Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

The Great Unseen

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:55 am


I have 20 life, and my friend has 10. He has Skirk Fire Marshal, a Mogg Maniac, and 3 other Goblins in play. He taps the Goblins to do the damage.

He dies, and then I win before I can take the extra ten, right?... Or does the game end in a tie?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:35 pm


Mogg Manaic's ability will go onto the stack, state based effects are checked and your friend loses before the ability resolves.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Hoboerik

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:51 pm


Can I use Chord of Calling to get a Morphed face down creature?
If so, does it cost 0GGG or 3GGG, or the creatures converted mana cost?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:16 am


No. You can only put a creature face down when you play it as a morph. Chording a creature means you have to bring it in face up so the chord must cost as much as the creature's face up converted mana cost.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Hoboerik

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:08 pm


Thank you very much.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:55 pm


How do X mana costs, entwine costs, and kicker costs work with a Panoptic Mirror?

User ImageUser ImageUser ImageUser ImageUser Image

Nosada_Kage

6,650 Points
  • Elocutionist 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Invisibility 100

Ramar E. Mana
Crew

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:01 pm


Cards imprinted on Panoptic Mirror that have an X in the mana cost, like Disintegrate, are 0. So to imprint Disintegrate onto the mirror you would pay R.

As the mirror copies a spell with entwine, or kicker you have th choice of paying the additional cost. If you do, the spell will gain it's additional effects.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 1:40 am


Minor tweak on your answer Ramar. To imprint Disintegrate it costs 1. Not R. The mirror doesn't care what kind of mana you use 3nodding

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Hoboerik

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:13 am


When using Venser, Shaper Savant:
My opponent has one out, could I play mine, choosing to return it back to my hand, to cause them to lose theirs, or will both die?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:27 am


Both die.
It goes like this.
You pick a target, the ability goes onto the stack, state-based effects are checked and see two legends with the same name. Kill them both and then your Venser's ability resolves returning the target you choose (assuming it can by then)

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


H1jAcK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:18 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
Both die.
It goes like this.
You pick a target, the ability goes onto the stack, state-based effects are checked and see two legends with the same name. Kill them both and then your Venser's ability resolves returning the target you choose (assuming it can by then)


I know I'm not supposed to post answers here, but I just want to make a nitpick. The State-Based Effect that puts two legends of the same name into their owner's graveyards does not actually kill the legends. Kill is often associated with destroy effects, and two Konda, Lord of Eiganjo would still be put in the graveyard. No regeneration, indestructibility, or other means of avoiding destruction or lethal damage saves the legends from SBEs. -Jack
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:49 pm


H1jAcK
Lord Yawgmoth
Both die.
It goes like this.
You pick a target, the ability goes onto the stack, state-based effects are checked and see two legends with the same name. Kill them both and then your Venser's ability resolves returning the target you choose (assuming it can by then)


I know I'm not supposed to post answers here, but I just want to make a nitpick. The State-Based Effect that puts two legends of the same name into their owner's graveyards does not actually kill the legends. Kill is often associated with destroy effects, and two Konda, Lord of Eiganjo would still be put in the graveyard. No regeneration, indestructibility, or other means of avoiding destruction or lethal damage saves the legends from SBEs. -Jack


Well, you know, there is still one slot open. Pass the test and Yawg won't be made when you post an answer.

liz_bliz_inc


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 2:08 am


The way my statement is worded it reads that state-based effects are the responsible party for killing the two creatures. It's simply assumed that people realize they cannot respond nor stop any kind of state-based effect.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:03 pm


What would happen if a Grave Peril is in play and both me and my opponent has a creature in the graveyard and somebody played Exhume.

How will we determine what creature will be destroyed by Grave Peril?

How about if somebody played Living Death?

Rohml

Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum