Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:36 pm


Liberi Glacialis: To add onto your question that Alpha answered spells include all non-land cards. Copies that are put directly onto the stack are not considered played (thus why the epic spell itself works when it copies) but cards like Isochon Scepter and Panoptic Mirror are a no-no when it comes to Epic Spells rules.

Legions: The way priority works is APNAP which stands for Active Player Non-Active Player in the order for priority. If you're the active player once a split second resolves APNAP applies and the active player receives priority again.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:03 pm


In the Official 2 Head Giant Variant, if a Hypnotic Specter goes unblock, can it assign 1 point of combat damage to each head or are the 2 points of damage assigned to a single head?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:47 pm


As far as I understand the rules for Two-Headed Giant format, although the life totals are shared creatures can only attack one head at a time. (I am by no means a 2-headed giant expert, just a fair warning)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:47 pm


If I play a Retether and enchant a Scryb Ranger with a Reality Acid, does the controller of the Scryb Ranger sacrifice it?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

alpha impervius

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:37 am


EDIT: ignore this post
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:00 am


Alpha: Actually it can. This is why Liq added Retether to her question. This places the enchantment on the scryb ranger without actually targetting it (getting around protection). Liq realizes this will make it 'fall off' when state based effects are checked and wants to know if when it falls off its effect will trigger.

To answer your question Liq yes, it does kill the scryb ranger in this scenario.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


alpha impervius

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:08 am


oh, thanks for the clarification
sorry liquidor
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 4:32 pm


I got a question, if I have kurgadon and elvish piper in play, and I use piper's ability to put out a converted mana cost of 6 or more out, does kurgadon get the counters?

bobbyjar2


Lady Visara

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:04 pm


no kurgadon would not get the counters because you "put it into play" you didn't "play it". I think.

will wrath of god kill something with protection from white.

I'm not sure because it doesn't target it.
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:22 pm


Lady Visara
no kurgadon would not get the counters because you "put it into play" you didn't "play it". I think.

will wrath of god kill something with protection from white.

I'm not sure because it doesn't target it.
it would because protection does this

protection
Damaged
Enchanted
Blocked
Targeted


so I think it would be killed, because it doesn't do one of those four.

bobbyjar2


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:30 pm


Bobby: No. Being 'put into play' and 'playing' something are two very different things as far as the rules are concerned. Kurgadon will not get counters.

Visara: Yes. Wrath kills pro white things. Protection doesn't stop destroy effects, that's indestructibility.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:38 am


If I play Retether and have a Spirit Loop in the Graveyard, can I enchant my opponent's creatures with the Spirit Loop?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Ta13oo

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:24 pm


Forgive me if this has been asked before, there's a lot to read through.

If you had an Ana, Ceta, Dega, Necra, or Raka Sanctuary in play and played a card from the Ravnica Block that has a split cost option what color would they count as? A single color or both even if you only used one color of mana to pay for them?

Example:
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
Necra Sanctuary played with Orzhov Guildmage.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:12 pm


its white and black, regardless of what mana was used to put it into play. so a selesnya guildmage would trigger the full wrath of necra sanctuary, orzhov guildmage partly so

alpha impervius


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:40 pm


Liquidor
If I play Retether and have a Spirit Loop in the Graveyard, can I enchant my opponent's creatures with the Spirit Loop?

No. This is different from the way protection works in your other question because its a specific rules statement on the part of Spirit Loop. Just like if there are no green creatures in play a Retether cannot bring a Wurmweaver Coil into play. Retether must attach all enchantments it can to their legal targets. The protection circumvention is a weird rules slip because Retether doesn't target them and gets around the initial protection factor but still falls off from state based. In short, if you have no creatures and you Retether with Spirit Loop it just won't come into play because it can't enchant your opponents creatures. If you have a creature in play when you Retether you must attach Spirit Loop to it.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum