rule is referred to as the “intervening ‘if’ clause” rule.
420.3.
Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 408, “Timing of Spells and Abilities”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based effects. All applicable effects resolve as a single event, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based effects have been generated, triggered abilities go on the stack, and then the appropriate player gets priority. This check is also made during the cleanup step (see rule 314); if any of the listed conditions apply, the active player receives priority.
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:22 pm


Thanks loads for the help! I very much appreciate it and your explanation with the actual rules smile .

Yaakke


ungaru

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 7:00 pm


I got one that has been confounding the guys in my play group. Say I have a Glen Elendra Pranksters in play as well as a spellstutter sprite, and my opponent is going to play a wrath of god with only enough mana to squeak it out. Can I play, say a faerie harbinger and bounce the sprite to my hand and then play it to counter the wrath or whatever spell my opponent wants to play?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:52 pm


ungaru
I got one that has been confounding the guys in my play group. Say I have a Glen Elendra Pranksters in play as well as a spellstutter sprite, and my opponent is going to play a wrath of god with only enough mana to squeak it out. Can I play, say a faerie harbinger and bounce the sprite to my hand and then play it to counter the wrath or whatever spell my opponent wants to play?
Yes, you are doing everything in response to the Wrath of God resolving, and assuming you have enough faeries in play for Spellstutter Sprite's ability to affect the Wrath, it will be countered.

Priority kind of branches off into a tree. You play spell 'A' and both you and your opponent (Respectfully) will receive priority to respond to that spell. If there is a response with spell 'B' both will receive priority again in the same manner (Starting with the player who didn't cast the spell). Once spell 'B' resolves, you both again have the chance to respond to spell 'A' because the situation in which it was played has been changed. This will continue until the initial spell resolves (In your case Wrath) and the stack becomes empty.

Ramar E. Mana
Crew


swift_swordsman10

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 5:33 pm


This has been bothering me ever since Lorwyn came to be. Lets say I have two Woodland Chaneglings out in play, they both have the changeling ability which makes them all creature types at all times. How would two changeling creatures on the field at the same time be affected by Coat of Arms being out in play?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 5:50 pm


10/4/2004 If you have a creature with more than one creature type, and another creature matches more than one creature type, you only count that creature once. You do not double count it because it has a double match.

that is the exact magicthegathering.com errata for coat of arms, so your changlings would only get +1/+1, sorry.

Lady Visara


nekogal5

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:59 pm


if i have the follwing perments in play:
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
and i turn my planeswalker into a artifact then into a creature and put a +1/+1 counter on it. Is the experiment karj limited to once per turn activation of it's new ablities like a planeswalker?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:44 am


Lady Visara
10/4/2004 If you have a creature with more than one creature type, and another creature matches more than one creature type, you only count that creature once. You do not double count it because it has a double match.

that is the exact magicthegathering.com errata for coat of arms, so your changlings would only get +1/+1, sorry.


Yes, I've had to argue this with the locals a lot. Coat only cares that they share a type, not how many times they do. Thank god something useful to me came out of the changelings, they forced wizards to make that errata clear.

liz_bliz_inc


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:58 am


nekogal5
if i have the follwing perments in play:
and i turn my planeswalker into a artifact then into a creature and put a +1/+1 counter on it. Is the experiment karj limited to once per turn activation of it's new ablities like a planeswalker?


I'm going to say no. Since Karj is not the super type "Planeswalker" he should not be affected by the same rules set in place for Planeswalkers. His super type is Legendary Creature and neither Legendary permanents or creatures are limited to using their activated abilities at sorcery speed once per turn.
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:03 am


Lord Yawgmoth
Nope. Being a DCI judge isn't really a job. You do get the special promo "Judge Foils" every now and then depending on how many events you judged.
also a full box of product every time you judge a gold level tournament

Brave Saint Saturn


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:55 pm


[Marlboro72s]
Lord Yawgmoth
Nope. Being a DCI judge isn't really a job. You do get the special promo "Judge Foils" every now and then depending on how many events you judged.
also a full box of product every time you judge a gold level tournament

Plus those Judge foils are nothing to sneeze at, the exalted angel one bottoms out at like $85, and most go for 100 easy. Most other judge foils still start at $25.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum