Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Liberi Glacialis

Familiar Gaian

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:48 am


o.O

Then the judge was wrong...or you are wrong....(Attempted that with Fortify....Judge said I was dead first [opponent had 20+ damage pointed at me. Mmmmm...13/13], but I was non-active player at the time)

Thanks, though.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:22 pm


I'm sick and tired of banding being pretty much the only keyword/mechanic I can't help my friends and random newbies with (having starting in Exodus, it was before my time, and I have seen two people in my history of playing the game play cards with the keyword)

So, could someone explain that to me? I'm ready for a bit of reading it necessary, along with any headaches.

liz_bliz_inc


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:36 am


Here's every detail of banding from the comprehensive rules. If you still have some questions about it feel free to ask.

Comp Rules
502.10. Banding

502.10a Banding is a static ability that modifies the rules for declaring attackers and assigning combat damage.

502.10b As a player declares attackers, he or she may declare that any number of those creatures with banding, and up to one of those creatures without banding, are all in a "band." (Defending players can't declare bands but may use banding in a different way; see rule 502.10h.)

502.10c A player may declare as many attacking bands as he or she wants, but each creature may be a member of only one of them.

502.10d Once an attacking band has been announced, it lasts for the rest of combat, even if something later removes the banding ability from one or more creatures. However, creatures in a band that are removed from combat are also removed from the band.

502.10e If an attacking creature becomes blocked by a creature, each other creature in the same band as the attacking creature becomes blocked by that same blocking creature.
Example: A player attacks with a band consisting of a creature with flying and a creature with swampwalk. The defending player, who controls a Swamp, can block the flying creature if able. If he or she does, then the creature with swampwalk will also become blocked by the blocking creature(s).

502.10f Banding doesn't cause attacking creatures to share abilities, nor does it remove any abilities. The attacking creatures in a band are separate permanents.

502.10g If one member of a band would become blocked due to an effect, the entire band becomes blocked.

502.10h A player who controls an attacking creature with banding chooses how combat damage is assigned by creatures blocking that creature. A player who controls a blocking creature with banding chooses how combat damage is assigned by creatures it blocks. If the creature had banding when it attacked or blocked but the ability was removed before the combat damage step, damage is assigned normally.

502.10i Multiple instances of banding on the same creature are redundant.

502.11. Bands with Other

502.11a Bands with other is a special form of banding. If an effect causes a permanent to lose banding, the permanent loses all bands with other abilities as well.

502.11b An attacking creature with "bands with other [creature type]" can form an attacking band with other creatures that have the same "bands with other [creature type]" ability. Creatures with banding can also join this band, but creatures without banding can't. The creatures in this band don't have to have the creature type specified in the "bands with other [creature type]" ability. Blocking this band follows the same general rules as for banding.

502.11c If an attacking creature is blocked by at least two creatures with the same "bands with other [creature type]" ability, the defending player chooses how the attacking creature's damage is assigned. Similarly, if a blocking creature blocks at least two attacking creatures with the same "bands with other [creature type]" ability, the attacking player chooses how the blocking creature's damage is assigned.

502.11d Multiple instances of bands with other of the same type on the same creature are redundant.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:40 am


Interesting question about regeneration.

If a creature is a 0/0 (it was a -1/-1 at the time) and it gets regenerated.
how in the world will that work out?
Regernation stops lethal damage, and destroy effects.
however the rules on zero thoughness state that anything with zero toughness is killed right away. (jokes on air being toxic to zero thoughness abound)

so, what in the world happens to zero toughness regeneration creatures?
regenration lasts until the end of the turn. so would the weakening.
does one resolve before the other?

wellwisher


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:40 pm


wellwisher
Interesting question about regeneration.

If a creature is a 0/0 (it was a -1/-1 at the time) and it gets regenerated.
how in the world will that work out?
Regernation stops lethal damage, and destroy effects.
however the rules on zero thoughness state that anything with zero toughness is killed right away. (jokes on air being toxic to zero thoughness abound)

so, what in the world happens to zero toughness regeneration creatures?
regenration lasts until the end of the turn. so would the weakening.
does one resolve before the other?


regeneration wouldn't do anything. As you said regen only removes lethal damage and destory effects, it does not removes -n/-n effects, in fact the only way in the game to counter act neg effects is to pump the same creatures.

Once the creature's defense hits 0, it dies, simple a that. Even indestructible can't stop it from happening.






Anyway, Yawgmoth, I think I get flanking now. Basically, the creatures form an 'attack group' like, say a Greek Phalanx. They attack togehter, sacrificing they're possibly individual evasion abilities (like if one had swampwalk and the rest did not) for greater protection. Seeing as being in the 'attack group allows the controller of that banded group to chose how damage is dealt. And also combines any combat tricks that they do against blockers, such as flanking. Say that three in the banded group had flanking, that means that if they were blocked, since they all get blocked, all three flanking effects happen to all creatures blocking the banded attack group, meaning all creatures blocking it get -3/-3


So, do I have the gist?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:26 am


wellwisher
Interesting question about regeneration.

If a creature is a 0/0 (it was a -1/-1 at the time) and it gets regenerated.
how in the world will that work out?
Regernation stops lethal damage, and destroy effects.
however the rules on zero thoughness state that anything with zero toughness is killed right away. (jokes on air being toxic to zero thoughness abound)

so, what in the world happens to zero toughness regeneration creatures?
regenration lasts until the end of the turn. so would the weakening.
does one resolve before the other?

Dying from 0 toughness is a state based effect not a destroy effect. Nothing in the game can stop state-based effects so as soon as a player would receive priority, the game sees a creature with 0 or less toughness and places that creature into its owners graveyard. Then the game proceeds as normal. That's why indestructibility is "pwned" by having 0 toughness because not even that can stop a state based effect.

String Theory: You mean banding the first sentence I think sweatdrop and yes. A greek phalanx is the best analogy for banding. Also each instance of flanking will trigger separately yes. This is just like having 2 sidewinder slivers. All slivers have flanking twice and each instance of it will trigger on any creature blocking it. Same goes for a band of creatures that all have flanking. Unlike most effects like flying, trample or first strike multiple instances of flanking are NOT redundant and do stack.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 1:58 pm


If I Flashback a Dread Return with a Bridge from Below in my graveyard by sacrificing 3 non-token creatures and my opponent decides to sacrifice a creature like Scorched Rusulka, I still get 3 tokens right?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:25 am


No. It's almost the same situation as many others you know. Like if you try to ping your opponent with a Prodigal Sorcerer and he kills it in response. The damage still happens. This is because the ability is already on the stack. While the ability of the Bridge will still be on the stack there's a clause in that ability that's going to screw you. The ability that removes Bridge from Below from the game will obviously resolve first. Then your three triggers will resolve. But if you read the first part of Bridge From Below it says this.

"Whenever a nontoken creature is put into your graveyard from play, if Bridge from Below is in your graveyard, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token into play."

So each trigger will resolve, see the bridge is not there anymore and do nothing.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:09 am


Lord Yawgmoth
No. It's almost the same situation as many others you know. Like if you try to ping your opponent with a Prodigal Sorcerer and he kills it in response. The damage still happens. This is because the ability is already on the stack. While the ability of the Bridge will still be on the stack there's a clause in that ability that's going to screw you. The ability that removes Bridge from Below from the game will obviously resolve first. Then your three triggers will resolve. But if you read the first part of Bridge From Below it says this.

"Whenever a nontoken creature is put into your graveyard from play, if Bridge from Below is in your graveyard, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token into play."

So each trigger will resolve, see the bridge is not there anymore and do nothing.


that's why some people run bottle knomes side board against it in standard, to big to dark blast and a free sac outlet.
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:23 am


I have a question about surging flame, do I ripple first or designate a target first?

bobbyjar2


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:20 pm


Targets are always chosen before costs are paid. So the target is chosen before the spell even goes onto the stack. Ripple also is part of the resolution of a spell which happens way way later.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:05 am


ok thanks!

bobbyjar2


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:44 am


If a Spell is UnSuspended and Cast, can I pay it's buyback cost if there is one?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:07 am


Liquidor
If a Spell is UnSuspended and Cast, can I pay it's buyback cost if there is one?
Yes. It took me awhile to look that up actually. But the way buyback is worded it functions while the spell is on the stack. You do not pay its mana cost but you are able to pay buyback and kicker if you choose to while the spell is on the stack while it's total costs are being summed up. Since buyback is included in the total spell cost you first pay zero for the actual spell, then pay the buyback or kicker costs after that.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 12:56 pm


Actually Liq. I double checked because I'm still unsure and the answer is actually no.

Comprehensive Rules 409.1b
If the spell or ability has alternative, additional, or other special costs (such as buyback, kicker, or convoke costs), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 409.1f). You can’t apply two alternative methods of playing or two alternative costs to a single spell or ability


This means that only one alternative cost can be applied to the spell. Since it's being played via suspend "without paying it's mana cost" that's the only alternative cost you're allowed to make. You can't play a spell for free AND pay the buyback cost because that's two methods of playing a spell. So I overturn myself and the answer is no.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum