Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

DInfiltrator

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:51 pm


If I flip over a bunch of spells with Mind's Desire, and my opponent has a Grand Arbiter Augustin IV in play, will I have to pay 1 to cast the spells flipped over off the desire?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:00 pm


tails990
when my opponent attacks if i block with a creature and my opponent taps it with coral trickster to prevent it from blocking is the creature still blocked or do i take damage from the attacking creature?


If your opponent taps the creature after blockers have been assigned then they're too late. The attacking creature is considered blocked anyway and they deal damage to each other as normal.
If your opponent taps the creature BEFORE you declare blockers then you simply cannot block with said creature and I suppose if you didn't have another blocker to stop the attacking creature then yes, you would take damage.


DInfiltrator
If I flip over a bunch of spells with Mind's Desire, and my opponent has a Grand Arbiter Augustin IV in play, will I have to pay 1 to cast the spells flipped over off the desire?


For your answer we turn to the magical sphere of resistance since it too has cost enhancing effects.

Q: Does Sphere of Resistance's effect also work against Mind's Desire? Does my opponent have to pay an additional one for Desired spells?

A: Yes. You still have to pay any additional costs to play the spell. Mind's Desire only pays the mana cost.

Replace sphere of resistance with 'grand arbiter' and you get the same basic answer. You will have to pay an additional 1 to any costs of any spell you play even playing them without paying the mana cost.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:02 pm


Are the copied spells from Eye of the Storm played as a resolution of the ability or are they held in reserve similiar to Mind's Desire?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:36 pm


Wizards.com Eye of the Storm F.A.Q.
* 2/1/2006 When a spell with Replicate is copied by Eye of the Storm, you have the opportunity to pay additional costs, so you may Replicate as much as you like (assuming you have the mana available).
* 1/1/2006 You must still follow any restrictions on when you can play the spell, such as "play only during combat" or "play only on your own turn."
* 10/1/2005 The ability triggers when a player plays an instant or sorcery *card*. A copy of a card (such as those generated by Eye of the Storm itself) won't trigger this ability. The card that was played is removed from the game and won't resolve, but the player will get a copy of the spell from Eye of the Storm.
* 10/1/2005 When the ability resolves, the player copies all cards removed from the game with Eye of the Storm, not just the cards he or she owns. That player then chooses which of those copies to play, if any. All chosen copies are played in the order the player chooses.
* 10/1/2005 The player chooses modes, pays additional costs, chooses targets, and so on for the copies when playing them. Any X in the mana cost of a copy played this way will be 0. Alternative costs can't be paid.


Because the spells are able to be held in order as the player wishes and extra costs are allowed to be paid this means each spell copy is placed onto the stack differently as it's own copy and they resolve separate from the trigger of Eye of The Storm much in the same fashion that each mind's desire card you reveal is played separately from the mind's desire itself.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Liberi Glacialis

Familiar Gaian

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:25 am


Pair of questions...been bugging me for a while...

First: What happens when you double up on gaining an extra turn?

Example: My opponet plays Walk the Aeons (4UU, You gain an extra turn after this one), and then a Temporal Extortion (BBBB, Your opponet lose half of there life or you gain an extra turn. [opponet's choise]), which with I let him have the extra turn instead of losing life. Does he get one extra turn after this one, or one after this one, and then one after that turn as well?



Second: If I activate a lose a turn effect (like Chronosalvant's return to the field effect) and play a card like Walk the Aeons, what happens?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:36 am


First Question: Extra turns stack ontop of one another yes. So he would get two extra turns.

Second Question: You skip the extra turn you would have gained. It says 'your next turn' which means the next turn you would have. Playing walk the aeons makes the extra turn from it 'the next turn you would have' which is then skipped by chronosavant. So it's basically as if you hadn't gained or lost a turn at all. They nullify each other.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 9:01 am


Lord Yawgmoth
Because the spells are able to be held in order as the player wishes and extra costs are allowed to be paid this means each spell copy is placed onto the stack differently as it's own copy and they resolve separate from the trigger of Eye of The Storm much in the same fashion that each mind's desire card you reveal is played separately from the mind's desire itself.

What I meant was:

Do I have to immediately put the copies on the stack due to the resolution of the ability or can I play the copies at any point in the turn as long as there is a copy to be played?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:44 am


Yes. Putting the copies onto the stack is part of the resolution of Eye of the Storm's ability. You get to pick which order the spells go onto the stack. But they all have to be stacked at once. They resolve individually just like mind's desire cards but you can't hold them in reserve and place some onto the stack and some in some zone that doesn't exist because they're spell copies. Copies can only exist on the stack 3nodding

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Liberi Glacialis

Familiar Gaian

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 5:07 am


Flanking Q: If someone throws a 1/1 infront of my Flanker to block, I know the 1/1 dies. But is the attacking creature still considered blocked?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:18 pm


yeah, real quick, what is phasing? I got an old card, dream fighter, that has phasing and idk what it is...

bobbyjar2


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:53 pm


Liberi Glacialis
Flanking Q: If someone throws a 1/1 infront of my Flanker to block, I know the 1/1 dies. But is the attacking creature still considered blocked?

Yes. For flanking to trigger the attacker has to be blocked. So although the 1/1 is no longer alive the attacker is still considered blocked by the game rules and deals no damage to the player (unless it also has trample)

bobbyjar2
yeah, real quick, what is phasing? I got an old card, dream fighter, that has phasing and idk what it is...


Phasing is a static ability that modifies how a permanent reacts during your untap step. A permanent with phasing will be removed from play during your untap step before any permanents are untapped and placed into the 'phased out' zone. The next untap step you have the permanent will 'phase in' and be placed into the in play zone. It is treated like it has haste when it phases in. Phasing in does not trigger come into play abilities. If you have anymore questions about it I recommend reading this F.A.Q. about it from Wizards of the Coast.

Phasing F.A.Q.
502.15. Phasing

502.15a Phasing is a static ability that modifies the rules of the untap step.

502.15b During each player's untap step, before the active player untaps his or her permanents, all permanents with phasing the player controls phase out. Simultaneously, all objects that had phased out under that player's control phase in. (See rule 217.8, "Phased-Out," and rule 302.1.)

502.15c If an effect causes a player to skip his or her untap step, the phasing event simply doesn't occur that turn.

502.15d Permanents phasing in don't trigger any comes-into-play abilities, and effects that modify how a permanent comes into play are ignored. Abilities and effects that specifically mention phasing can modify or trigger on this event, however. Permanents phasing out trigger leaves-play abilities as usual. (Because no player receives priority during the untap step, any abilities triggering off of the phasing event won't go onto the stack until the upkeep step begins.)

502.15e When a permanent phases out, all damage dealt to it is removed.

502.15f A card that returns to play from the phased-out zone is considered the same permanent it was when it left. This is an exception to rule 217.1c, which stipulates that a permanent "forgets" its previous existence when it changes zones.

502.15g Effects with limited duration and delayed triggered abilities that specifically reference a permanent will be unable to further affect that permanent if it phases out. However, other effects that reference the permanent (including effects with unlimited duration) can affect the permanent when it returns to play. Example: A creature is affected by Giant Growth and then phases out during the same turn. If the creature phases back in somehow before the turn is over, it won't get the +3/+3 bonus from the Giant Growth because its effect has a limited duration.

502.15h Phased-out cards "remember" their past histories and will return to play in the same state. They "remember" any counters they had on them, any choices made when they first came into play, and whether they were tapped or untapped when they left play. They also "remember" who controlled them when they phased out, although they may phase in under the control of a different player if a control effect with limited duration has expired. Example: Diseased Vermin reads, in part, "At the beginning of your upkeep, Diseased Vermin deals X damage to target opponent previously dealt damage by it, where X is the number of infection counters on it." If Diseased Vermin phases out, it "remembers" how many counters it has and also which opponents it has previously damaged. When it phases back in, it will still be able to target those opponents with its upkeep-triggered ability.

502.15i When a permanent phases out, any local enchantments or Equipment attached to that permanent phase out at the same time. This alternate way of phasing out is known as phasing out "indirectly." An enchantment or Equipment that phased out indirectly won't phase in by itself, but instead phases in along with the card it's attached to.

502.15j If a local enchantment or Equipment phased out directly (rather than phasing out along with the permanent it's attached to), then it "remembers" the permanent it was enchanting or equipping and returns to play attached to that permanent. If a local enchantment phases in and the permanent has left play or is no longer legal to enchant, the enchantment returns to play and then is placed in its owner's graveyard afterwards. This is a state-based effect; see rule 420. If an Equipment phases in and the permanent has left play or is no longer legal to equip, the Equipment returns to play and then stays in play, not equipping anything. This is a state-based effect; see rule 420.

502.15k Permanents that phase in keep the same timestamps (see rules 418.5d and 418.5e) they had when they phased out. This doesn't change the fact that the permanents phase in simultaneously, however.

502.15m A permanent that phases in can attack and tap to play abilities as though it had haste. This applies even if that permanent phased out and phased back in the turn it came into play. The permanent remains able to attack and tap to play abilities until it changes controllers or leaves play.

502.15n A spell or ability that targets a permanent will resolve normally with respect to that permanent if the permanent phases out and back in before the spell or ability resolves.

502.15p Multiple instances of phasing on the same permanent are redundant.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:46 pm


I have a question about morph creatures. If I have a morph creature tapped, can I still flip it face up, and if so is it still tapped?

Rave Matthias


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:58 am


Yes. A morph creature retains all characteristics when it's turned face up (except it gets a mana cost, a name, a creature type and all the stuff thats actually printed on the card) but any equipments, auras, status effects (tapped untapped) remain just the way they were when it was face down.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:56 pm


its been a while since ive had a question, but i gots one !!! ftw ?
anyways here it is, i was in a draft today, adn 2 of the playrs had a question, the question was
if player A plays a plays a Pnumbra Spider, adn then PLayer B enchants it with a Fool's Demise, Player B now controls the Spider so when it dies who gets teh token, Player A or Player B ???

Pnembra spider says "when it is put into a graveyard from play put in a 2/4 black spider token" it does not specify the graveyard it goes into or under who's control the spider token goes to

Phantom_Renegade


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:50 am


Phantom_Renegade
its been a while since ive had a question, but i gots one !!! ftw ?
anyways here it is, i was in a draft today, adn 2 of the playrs had a question, the question was
if player A plays a plays a Pnumbra Spider, adn then PLayer B enchants it with a Fool's Demise, Player B now controls the Spider so when it dies who gets teh token, Player A or Player B ???

Pnembra spider says "when it is put into a graveyard from play put in a 2/4 black spider token" it does not specify the graveyard it goes into or under who's control the spider token goes to


Actually that isn't so much the case. Fool's Demise only gives player B control AFTER the spider dies. When the spider dies it will use what the magic rules refer to as "Last Known Information". To the spider, the last controller it had was player A. It died on Player A's side of the field. So Player A will get the black token.

Now. when the spider comes back, it will come back on player B's side because of Fool's Demise. So player A will have a black token and player B will have the real spider. Now. If the spider dies on player B's side after he/she gets control of it. Then player B will get a token as well, and the spider returns to player A's graveyard (unless it's been fool's demised again)
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum