|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:24 pm
If I have, in play, a Wall of Roots a Saproling Token and two Forest Can I still play Scatter the Seeds?
And as a follow up question if the first one passes. If the Wall have four counters on it, and the putting another one on it will kill it. Can I now use it both for mana and as a mean for convoke?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:30 pm
yes to both counts
the second one, you can declare that you're paying the spell, tap the convoke and then pay the mana as a response to the spell being declared. (it's similar to the strategy to play lion's eye diamond i believe)
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:05 pm
First of all, Thread Jacking? And secondly, are you sure? Since on the second occation I get the feeling that you have to pay them both at the same time, since mana abilities don't use the stack. And you can not do them both at the same time, since one kills him... xP I'll just wait for Lord Yawgmoth. No offence. ^^
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:12 pm
idont know if you've ever played magic online, but if you had, you'd have noted that when you play a spell with convoke, it asks you to tap creatures, and then to play mana costs after (and i know mana abilities don't use the stack, i was just expressing it in the same terms as magicthegathering.com with respect to lions eye diamond)#
(and apologies to the thread jacking, i hope i caused no confusion or offence)
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:15 am
Yes you can. State based effects (the wall having 0 toughness) are not checked until a player would receive priority again. This does not happen until AFTER scatter the seeds is on the stack (which means its been announced and paid for). You gain priority again to play a spell or ability (or pass to your opponent to respond to scatter the seeds) at this point in time the game will see a wall with 0 toughness and kill it via state based effects. The game continues as normal.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:11 pm
see? i was right. yawgmoth, can i be added to this apprentices list?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:02 pm
Don't really need another one right now. Not as much traffic in this thread as there used to be.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:18 am
ok, but give me a call if it ever increases again?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:15 pm
You'll have to pass the same test the others passed with a perfect score (meaning you can't miss a single question just like they did). If you're interested I can still send you the test and give you one day to respond and I can add you to the list but don't plan on doing too much. There's not a lot of rules questions around nowadays. But you can be added if you pass the test no problem.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:14 am
yeah send me it, even if i dont manage a pass it should be fun. how many questions is the test?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:28 am
Welcome Alpha Impervius to the apprentice list!
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:36 am
thanks yawgmoth. I hope to be of service to anyone who needs it! 3nodding
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:31 pm
Kamigawa's ablity Epic confuses me a little. I can't play spells after playing an Epic spell...so no more instants, sorcerys, and enchantments from then on out? Or does that include Artifacts and Creatures as well?
(I had another question about Time Spiral block...but I forgot it. And hooray alpha!)
EDIT: Hey, I remember the other question! If a land or creature gains a new land type (from Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth or Life and Limb, for example), can I tap said land/creature for the new land type's mana?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:43 pm
no spells, so thats everything except lands. you can still use copies of spells as long as the copies don't have to be played. unsure as to whether isochron scepter is out though
and yes, any swamp can tap for black mana etc
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 5:27 pm
Quick question. I play a Split Second card. Who gets priority when it have resolved?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|