Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 43 44 45 46 47 48 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:10 am


String_Theory
Lord Yawgmoth
You effectively can't destroy it. Returning the card to it's owner's hand is the activation cost which you can't stop. It's just like tapping a creature to use its ability, you can't tap the creature in response because the tap is part of the cost. In this case the return is part of the cost and therefore can't be responded to. In addition regeneration puts a 'shield' on of sorts and doesn't actually HAVE to regenerate the creature to be a legal target. So yes. You can activate Broken Fall in response to Naturalize even if the creature isn't going to die.
Yeah, and it's effectively a really expensive "Tap target creature' effect in green

The Creature doesn't Tap until it uses its regeneration "shield".
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:39 pm


Will a Decree of Silence get counters put onto it if that player also controls Guile?

DInfiltrator


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:14 pm


Yes. Guile just replaces what happens when the spell is countered, it doesn't stop anything else about counterspells. Another example is if you rewind a spell with Guile in play, you still untap four lands.
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:12 am


I guys I have another question:


a.) O-Naginata
Can only be attached to creature with power 3 or greater.

If I equipped O-Naginata to a Sunhome Enforcer which I pumped to 3/4, at the end of the turn would O-Naginata be unequipped due to the fact that it is returned to 2/4 or it won't because the +3 power given by the Naginate enables to Enforcer to sustain the equipment?


b.) Creature with Zero power and Zero damage dealing.
When creature has 0 power or its damage is reduced to 0 or less (like using Shrink and Prismatic Ward), would it still be considered that it dealt damage?

My question is regarding it's effects with cards like Deathtouch, Umezawa's Jitte and Phage, the Untouchable.


Thanks smile

Rohml


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:27 pm


Rohml
I guys I have another question:


a.) O-Naginata
Can only be attached to creature with power 3 or greater.

If I equipped O-Naginata to a Sunhome Enforcer which I pumped to 3/4, at the end of the turn would O-Naginata be unequipped due to the fact that it is returned to 2/4 or it won't because the +3 power given by the Naginate enables to Enforcer to sustain the equipment?


b.) Creature with Zero power and Zero damage dealing.
When creature has 0 power or its damage is reduced to 0 or less (like using Shrink and Prismatic Ward), would it still be considered that it dealt damage?

My question is regarding it's effects with cards like Deathtouch, Umezawa's Jitte and Phage, the Untouchable.


Thanks smile


A) Pretty sure that such requirements are similar to the requirement that equipment must be attached to a creature. As soon as statebased's are checked and his power is less than 3, the equipment will fall off. However, since the o-naginata gives +3/+0 it's going to be difficult to make the creature have a power less than 3.

B) easy, no. If a creature has 0 or less power, it does not deal any damage.
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:23 pm


Yeah O-Naginata only cares about the power at a few points, on target, on resolution, and during the state it's equipped.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


The Great Unseen

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:41 pm


Lets say I have just two creatures in play. A Silvergill Douser, and some other random thing that has the "Changling" ability.

If I use the Merfolks effect, does the creature get -2/-0? or, -3/-0?

(T: Target creature gets -X/-0 until end of turn, where X is the number of Merfolk and/or Faeries you control.)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:48 pm


Mistform Ally
Lets say I have just two creatures in play. A Silvergill Douser, and some other random thing that has the "Changling" ability.

If I use the Merfolks effect, does the creature get -2/-0? or, -3/-0?

(T: Target creature gets -X/-0 until end of turn, where X is the number of Merfolk and/or Faeries you control.)
The ability would give the target -3/-0.

When the ability checks for Merfolk it will see your Douser, and your Changling. Then it will see your Changling creature again when the ability checks for Faeries.

Ramar E. Mana
Crew


H1jAcK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:18 am


Ramar E. Mana
The ability would give the target -3/-0.

When the ability checks for Merfolk it will see your Douser, and your Changling. Then it will see your Changling creature again when the ability checks for Faeries.


That's actually completely wrong. Silvergill Douser checks for the number of permanents that meet the criteria (Merfolk and/or Faeries), not the number of times it occurs. So the Changeling, though having both creature types, will actually only give the bonus once. A Silvergill Douser will only give -2/-0 if the only only creature or tribal permanent you control is Woodland Changeling (or any Changeling). -Jack
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:55 pm


H1jAcK
Ramar E. Mana
The ability would give the target -3/-0.

When the ability checks for Merfolk it will see your Douser, and your Changling. Then it will see your Changling creature again when the ability checks for Faeries.


That's actually completely wrong. Silvergill Douser checks for the number of permanents that meet the criteria (Merfolk and/or Faeries), not the number of times it occurs. So the Changeling, though having both creature types, will actually only give the bonus once. A Silvergill Douser will only give -2/-0 if the only only creature or tribal permanent you control is Woodland Changeling (or any Changeling). -Jack
Oh god, not again! gonk This is the same argument two of the judges at the pre-release got into when I asked them.

The Great Unseen


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:21 am


H1jAcK
Ramar E. Mana
The ability would give the target -3/-0.

When the ability checks for Merfolk it will see your Douser, and your Changling. Then it will see your Changling creature again when the ability checks for Faeries.


That's actually completely wrong. Silvergill Douser checks for the number of permanents that meet the criteria (Merfolk and/or Faeries), not the number of times it occurs. So the Changeling, though having both creature types, will actually only give the bonus once. A Silvergill Douser will only give -2/-0 if the only only creature or tribal permanent you control is Woodland Changeling (or any Changeling). -Jack

I have to agree. Changelings are counted as Merfolk and Faerie not just a Merfolk or a Faerie.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:54 am


Liquidor
H1jAcK
Ramar E. Mana
The ability would give the target -3/-0.

When the ability checks for Merfolk it will see your Douser, and your Changling. Then it will see your Changling creature again when the ability checks for Faeries.


That's actually completely wrong. Silvergill Douser checks for the number of permanents that meet the criteria (Merfolk and/or Faeries), not the number of times it occurs. So the Changeling, though having both creature types, will actually only give the bonus once. A Silvergill Douser will only give -2/-0 if the only only creature or tribal permanent you control is Woodland Changeling (or any Changeling). -Jack

I have to agree. Changelings are counted as Merfolk and Faerie not just a Merfolk or a Faerie.


I 3rd the original ruling. The effect will check all creatures to see if they are merfolk and then again to see if they are faeries and count all instances of both for the total.

I would also like to once again ask that you refrain from posting like this. We do have 5 judges here, if all five of them agree, chances are that the answer is correct. And we have disagreed here before. If you really think something is wrong (and you are not the one who asked the question), pm the judge who made the ruling, or just pm Yawg, I'm sure they'll clear things up.

liz_bliz_inc


Ramar E. Mana
Crew

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:41 pm


String_Theory
Liquidor
H1jAcK
Ramar E. Mana
The ability would give the target -3/-0.

When the ability checks for Merfolk it will see your Douser, and your Changling. Then it will see your Changling creature again when the ability checks for Faeries.


That's actually completely wrong. Silvergill Douser checks for the number of permanents that meet the criteria (Merfolk and/or Faeries), not the number of times it occurs. So the Changeling, though having both creature types, will actually only give the bonus once. A Silvergill Douser will only give -2/-0 if the only only creature or tribal permanent you control is Woodland Changeling (or any Changeling). -Jack

I have to agree. Changelings are counted as Merfolk and Faerie not just a Merfolk or a Faerie.


I 3rd the original ruling. The effect will check all creatures to see if they are merfolk and then again to see if they are faeries and count all instances of both for the total.

I would also like to once again ask that you refrain from posting like this. We do have 5 judges here, if all five of them agree, chances are that the answer is correct. And we have disagreed here before. If you really think something is wrong (and you are not the one who asked the question), pm the judge who made the ruling, or just pm Yawg, I'm sure they'll clear things up.
My bad, I was seeing the 'and' portion of the ability, and thought that it would check permanents twice for each ability, when in fact it's acts just as Coat of Arms does.

Again I apologize for not catching myself earlier.
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:40 am


To clarify yes it only counts the changeling once. Not twice of the phrase "and/or" meaning it adds them all in one cumulative sum even if one is a merfolk AND a faerie it only counts for one..

Secondly String: I actually DO say if they believe we've made an error in judgment to say so. Though I'm not really fond of how H1jAcK went about it. gonk

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 43 44 45 46 47 48 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum