Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:54 pm


Hibiki (Neon) Tokai
Yeah, More or less.

What was the thinking behind banning the artifact lands, anyways? Feel free not to answer, it's just always been something I wanted to ask.

Also, Real question.

Mishra, Artificer Prodigy - (1) (U) (B) (R)

I played this, and a friend started to terror it. He stops, even though I already know it's a terror. We finish our game (Him winning), and I ask him why he didn't go through with the terror.

He said: "Black was in the cost of the card, therefore it's a black, blue, AND red card."

I tried to understand this, but failed to. I just thought that gold cards were of the color "Gold". I tried to explain this to him, and neither of us would change our thoughts on it.

My question to you is this:

Is it's color "Gold", or "Black, Blue and Red"?

1) The artifact lands are what powered out affinity so quickly. They were the engine to it. Even if they banned DoV and Ravager you could still very easily play Atog affinity since Atog is Ravager without modular. And it would be that dominating. Artifact lands are what powered it out.
2) A multicolored card (gold as you call it) is all colors in its mana cost. (Note: that means cards with split mana symbols from ravnica are also all colors in the mana cost. So yes. Mishra is Black, Blue and Red all at once. Cards that effect any of those colors or don't affect those colors effect mishra.
Two examples: Mishra can't be terror'd because he is black, but he's also blue and red too. But the non-black part of terror doesn't care about the other two colors because he IS black.
You can Pyroblast Mishra because he IS a blue permanent. But he is also a black and red permanent too. But all pyroblast cares about is that some part of his blue so it's very able to destroy him.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:33 pm


Friend of mine thinks Fool's Demise is an awesome card. I'll not bring in everyone's opinions and thoughts and the such, but the point of this question is:

Will Fool's Demise on a creature return the creature under your control, AND return Fool's Demise to your hand, enabling an infinite creature steal?

Blitzmidfielder


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 7:22 am


You'll get my opinion anyway. It's fun for limited/casual play. Won't be any good in competitive standard. Cost too much.

Now then.

Yes. If the creature is killed by anything AFTER fool's demise has resolved it snaps back into play under your control (yes even if it was your opponents) and fool's demise goes back to it's owners hand (whoever that may be). Fool's Demise does NOT come back if you play it, choose a creature, and in response it either gets put back into it's owner's hand, is removed from game*, or is killed. Then Fool's Demise is 'countered by the game rules' and just 'fizzles' as we say.


* sub-note: I've been getting a lot of questions from my friends about Momentary Blink as it pertains to 'fizzling' spells. yes. You can fizzle a spell with it. Once the creature leaves the game, despite the fact that it comes right back in the same spell, the game "forgets" who it was. And so does every spell/ability that was targetting it.
PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:47 pm


If a player has a living terrain on a land, and a followed footsteps is put on that land, what will the tokens be? Simply lands, or 5/6 creature lands?

DInfiltrator


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:32 pm


Uh ok. Wow. DInfiltrator wins the game for confusing Yawgmoth first. You've actually asked a question I'm not sure I know how to answer. I had to look it up.

Since Clone follows copy rules this is an exerpt from the StarCityGames rules questions database.

Clone doesn't copy any effects on the creature -- you just get exactly what's printed on the card and nothing more. So if you copy an animated land, for example, you get a normal, nonanimated land.

I would assume Followed Foosteps follow the rules of Clone and you would get a non-animated land every turn.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:22 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
Uh ok. Wow. DInfiltrator wins the game for confusing Yawgmoth first. You've actually asked a question I'm not sure I know how to answer. I had to look it up.

Since Clone follows copy rules this is an exerpt from the StarCityGames rules questions database.

Clone doesn't copy any effects on the creature -- you just get exactly what's printed on the card and nothing more. So if you copy an animated land, for example, you get a normal, nonanimated land.

I would assume Followed Foosteps follow the rules of Clone and you would get a non-animated land every turn.

Yay! QFE. And thank you, that sounds right.

DInfiltrator


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:28 pm


Follow up note. I got the chance to talk to a Level 2 Judge around here who agreed with that ruling so I'm pretty confidant that it's right now 3nodding
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:20 am


New Announcement:

December 1st DCI Banned/Restricted Announcement
Standard: No changes
Extended: No changes
Vintage: No changes
Legacy: No changes
All Online Formats: No changes

Sadly I think they missed an opportunity to nerf some overpowered s**t in Legacy but whatever domokun Enjoy

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


wombat45678

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:56 pm


I have a couple questions:

1)What is the converted mana cost of a face down creature in play or on the stack.

2) Could one respond to a creature being flipped

3) Could one respond to a flip trigger (I.E. Mischivious Quagnar)
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:53 am


As of Time Spiral creatures with morph have no mana cost. (when they're face down anyway) and according to the rules on the card Evermind (the first one like this) the converted mana cost of a card with no mana cost is 0. Morph is a special action that doesn't use the stack so no, you can't respond to it being turned face up you can however respond to any triggers it has from being turned face up because they DO use the stack to work. You can even stifle/trickbind them if you want.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


DInfiltrator

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:34 pm


If I Commandeer a Dragonstorm with 3 spells played before it, do I also control and can use the copies of dragonstorm since I am now the spell's controller?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 6:35 pm


No. Storm is a trigger when the spell is put on the stack that creates the copies. So there's 4 copies of dragonstorm on the stack, only 1 of which you can Commandeer (unless you have another commandeer).

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


LegendaryPyro

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:27 am


Lord Yawgmoth
No. Storm is a trigger when the spell is put on the stack that creates the copies. So there's 4 copies of dragonstorm on the stack, only 1 of which you can Commandeer (unless you have another commandeer).

Hold on storm is triggered For each spell played that turn so if He has 3 spells already stacked then Commandeer Should trigger for all 3 if not all 4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:29 am


LegendaryPyro
Lord Yawgmoth
No. Storm is a trigger when the spell is put on the stack that creates the copies. So there's 4 copies of dragonstorm on the stack, only 1 of which you can Commandeer (unless you have another commandeer).

Hold on storm is triggered For each spell played that turn so if He has 3 spells already stacked then Commandeer Should trigger for all 3 if not all 4


It is only you that are supposed to answer these, right Yawgmoth?

Feints-


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:03 am


LegendaryPyro
Lord Yawgmoth
No. Storm is a trigger when the spell is put on the stack that creates the copies. So there's 4 copies of dragonstorm on the stack, only 1 of which you can Commandeer (unless you have another commandeer).

Hold on storm is triggered For each spell played that turn so if He has 3 spells already stacked then Commandeer Should trigger for all 3 if not all 4

No. Storm triggers before priority passes. Player A has priority. Plays Dragonstorm with 3 spells played before it as given the example. When dragonstorm goes onto the stack it creates 3 more copies of itself via the storm mechanic. Commandeer can only target ONE spell and each storm copy is in itself a separate spell.

Magic The Gathering Comprehensive Rules
502.30. Storm

502.30a Storm is a triggered ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. “Storm” means “When you play this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was played before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies.”

502.30b If a spell has multiple instances of storm, each triggers separately.

and

503.10. To copy a spell means to put a copy of the spell onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t “played.” In addition to copying the characteristics of the spell, all decisions made when the spell was played are copied. These include mode, targets, the value of X, and optional additional costs such as buyback. (See rule 409, “Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.”) Choices that are normally made on resolution are not copied. If an effect of the copy refers to objects used to pay its costs, it uses the objects used to pay the costs of the original spell. A copy of a spell is controlled by the player who put it on the stack. A copy of a spell is itself a spell, but it has no spell card associated with it. It works just like a normal spell: it can be countered or it can resolve, and it uses the same timing rules as normal spells.


Using those rulings lets then take a look at the wording for Commandeer
"You may remove two blue cards in your hand from the game rather than pay Commandeer's mana cost.
Gain control of target noncreature spell. You may choose new targets for it. (If that spell is an artifact or enchantment, the permanent comes into play under your control.)"

Using the rulings on storm, copies and the oracle text for Commandeer we get the following. (if you need the ruling on priority I can post that)
Player A plays Dragonstorm with 3 copies, the storm triggers and resolves because he is still under priority for playing the initial copy of dragonstorm (this is why countering the initial spell doesn't kill the storm count. If you could respond the storm trigger with spells countering the real spell would kill storm. It doesn't for this reason)
At the time the 3 copies are placed onto the stack player A was the controller of dragonstorm and therefore the controller of the copies. Player B commandeers the real dragonstorm. By then the copies already know Player A is their owner/controller and doesn't care that player B has what created them by the game rules. So player B ends up with one dragonstorm while Player A ends up with the other three. Player A being the active player has his copy dragonstorms resolve one at a time unless player B has responses after Player A passes priority in between resolutions of the copies.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum