|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:56 am
Storming Question:
I have a friend who imprints two Isochron Scepters with counterspells of some sort. I play a creature, he counters it. I play another creature, he counters it as well.
He also has a third Isochron Scepter in play, imprinted with BrainFreeze (target player discards three cards off the top of his deck, with storm).
So, after I play something, and he counters, I play something else, and he counters, he BrainFreezes for maximum storming.
Now, here's the actual question: Since he countered my spells, they don't count towards the Storm count, correct? The storm count would only be at 3, not 5.
Right?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:13 am
Nope. The storm count is 5. Countered spells count towards the count because they were played. This sort of thing gets confused all the time. "Played" by the game rules means being announced, being paid for, and being put on the stack. All of which happens. Because to be countered it has to be on the stack. What we associate as 'playing' is actually what the game rules designate as "resolving". So your spells were played, which is all storm cares about, they just didn't resolve because they were countered.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:17 am
Okay, that makes sense.
Phasing is where one turn it's there, the next it's not, then it's back again and continues to alternate if it's in play or not?
That made no sense, It's like turn 1's upkeep, it's removed, then on your next turn during the upkeep, it returns? Or is it during your turn it's there, and during your opponents it's not?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:33 am
Phasing is a static ability that modifies your untap step actually. It works like this.
At the beginning of your untap step, before any permanents are untapped anything in the 'phased out zone' comes into play. It does NOT trigger come into play effects. While, simultaneously, any permanents you have in play that have phasing during this step, will be placed into the phased out zone. As of Time Spiral, this does NOT trigger leave play effects either. Then you continue the game as normal. Untap, Upkeep, Draw. Do remember that if a permanent has an ability that triggers on its phasing in. That ability cannot go onto the stack until the beginning of your upkeep (since things can only go onto the stack when players would get priority. Since no one gets priority during an untap step it delays until the beginning of your upkeep). If you have other "At the beginning of your upkeep" stuff that goes ontop of the 'when this thing phases in ' since the phasing trigger will be placed onto the stack first.
Phasing only happens to your permanents during YOUR untap step. Meaning that during your opponents untap phase your stuff stays as it was at the end of your turn. During your next untap step you repeat the phase in/out process.
Also note, that if a permanent phases out all damage is removed from it, yet any equipment, counters, or auras attached to it stay on. And will phase back into play with the permanent.
If you have anymore phasing questions feel free to ask. It's one of the most cumbersome and rules quirky mechanics Wizards has come up with gonk So there's lots of weird slips with it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:32 pm
New here so it might have been asked before, didn't want to go through 34 pages... I know I'm lazy...
Anyways the logo on the front is the red supposed to be reversed since it is all chaotic and different or was that a, "Woops I flipped the wrong switch"? If it was a mistake does anyone mind if I try my hand at fixing it?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:43 pm
I'm actually wondering about that phasing for something. Say you have something that phases your lands out of play, like that sperpent from mirage. So lets use that for the example.  now, sense this happens during my upkeep, I can respond with tapping for mana, but I'm unsure as to what would happen if I do this: once my land is phased out, with the floating mana, quicken a armageddon or even say a dercee of anilation (or just cycle it to pop land) or apocalypse. Maybe even have a vedalken orrary out and cast a Angel of the desolation type with a kicker. Isn't my land safe sense it's phased out? then it just phases back in the next turn right?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:36 am
knux15 New here so it might have been asked before, didn't want to go through 34 pages... I know I'm lazy... Anyways the logo on the front is the red supposed to be reversed since it is all chaotic and different or was that a, "Woops I flipped the wrong switch"? If it was a mistake does anyone mind if I try my hand at fixing it? That image was actually taken from one of Mark Rosewater's articles on Magicthegathering.com and it's supposed to look like that 3nodding
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:40 am
String_Theory I'm actually wondering about that phasing for something. Say you have something that phases your lands out of play, like that sperpent from mirage. So lets use that for the example.  now, sense this happens during my upkeep, I can respond with tapping for mana, but I'm unsure as to what would happen if I do this: once my land is phased out, with the floating mana, quicken a armageddon or even say a dercee of anilation (or just cycle it to pop land) or apocalypse. Maybe even have a vedalken orrary out and cast a Angel of the desolation type with a kicker. Isn't my land safe sense it's phased out? then it just phases back in the next turn right? Right. Permanents in the phased out zone cannot be affected by anything that does not specifically state its targetting a 'phased out card'. Currently the only card that messes with permanents in the phased out zone is Time and Tide which forces the phasing cycle to happen at a moments notice (it says all permanents that are phased out phase in and simultaneously all permanents with phasing phase out.) But besides that, nothing directly effects the phased out zone. Playing Taniwha, floating the mana in response to that abilities resolution and quick playing any massive land removal is a one sideded Armageddon. The only downside to this otherwise genius combo is that well....the Taniwha is still in play. So you only get your lands every other turn. But you DO get a 7/7 trampling beater while your opponent has nothing and cant recover fast enough since you killed all their lands.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:38 pm
yeah....I just want to know about double strike, if a creature blocks rakdos pit dragon gets blocked by a creature, would pit dragon deals lethal damage to the creature, would double strike hit the creature then the player, or just the creature for both instances....and sorry if that is worded wrong
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:54 pm
bobbyjar2 yeah....I just want to know about double strike, if a creature blocks rakdos pit dragon gets blocked by a creature, would pit dragon deals lethal damage to the creature, would double strike hit the creature then the player, or just the creature for both instances....and sorry if that is worded wrong This is a common misconception with double strike. Lets say you have a 3/3 double striker and a 2/2 blocks it. The second time it goes to swing it just..misses. and does nothing. NOW If you have a 3/3 TRAMPLE with double strike. and its blocked by a 2/2 during the first strike damage step it deals 2 to the 2/2 and 1 to the player. During the second damage step because trample looks at whats in front of it, it sees an invisible 0/0 creature that doesn't exist. You can assign 0 damage to this non-existent creature and all 3 to the player because of the Trample mechanic.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:53 pm
Two questions:
1.) Does the double strike axiom as described above also apply to non-trample creatures?
2.) Is Null Profusion meant to reduce the hand of yourself, or an opponent, should you choose to enchant said opponent?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:33 pm
1) I think that Yawgmoth covered that in his previous post.
2) Null Profusion is an enchantment, not an Aura- Enchant Player. It can only be used to decrease your own hand size, unless it can be donated to an opponent, in which case its effect applies to them.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:36 pm
Celestia Whitesword Two questions: 1.) Does the double strike axiom as described above also apply to non-trample creatures? 2.) Is Null Profusion meant to reduce the hand of yourself, or an opponent, should you choose to enchant said opponent? 1) I'm not sure what you mean but if you mean will a non-trample creature be able to assign 0 damage to a non-existant creature after it kills its blocker during first strike damage and be able to damage the player during normal combat damage then no. Only tramplers can get by blockers in this fashion. As stated above, a 2/2 double strike that's blocked by a 1/1 will kill the 1/1 during first strike damage, and 'miss' during normal combat damage and simply deal damage to nothing. 2) If a card says "You" "Yourself" or any variant thereof, it means whoever it's controller is. So if you control Null Profusion it makes you skip your draw step and your maximum hand size is 2. If your opponent controls it, those effects apply to him/her. Also since Null Profusion is an Enchantment and not an aura it does not attach itself to any creature, permanent or player and is what we call a "Stand-Alone Enchantment" so it has to effect whoever played it or currently has control of it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:37 pm
Hah. Alpha beat me to it while I was typing domokun
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:31 pm
Can Rebuff the Wicked counter a Bogdarian Hellkite targeting my creature with it's CIP ablity?
Likewise, can Dawn Charm counter him if he targets me?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|