|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 2:10 pm
I have a trample question that I always argue with my cousin about.
Let's say he has a 6/6 trampler. He attacks, and I block with a 3/3, a 2/2, and a 1/1. He thinks that he can assign lethal to the 1/1, and then trample over for 5 more to me. Is that correct? I would have figured that all of the guys in front of it would need to be cleared out first.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 2:13 pm
Iksargo I have a trample question that I always argue with my cousin about. Let's say he has a 6/6 trampler. He attacks, and I block with a 3/3, a 2/2, and a 1/1. He thinks that he can assign lethal to the 1/1, and then trample over for 5 more to me. Is that correct? I would have figured that all of the guys in front of it would need to be cleared out first. well, he has to asign damage that kills them all, if he had a 7/7, he could assign 1 damage to you because he got rid of all the creatures
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:12 pm
Liberi Glacialis Can Rebuff the Wicked counter a Bogdarian Hellkite targeting my creature with it's CIP ablity? Likewise, can Dawn Charm counter him if he targets me? The answer is no and no This is because it's an ability not a spell and doesn't actually begin to target anything until it's already in play and way way past the time for counterspells to work on it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:15 pm
Iksargo I have a trample question that I always argue with my cousin about. Let's say he has a 6/6 trampler. He attacks, and I block with a 3/3, a 2/2, and a 1/1. He thinks that he can assign lethal to the 1/1, and then trample over for 5 more to me. Is that correct? I would have figured that all of the guys in front of it would need to be cleared out first. No this is not correct. For the trample ability to trigger he must assign lethal damage to ALL blockers of the creature with trample. This means he must assign 3 to the 3/3, 2 to the 2/2 and 1 to the 1/1 and since there isn't any leftover from this he can't 'trample through' for more damage. Note: assigning lethal damage doesn't mean it actually has to hit. If he attacks with a 6/6 green trampler and you have a 3/3 pro green, we know the 6/6 can't kill it but he can still trample for 3 assigning 3 damage to the pro green. The damage just gets prevented but all trample cares about is that you tried to assign lethal damage to all blockers.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:34 pm
Okay, Ability Stacking question.
The new slivers that are coming out have abiities like fateseal 1, Poisonous 1, absorb 1, I was wondering if these were going to stack. I Know you haven't advertised to answer Future Sight questions, so i'll ask it in terms of Time Spiral Slivers
Sidewinder sliver gives all slivers Flanking (1). If you play two of them, do all slivers have Flanking (2)?
It only makes sense that they do, since multiple Might slivers give multiple instances of (+2/+2).
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:19 am
I should update and allow Future Sight questions. I've seen most of the stuff. Anyway to answer your question yes. All of those abilities stack in a very odd manner. Like bushido they stack one ontop of the other like this. Lets say you have in your example two sidewinding slivers. Each of them will read "Flanking 1 Flanking 1" Each instance of the ability triggers in a separate manner and acts like Flanking 2 but is actually worded like it has the ability written twice.
Since there's no F.A.Q. on the future sight key worded abilities I'll have to assume they act like every other ability like that (which is current bushido and flanking that i can think of off hand)
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:22 am
Thanks to Hibiki the rules questions thread is now open to Future Sight questions.
Please be aware of the following: Since there is no Future Sight Rules Primer on Magic.com and no Future Sight F.A.Q. I'll be answering Future Sight questions as I THINK they will work in regards to the current set of rules. Once the rules primer is up on wizards i'll go back and correct any rules questions errors I've made up until that point. Thanks and enjoy.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:50 pm
On a spell with buyback:
If you play a spell with buyback, such as Evangelize or whatnot, and your oppnent counters it, the countered spell can't be bought back... right?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:46 am
Right. Buyback only acts as part of the resolution of a spell. If the spell is countered it didn't resolve. So buyback never has a chance.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:30 am
Oddity...
If you're hellbent with Gibbering Descent on the field (skip your upkeep phase), and your opponent tags you with a Paradox Haze (take another upkeep after the first one)...what happens? Timestampage is Gibbering Descent first, Paradox Haze second.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:33 am
The way Paradox haze is worded it does nothing Paradox Haze reads "At the beginning of enchanted player's first upkeep each turn, that player gets an additional upkeep step after this step."
Since Gibbering Descent skips the first upkeep that ability has no change to trigger and so no matter the time stamp Gibbering Descent wins and you get 0 upkeep steps.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:01 am
If I have a Teferi on the field, can I put down a Morph at anytime I have Priority?
If my opponent has a Teferi out on the field and I play Vedalken Orrery, can I now play my cards at as though they were Instants or do I still have to play them as sorceries?
If I have a Platinum Angel on the field, can I keep paying life to Glacial Chasm if I drop below 0 life?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:51 am
Liquidor If I have a Teferi on the field, can I put down a Morph at anytime I have Priority? Full of questions today huh? Short Answer: Yes Long Answer: Yes. Morph Spells are still considered creature spells and despite the lack of characteristics on a morphed creature. Liquidor If my opponent has a Teferi out on the field and I play Vedalken Orrery, can I now play my cards at as though they were Instants or do I still have to play them as sorceries? Short Answer: Still as Sorceries Long Answer: With the errata to Vedalken Orrery via Time Spiral its now worded as such "You may play non land cards as though they had flash". Teferi says "Each opponent can play spells only any time he or she could play a sorcery" so this ability doesn't care what abilities the cards have. So even cards with Flash printed on them can't be played except at a time when one could play a sorcery while Teferi is in play. Because of the errata on Orrery Teferi will always win. Liquidor If I have a Platinum Angel on the field, can I keep paying life to Glacial Chasm if I drop below 0 life? Short Answer: No Long Answer: no, it is in the rules text that players are allowed to go below 0 life yes, but it is also in the rules that you cannot pay life you don't have. Since values below 0 aren't actual life that you can pay you can't keep paying for Glacial Chasm. NOTE however, that this is different from "you lose 2 life" instead of pay 2 life. As in, if you had a Phyrexian Arena and an Angel and were at 0 life, you still drop to -1 and then -2 and -3 and so on and so forth this is because you're not actually paying the life to the Arena whereas in the Chasm example you're trying to pay the cost. Think of it the same as trying to play a 4 mana spell with 3 mana. You just can't do it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:40 am
Really, really stupid question: Summoning sickness wears off when? I was told it wears off on the first upkeep you control the creature, but I had someone try to use a Royal Assassin on my Calciderm during my Untap phase (we are NOT going into the futility and illegal-ness of this move) before that point
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:50 am
thats an illegal move, the rule says that summoning sickness wears off on YOUR first upkeep after the creature came under your control.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|