|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:10 am
Dischord If I roll a 1, when trying to hit you, regardless of whether my modifiers hit.. I miss..
If I roll a twenty, I don't care how good your dodge is, I hit.
This is because the system is such that someone with enough hohou could avoid every single hit, and some people could never hit at all.
It gives the system a little extra balance.
That's all.
So yes.. the supplemental is correct. Theoretically speaking, should the target still roll dodge if the attacker rolls 20? The target could possibly roll a 20 in response which would tie the attack and dodge rolls as "always hit". It could also be stated that if the target rolls a 1 to create an "always hit versus always miss" scenario that a critical strike would occur.
Conversely. Should the target still roll dodge if the attacker rolls 1? The target could possibly roll a 20 in response which could, say, put the attacker off balance for their target (dodge) rolls in the next round. If they both happen to roll a 1, then the "always miss" on both sides is just bad luck.
Just asking wink
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:55 am
ChaosHuntress Dischord If I roll a 1, when trying to hit you, regardless of whether my modifiers hit.. I miss..
If I roll a twenty, I don't care how good your dodge is, I hit.
This is because the system is such that someone with enough hohou could avoid every single hit, and some people could never hit at all.
It gives the system a little extra balance.
That's all.
So yes.. the supplemental is correct. Theoretically speaking, should the target still roll dodge if the attacker rolls 20?
Yes
The target could possibly roll a 20 in response which would tie the attack and dodge rolls as "always hit". It could also be stated that if the target rolls a 1 to create an "always hit versus always miss" scenario that a critical strike would occur.
In the case of two 20s being rolled, I'm guessing that you just add the numbers.
I roll 20 + 24 for an attack. Enemy rolls 20 + 17 for a dodge.
We both rolled 20s, but because of my modifier I would have won that stalemate. This is what happened before in the old system, I'm not sure about the new one though.
The critical hit thing is interesting but probably won't happen because we do too much damage already.
Conversely. Should the target still roll dodge if the attacker rolls 1? The target could possibly roll a 20 in response which could, say, put the attacker off balance for their target (dodge) rolls in the next round. If they both happen to roll a 1, then the "always miss" on both sides is just bad luck.
Same as above.
Just asking wink
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:23 am
Is there a simpler way to figure out the damage step in making characters?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:05 pm
forgottenmaster09 Is there a simpler way to figure out the damage step in making characters? Yes, read the FAQs.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:07 pm
In response to the above that ChaosHuntress asked, the answer is
No
20 always hits/dodges, 1 always misses/fails.
Regardless of any other modifiers. The opponent doesn't get a chance to negate an 20.
If you roll a 20 to attack..
they don't get to dodge.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:08 pm
I have one question...Where do I start? Sorry if the answer is obvious but I'm lost
|
 |
 |
|
|
Aubrey of the sliver line
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:10 pm
Read the F.A.Q.'s for more information. Both can be found in the main forum.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:28 pm
Ok, not trying to be a n00b or anything, but I really suck at vauge instructions. What I mean is the damage used in the FAQ is 1-10 plus strength "min and max damage", so is it ten minus one plus min and max or 1-10 then you add in the min and max damage, if neither of those ways, how exactly is it calculated for each different character sheet?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:36 pm
They're incredibly detailed, and not vague.
For those who didn't get it when reading the first time. I added a note section.
Note: It should be noted that numbers are considered from x to x, not x minus x. Also, when calculating your damage, remember to add straight down the column on either side. This produces your two numbers to calculate damage from. So, as with the Zanpakuto One Handed Damage, the equations are 1+3+2=6, and 1+3+4=17. This gives us the numbers 6-17. These are the random numbers we use in generation. So you do a minimum of 6 damage, and a maximum of 17 damage.
I didn't think this was necessary, because everything was easily explained to begin with, but, there it is.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:13 pm
Seeing as theres a fairly large surplus in the guild account, (fairly large being more gold than I've ever seen at once) I was wondering if we could make a Chatterbox subforum, instead of just a thread. I can't properly spam my heart out with the current set up. 3nodding
|
 |
 |
|
|
Awesome Comes Standard Vice Captain
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:48 pm
No. If you want a real chatterbox to spam in, you can go out of the guild for that. We don't need one of those for the guild. surprised We like having the chatter box in the main forum. Unless Kenkaru overrides me on this, we'll keep it as it is.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 10:00 pm
Question: Are there penalties if you know it but haven't mastered, or can you just not use it until it's mastered?
|
 |
 |
|
|
Awesome Comes Standard Vice Captain
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:05 am
my question upon reading that question would be...
use/master what? "It" is rather vague...hehe
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:20 am
If you haven't mastered the technique (she's referring to Kidou btw, Shunny), then you have to pay 1.5 the base (ie, if a technique costs 20, it'll then cost 30), in order to use it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Awesome Comes Standard Vice Captain
|
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:03 am
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|