Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:14 pm


Yes.
Any "You take another turn" spell (which all I can remember are Time Walk, Time Warp, Beacon of Tomorrows and now Walk The Aeons from Time Spiral) + Panoptic Mirror = Infinite turns if you want. Remember the mirror is a "you may"
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:25 am


ravener2759
Ok, I'm not too sure how this works so I figure it would be best to run it through you first.

Arcbound Worker and Welding Jar, can I move the +1/+1 counter onto another arcbound and then use Welding Jar to regenerate Arcbound Worker? Basically, I'm not sure if it goes into the graveyard if it would be regenerated.
Please? ;_____;

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:14 pm


ravener2759
ravener2759
Ok, I'm not too sure how this works so I figure it would be best to run it through you first.

Arcbound Worker and Welding Jar, can I move the +1/+1 counter onto another arcbound and then use Welding Jar to regenerate Arcbound Worker? Basically, I'm not sure if it goes into the graveyard if it would be regenerated.
Please? ;_____;
gonk Sorry for missing that.

The answer is no. When the +1/+1 counter goes he's a 0/0 and dies from state based effects. You won't have time to regenerate him. Another possible scenerio for this is when he dies from combat damage and you attempt to modular onto another creature. Modular only triggers when the creature is put into a graveyard. Regenerating does not bring it back from the dead it only prevents the death from happening. So you could regenerate him. But nothing gets a +1/+1 counter.
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:17 pm


Don't worry about it.

Ok thanks, so what about equipment? Let's say Shuriken for example. From what I understand, you can only epuip during your turn and only as a sorcery, so you can only use Shuriken's attack once a turn, correct? And also, does epuipment and non-artifact creatures have summoning sickness?

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 am


Well no. You can use shuriken more than once. If you have some ninjas. Example
You have one ninja of the deep hours and one other creature. You equip the shruiken. Use it from the ninja. Attatch it to another creature, then use that one. Now your opponent has control of it before you can equip and use it again (unless you had help from a Certain Leonin )
All creatures have summoning sickness. Period. Artifact or not. (unless they have haste)
All non creature premanents do NOT have summoning sickness.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:25 pm



The magic rules say that when a player dies all cards and effects that player owned are removed from the game permanently, right?
In that case should not the effect of Arcane Denial that triggers in the next upkeep also be removed, thus not allowing the player whos spell was countered to draw a card?

Feints-


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:39 am


That rule only applies to multiplayer and no. By most multiplayer rules that end effect of Arcande Denial is attatched to the player still in the game. Example
Player A denial's player Bs spell.
Player C kills player A
Next turn of Player B. Player B draws a card during his upkeep.

(NOTE: You MIGHT have to double check me. I'm not up to par on multiplayer rules anymore and I COULD be wrong about that.)
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 2:13 pm


I feel really lame asking this, but there seems to be some disagreement as to wether or not the player who goes first draws during thier first turn., and about wether or not mana abilities can be used during an opponents turn.

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 3:30 pm


1 on 1 the player who goes first does not draw a card during his/her first turn draw step.
In multiplayer its a common rule that everyone draws on turn 1 going first or not (least that's how I've seen things.) so for 1 on 1 whoever goes first doesn't draw on the first draw step.
Second: Mana abilities don't use the stack. You can play them whenever you want any time you want and they can't be responded to.
NOTE: This does not mean you can tap your Llanowar Elves for G on the first turn they come into play. They still need to get off summoning sickness and then you can use them as you see fit whenever you see fit.
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:43 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
1 on 1 the player who goes first does not draw a card during his/her first turn draw step.
In multiplayer its a common rule that everyone draws on turn 1 going first or not (least that's how I've seen things.) so for 1 on 1 whoever goes first doesn't draw on the first draw step.
Second: Mana abilities don't use the stack. You can play them whenever you want any time you want and they can't be responded to.
NOTE: This does not mean you can tap your Llanowar Elves for G on the first turn they come into play. They still need to get off summoning sickness and then you can use them as you see fit whenever you see fit.
Ok, just checking. We got this new player recently, and he has a different way of playing.

ravener2759


Mikujin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:22 am


Lord Yawgmoth
That rule only applies to multiplayer and no. By most multiplayer rules that end effect of Arcande Denial is attatched to the player still in the game. Example
Player A denial's player Bs spell.
Player C kills player A
Next turn of Player B. Player B draws a card during his upkeep.

(NOTE: You MIGHT have to double check me. I'm not up to par on multiplayer rules anymore and I COULD be wrong about that.)


This is my specialty area, one could say. I play a lot of multiplayer Magic. Several friends have "fun" decks, mostly that involve simultaneously killing off everything and / or everyone. Quite fun.

Anyways, you're quite right in your assumption. In the case of Arcane Denial and any other cards that "tag" effects on to players, OR other permanents in play, the effect stays "on the stack," so to speak. That is, it will still happen.

The only case where a "tag" effect would NOT have an effect, is if the player / permanent that it would effect is killed / destroyed. Arcane Denial cannot, for example, carry out its tag on a dead player.

Otherwise, you could spam Arcane Denials on an opponent as a dying gift, if you were to lose, for example.

Any other mutliplayer questions, or questions in general, feel free to ask.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:39 am


I found this slightly confusing.

What happens if there are two Doubling Seasons out?

If two are in play, and i get a Saproling out, would each Doubling Season add another token out, making it three tokens? Or am I misunderstanding something?

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:22 am


No. They don't double up from what I understand. Each doubling season is a replacement effect of the same thing. So having two of them is redundant. You'd only get 2. Though, let's say some time later in the day I find a real answer to this because I'm not too sure, it could be it places 4 into play. (start with 1 double it to 2 then double that to 4) I'll edit this post with a referrence link if I can find an answer to what double Doubling Seasons do.


EDIT: Star City Games 'Ask The Judge'

Quote:
Doubling Season FAQ
*If there are two Doubling Seasons in play, then the number of tokens or counters is four times the original number. If there are three in play, then the number of tokens or counters is eight times the original number.


Double Edit: So yes. I was wrong. You would get 4 Saprolings not 2 from having 2 doubling seasons.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:29 am


Thanks, that one was kind of confusing.

ravener2759


Neogoth Astron

8,250 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Tycoon 200
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:36 pm


I know this is a stupid question, but do "Stormed" and "Replicated" spells count toward a storm count? I highly doubt it, but I just had to throw it out there.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum