|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 1:31 am
You could control a creature then sac the very same one or you could control a creature and a sac a different one. Grab the Reins doesn't care.
And I disabled it myself out of the inability to keep it going at this point in time which would've been unfair to the members. So the better thing to do was shut it down rather than let it die from inactivity.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:32 pm
Okay. Just checking to see if the ordering of the actions on the card had anythign to do with the entwine cost, since they're reversed.
Another obvious question, but one i'm unable to look up (Time constraints, Sorry i'm making you think.)
Vedlaken Archmage's ability states that when an artifact comes into play, draw a card.
The artifact lands, (Seat of the Synod, Anceint Den, etc...) Are considered art...
Nevermind that, Vedlaken says Artifact Spells, but lands aren't spells. Disregard that.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 10:36 am
ok, I have a question about split second and morph (yes just like that thread in the guild.) It seems that you guys have pointed out that when you flip up a morph creature, you can do that in response to a split second spell (I think that is what you got). but, if you flip up, like, willbender, does his effect go on the stack? or does split second stop his effect. sweatdrop
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:58 pm
Hibiki (Neon) Tokai Okay. Just checking to see if the ordering of the actions on the card had anythign to do with the entwine cost, since they're reversed. I'm not sure I understand your question. But in any case I'll give you what answer I think you're looking for. The order of the effects on cards with entwine does matter. If you pay the entwine you must do the two effects in the order they were written. You can't tooth and nail with entwine and put two creatures from your hand into play before you search. bobbyjar2 ok, I have a question about split second and morph (yes just like that thread in the guild.) It seems that you guys have pointed out that when you flip up a morph creature, you can do that in response to a split second spell (I think that is what you got). but, if you flip up, like, willbender, does his effect go on the stack? or does split second stop his effect. sweatdrop Morph is a special ability that does not use the stack so that's why you can morph a willbender or any creature face up in response to split second. Willbender's ability reads "When willbender is turned face up change the target of target spell or ability with a single target". The "When" means its triggered. Split Second does not stop triggered abilities from happening. Example. If you have an enchantment that says "Whenever an opponent plays an instant, that player takes 1 damage" and they play Sudden Death, they still take 1 damage because it doesn't stop triggered abilities from stacking ontop of the split second and resolving. It only stops spells and activated abilities. Note: Static abilities like Glorious Anthem are also not affect by split second (or anything in the game currently) in any way shape or form
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:05 pm
If I play pyromantics and pay to replicate it 3 times, and my foe counters it, are they all countered or just one of them. I say just one, but he says all.
Also, can I block with a creature then bounce it back to my hand, even if it takes lethal damage? With Veldaken Mastermind for example.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:45 pm
Q1: Just one. Replicate, like Storm, has to have all copies countered to completely neutralize the spell. Even if he counters the original the rest will still resolve as normal.
Q2: Yes and no. Yes you can but not once it takes damage. As of Sixth Edition combat damage uses the stack. You can choose to wait for damage to "stack" and once it's on the stack each player may respond to it. If you respond by bouncing your creature a la Veldaken Mastermind then when combat damage resolves his creature will take the damage yours dealt but his creature will "miss" and swing at nothing. (unless it has trample and some spilled over to you).
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:36 pm
If my opponent's Ixidron turns my Platinum Angel face down, does the Angel's ability still apply? I mean, can I still not lose? Like, if my life is -3?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:10 pm
Nosada_the_Stealth If my opponent's Ixidron turns my Platinum Angel face down, does the Angel's ability still apply? I mean, can I still not lose? Like, if my life is -3? Nope. You'll lose. When a creature is turned face down it becomes a 2/2 creature with no name, no abilities, no creature, and no mana cost. So the ability that says you can't lose and they can't win is no longer around. If you're at 0 or less life when this happens the next time a player would receive priority state based effects are checked, the game sees you have 0 or less life, and you lose. Nosada_the_Stealth Does this combo work? Myr Landshaper and Splinter Use the Landshaper to turn opponent's island into an artifact then remove it and all islands from his graveyard,hand and library from the game with Splinter? Yes. Splinter only cares about the card type upon targetting and resolution. The rest of it's removal cares about the name. If you turn an Island into an artifact with Myr Landshaper (this means the text line will read Basic Artifact Land - Island) and Splinter it, splinter will see the name "Island" in the name box and remove all cards with that name irregardless of what they are in the library, hand and graveyard.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:00 pm
Ok, if I turn something into an artifact until end of turn, and then play an enchant artifact on it, will the enchantment stay on at the end of turn?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:17 pm
I don't think so because when something that was enchanted isn't being a legal target any more, the enchantment falls off.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:48 pm
bobbyjar2 I don't think so because when something that was enchanted isn't being a legal target any more, the enchantment falls off. You're right. It's like having an enchant creature on a thing that is a creature at the time and then later becomes not a creature, the enchantment falls off as soon as state based effects check. Which is as we know, when pretty much anything happens. Equipment also un-equips, as equipment by its nature, can only be attached to creatures.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:02 am
I completely missed these posts yesterday when I checked.
But yes Nosada. Bobby and String Theory are correct.
In addition. Since all my other apprentices have abandoned this thread I've opened applications up for new ones. To apply PM me with the title "Apprenticeship" (any PMs without that subject line will be ignored since this is to test who reads instructions and who doesn't) and I'll send you a test that you have 5 hours to respond to. You must answer ALL questions correctly. If you miss even one, you fail. If you get them all right you'll be added to the list. Thanks ahead of time for those who take the time to help me out by applying for apprenticeship. domokun
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:01 pm
I would apply, but my knowledge of the rules is not complete sweatdrop
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:03 pm
hey yawgy, long time no see. what happened to your old apprentice? and since when have you been a site mod?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|