Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:21 pm


MWS = Magic Workstation. It's a free ware program that acts like Magic Online. You can play magic with people over the internet. The downside/upside (depending on your view) is everyone has an infinite number of every card in print. MWS hasn't updated Magic Workstation with Time Spiral and Timeshifted subset yet. I'm sure within a week or so they'll have the patch ready. They're pretty quick about things like that.

The rule on standard is this: If the card is legal in standard. ALL versions of that card are legal in standard. This means as long as Island, Mountain, Forest, Plains and Swamp are legal in standard you can use ANY of those cards from Beta - Time Spiral. The same is true for say the timeshifted Akroma. You can use the Purple symbol Akroma OR the rare legions version. They're the same card.
NOTE: You CANNOT use Alpha cards unless you're ENTIRE deck is Alpha. This is due to the way Alpha cards are cut. If you ever manage to see one hold it up to a card today (or a beta card perferrably) to see the cut difference. It's a DCI ruling.
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 5:01 pm


Ok, this one's been bugging me for a while; if I have more than 1 Stalking Vengeance, several other Avatars out (hint, hint), and I cast Living Death, does my opponent take more damage? What I'm trying to say is.....

Creatures:
3 Stalking Vengeance
1 Scion of Darkness
1 Excruciator
1 Avatar of Might

Spell: Living Death

It is my understanding that you can choose the order the creatures that go into the graveyard. Once Excruciator goes first, does my opponent take 21 damage to start out with, since I have 3 Stalking Vengeance out, or does it just take effect once?

Neogoth Astron

8,250 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Tycoon 200
  • Invisibility 100

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:07 pm


Short Answer: Yes. They do.
Long Answer: The errata on Living Death is this
Living Death 3BB
Sorcery
Each player removes all creature cards from his or her graveyard from the game, then sacrifices all creatures he or she controls, then puts all cards removed from the game this way into play.

Each stalking Vengence will trigger on its own. And like most things that trigger on creatures dying, yes. it still works when everything dies. So when you sacrifice every creature you control to living death the 3 stalking vengence's trigger (NOTE: They will NOT resolve until living death has as nothing can happen during the resolution of a spell/ability)
So. Caculating the total power of every creature you listed.

3 Stalking vengence = 15
1 Scion = 6
1 Excruciator = 7
1 Might = 8
Total power = 36
36 X 3 for each Vengence = 108 damage to your opponent after living death resolves. (keep in mind each trigger of the Stalking Vengence triggers differently for each creature, including itself, that dies to Living Death. So each instance will have to be countered via stifle seperatly.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:53 pm


Hey, I'm using the thread instead of cluttering your inbox. 3nodding

Anyways, i just want to clasrify how a side deck works. As I understand, it must be 15 cards, and your deck must be the same number of cards after exchanging cards from your side deck. The thing I don't know is if you can use your side deck after you find out who your next opponent is and the deck they're using.

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:28 pm


Yes. Please DO NOT PM me rules questions sweatdrop My inbox is cluttered enough from modding sweatdrop

The answer is no. As you stated your sideboard has to be 15 cards exactly, no more no less. As you exchaneg cards from the board into the main deck both must stay the same number. However, You can only sideboard AFTER game 1.
Example: You play someone, game 1 goes ok. you know what they're playing now. You side and go to game 2 and game 3 (if need be)
You find out that the person you're playing next is playing goblins. You have sideboard hate for goblins. You CANNOT sideboard before Game 2. So you might have to take the loss to goblins game 1 and side in for the wins game 2 and 3. This is to keep game 1 clear and both decks in their original forms to compete before the scale tipping of sideboarding takes place.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:46 pm


So, in a tournament where your playing someone new every game, it would be completly useless.... Thanks. What about if a character has pro green and blocks a Lone Direwolf? Would the damage still go through to the polayer?

Also, could you check out my deck in the sub-forum and tell me what you think? I'm not sure if i want to add Aurafication, Pacificism, and a few other useful cards or not.

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:50 pm


Yes and no. Game 1 you might lose all day. But then again you could win, they don't have the hate against you game 1 either. Game 2 if you have better board for them you can win easily. It's far from useless.

You mean Lone Wolf? Yes. The damage can still go to the defending player even if it's blocked by something pro green.

Finally, unless you're deck is for competitive magic I'm probably not going to base an opinion on it. I find the casual format to be...how do I put this nicely, just not as fun. So I tend to think of all casual decks as inferior builds to tournament tier 1s and 2s.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:00 pm


Ok, last question. Aurafication, can an illusion creature change its type so it can attack even though it's got a gold counter on it?

ravener2759


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:50 pm


With the old rules yes. With the current ruling. No.

Aurafication's errata reads like so.

Aurafication 2WW
Enchantment
Whenever a creature deals damage to you, put a gold counter on it.
Each creature with a gold counter on it has defender. (Those creatures can't attack.)
When Aurification leaves play, remove all gold counters from all creatures.

So it no longer makes them walls. Unless you can remove the gold counter they still can't attack.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:51 pm


My opponent has a Phrexian Totem animated (basically a Phyrexian Negator), and attacks with it and two other creatures. I deal enough damage to kill it and the other two creatures. When he has to sac permanents, can he sac the creatures I would kill, or would the trigger go on after damage was dealt and they were all dead?

DInfiltrator


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:14 pm


Damage resolves all at once. The ability stacks. State based effects then kill all the creatures with lethal damage. THEN the ability resolves for each point of damage dealt to the 'negator' so he will have to sac 5 other permanents to satisfy the effect.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:07 am


Ok, I'm not too sure how this works so I figure it would be best to run it through you first.

Arcbound Worker and Welding Jar, can I move the +1/+1 counter onto another arcbound and then use Welding Jar to regenerate Arcbound Worker? Basically, I'm not sure if it goes into the graveyard if it would be regenerated.

ravener2759


Neogoth Astron

8,250 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Tycoon 200
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:59 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
Short Answer: Yes. They do.
Long Answer: The errata on Living Death is this
Living Death 3BB
Sorcery
Each player removes all creature cards from his or her graveyard from the game, then sacrifices all creatures he or she controls, then puts all cards removed from the game this way into play.

Each stalking Vengence will trigger on its own. And like most things that trigger on creatures dying, yes. it still works when everything dies. So when you sacrifice every creature you control to living death the 3 stalking vengence's trigger (NOTE: They will NOT resolve until living death has as nothing can happen during the resolution of a spell/ability)
So. Caculating the total power of every creature you listed.

3 Stalking vengence = 15
1 Scion = 6
1 Excruciator = 7
1 Might = 8
Total power = 36
36 X 3 for each Vengence = 108 damage to your opponent after living death resolves. (keep in mind each trigger of the Stalking Vengence triggers differently for each creature, including itself, that dies to Living Death. So each instance will have to be countered via stifle seperatly.
All right, so, the Scion, Excruciator and avi of Might go, and it starts off with 63. Then, one Vengeance goes, and they take 10, because it's effect won't work on itself, or they ALL take effect after LD resolves?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:14 pm


Everything trips at once. I already did the math for you sweatdrop

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Nosada_Kage

6,650 Points
  • Elocutionist 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:55 pm


this combo works, right? beacon of tomorrows + panoptic mirror=my opponent never gets another turn
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum