Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:50 pm


First off, you don't have madness you have hellbent. Madness is the discarding ability. Having no cards in hand is Hellbent.

Now then, if you Pact at the end of your opponents turn so that the Hellbent mechanic of Gibbering Decent makes you skip your upkeep you don't lose the game and you don't have to pay for the Pact's cost during the skipped upkeep.

Note: I'm currently awaiting confirmation on this since the words "next upkeep" and their rulings are fuzzy to me. I'm thinking that perhaps the next time you would get an upkeep no matter how late in the game it comes, you'll have to pay 4R or lose, or if it counts the skipped one as the 'next upkeep' and removes all requirements of having to pay 4R or lose forever. I'll edit this post when I find out.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:56 pm



How the fudge could I have...
Well thanks for noticing my... erhm... minor mistake.
Well, ok, I'll hang around until you know then.

Master Molder of WINGS


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:56 pm


Ok. I called in some help from Star City level 3 Judge Chris Richter for your question and this is the response I got when I asked him your question.

"The delayed triggered ability of Pact fo the Titan will wait aground until your next upkeep step, regardless of when it is. As long as the Gibbering Descent is in play you are Hellbent and are skipping your upkeep step you will be fine. But when you do have another upkeep step, you will have to pay that cost.

-Chris"
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 9:56 pm



Thanks, I kinda knew that, just wanted to know.
:]

But I have a new one, as always. ;]

If you have a Nacatl War-Pride.
Do the copies become a copy of the card or the creature.
i.e. if I use a Llanowar Augur are the copies 3/3, or are the copies 6/6 trample?

Master Molder of WINGS


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 2:24 am


They are copies of Nactal War-Pride at the time of the resolution of the ability.
Fancy words for, if Nactal War-Pride is a 6/6 trample when the ability resolves, the tokens will copy this and be 6/6 tramples too. If Nactal War-Pride is only a 3/3. So are they.
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:54 am


Odd question...a card removed by The Dreamer's special ability (The Dragon Legend btw) can be played with paying it's mana cost. Does the card go to the graveyard after being played in this manner? (Assuming it's like Armageddon or Shock, not like Island or Magus of the Abyss)

Liberi Glacialis

Familiar Gaian


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 9:25 am


Yes. It'll be placed into it's owner's graveyard upon resolution like any other spell. If it's a permanent it stays in play under your control and if destroyed/sacrificed will be put into its owner's graveyard as well.
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:22 am


If you target an Ink-Treader Nephilim with a Brightflame, does it get copied?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

The Mustache

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 12:47 pm


This question is a little harder than it sounds, I'm pretty sure I know the answer but I want to ask anyway.

I play Take Possession on my opponents Spectral Force and attack with it on my turn, thus tapping it. Does it untap during my next upkeep?
I would also like to know the answer if I take control of it when it has been tapped on my opponents turn before I play Take Possession on it.

My opponent controls no black permenents.

Also, does the answer of the question change if I control a black permenent?

Spectral Force
Trample
Whenever Spectral Force attacks, if defending player controls no black permanents, it doesn't untap during your next untap step.
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 8:44 pm


Liquidor
If you target an Ink-Treader Nephilim with a Brightflame, does it get copied?
Yes. Brightflame only has one target. Dealing damage to the other creatures is part of the radiance ability but as far as rules care, it has one target. And if that one target is the Ink-Treader then yes. He triggers and copies it.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 8:51 pm


Going to split this up to answer each part individually
The Mustache
This question is a little harder than it sounds, I'm pretty sure I know the answer but I want to ask anyway.

I play Take Possession on my opponents Spectral Force and attack with it on my turn, thus tapping it. Does it untap during my next upkeep?

No

The Mustache
I would also like to know the answer if I take control of it when it has been tapped on my opponents turn before I play Take Possession on it.

My opponent controls no black permenents.


Yes. In this case, the "your untap step" refers to the controller of spectral force at the time of the trigger and resolution of his ability. Since your opponent attacked you, and you controlled no black permanents (I'm assuming) it will not untap during THEIR next untap step. But it will untap for yours.

The Mustache
Also, does the answer of the question change if I control a black permenent?

Spectral Force
Trample
Whenever Spectral Force attacks, if defending player controls no black permanents, it doesn't untap during your next untap step.


Yes it does. When your opponent gets control of spectral force back during their next untap step it WILL untap instead of not untap like in the previous example.
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:44 pm


A Magus of the Moon (or Blood Moon) is in play. A player plays a bounceland. Will they have to return a land to their hand, and will the land come into play tapped?

DInfiltrator


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 9:02 pm


The current wording on bouncelands is such
"~This~ comes into play tapped.
When ~This~ comes into play, return a land you control to its owner's hand."

The first ability modifies how it comes into play so Blood Moon/Magus of the Moon can't affect this. However since both moons are static abilities they're always on and overwrite the last text that's a come into play trigger. When the land comes into play, it's tapped from the first line, but you don't have to return a land because it doesn't have the triggered ability to make you return a land.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:06 am


Yawgmoth, I'm going to give you a headache, it seems.

I'm buliding a deck I faced at the Regenoals from memory, and even though most of the interesting things about it got cleared up, I still have questions about it.

The core of this deck, and the questions around it, deal with this combo: Hypergenesis -> Pandemonium (via. Hyper) -> Creatures, Creatures, Creatures

First: If I drop Hyper -> Creature -> Pandemonium -> Whatever/Pass, will Pandemonium's Triggers hit the stack for any creatures?

Second: I drop a Cautlry Sliver due to Hyper, and other stuff until we both run out of cards. All of Pandemonium's triggers are on the stack. Can I activate the Sliver's "1, Sac this creature: Deal one damage to target creature or player" ability BEFORE the triggers go off as the active player? As the non-active player?

Third: Can I cast a pump spell on a dropped creature to increase the damage it deals after Hyper resolves?

I bet more will crop up, esp. if I take the deck for a ride...

Liberi Glacialis

Familiar Gaian


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:31 am


Sorry to say but your headache attempt has failed. domokun

First: Yes. However the note on both Hypergenesis and Eureka says
"10/15/2006 Anything that triggers during the resolution of this will wait to be put on the stack until everything is put into play and resolution is complete." So the pandemonium triggers will be stacked (using the LIFO order Last in, first out. and resolve downward, meaning the last creature you put into play with Hypergenesis will be the first pandemonium ability to resolve.)

Second: Yes. You have to wait until Hypergenesis is done but once Pandemonium's triggers are on the stack you regain priority as the active player (assuming you're the one who played Hypergenesis) and have the option to play spells and activated abilities as you see fit. In the case of any sliver you sacrifice Pandemonium will use the Last Known Information of the creatures you sacrified when determining how much damage to deal. i.e. the power of the creature before you sacrificed it.

Third: Same rules for the second apply. You may respond. And when the pandemonium trigger on the creature you pumped resolves it will see the power as whatever it is AFTER it's been pumped/weakened/whatever and will use the new number to determine damage.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum