Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Vicious_X

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:12 am


Ahh, stickyness. cool
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:36 am


Yay sticky and eek Guild Mod status

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Phantom_Renegade

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:16 pm


when does kamigawa get rotated out ???
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:31 pm


Kamigawa rotates out, Officially, when the first set of Time Spiral is to be released. As in a similar fashion, that means there will be a gap about a week-or-so long where the only legal sets include:

- Ravnica
- Coldsnap
- The most recent Core Set

I'm not sure why this happens, but for some reason or another it does. During this time, of course, the first block of Time Spiral and its cards will have been unfolded, so to speak. This small gap is probably just to give people time to set up new deck-designs. Or something else. This is one question, I suppose, with no definite answer.

Also, congrats to Lord Yawgmoth (and the questions thread! Yay for Sticky!) who recently became a guild moderator. He'll do us proud, I'm sure.

EDIT: Prerelease events for Time Spiral begin on Sept. 23, with official release taking place on Oct 6. I predict, but don't guarantee or state, that Kamigawa will likely rotate out on or about Sept 23.

Mikujin


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:41 am


Slight correction to Mikujin's post. Champions of Kamigawa, Betrayers of Kamigawa and Saviors of Kamigawa will rotate out of Standard on October 20th. The day Time Spiral becomes tournament legal. Even though it comes out in early October (3rd or 4th I think) it doesn't actually kick anything out until the set legalizes for DCI Sanctioned play. So currently standard is

9th Edition
Champions of Kamigawa
Betrayers of Kamigawa
Saviors of Kamigawa
Ravnica: City of Guilds
Guildpact
Dissension
Coldsnap

When Time Spiral becomes legal for tournament play the list will become

9th edition
Ravnica: City of Guilds
Guildpact
Dissension
Coldsnap
Time Spiral
(NOTE: Normally there would NOT be this many sets in Standard during a rotation but due to the release of Coldsnap and its being legal for Standard play there will be)
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:31 am


Ok, I have a question...
I have Karmic Justice out... Its an enchantment that says"Whenever a spell or ability an opponent controls destroys a noncreature permanent you control,, you may destroy target permanent that opponent controls."

I use testament of Faith's ability "Pay x: testament becomes an x/x wall creature until end of turn. It's still an enchantment"

If someone destroys testament while its a creature (still an enchantment) with a spell does karmic justice still apply?

nightasasin


nightasasin

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:38 am


I have another question...

Stalking tiger can only be blocked by one creature. If someone puts an enchantment on it saying it can only be blocked by 2 or more creatures...is stalking tiger unblockable now? I ask this because a friend does it and he thinks its unblockable.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:25 am


nightasasin
I have another question...

Stalking tiger can only be blocked by one creature. If someone puts an enchantment on it saying it can only be blocked by 2 or more creatures...is stalking tiger unblockable now? I ask this because a friend does it and he thinks its unblockable.
Yes. It's unblockable because you can't satisfy both effects. Similar to Goblin War Drums and Familiar Ground in play at the same time.

nightasasin
Ok, I have a question...
I have Karmic Justice out... Its an enchantment that says"Whenever a spell or ability an opponent controls destroys a noncreature permanent you control,, you may destroy target permanent that opponent controls."

I use testament of Faith's ability "Pay x: testament becomes an x/x wall creature until end of turn. It's still an enchantment"

If someone destroys testament while its a creature (still an enchantment) with a spell does karmic justice still apply?

No. Karmic Justice won't work. The card will be EnchantmentCreature - Wall. Reading Karmic Justice you'll find that it says NON creature. Even if it's still an enchantment it's still a creature also. So Karmic Justice will look the other way. On the flip side if someone kills it while it's JUST an enchantment then yes. Karmic Justice will apply.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


nightasasin

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:20 pm


Allright, thx for clearing that up for me. smile
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 5:22 am


How many times may my opponent use ninjutsu per attack? Like, could he just keep switching ninjas in and out until he runs out of mana?

Also, if I imprint something like a Fireball on Panoptic Mirror, what happens when I use it? Is the casting cost assumed to be one red only, so then it deals no damage?

I'm sure I'll come up with a lot more questions...

Nosada_Kage

6,650 Points
  • Elocutionist 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Invisibility 100

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:30 pm


Nosada_the_Stealth
How many times may my opponent use ninjutsu per attack? Like, could he just keep switching ninjas in and out until he runs out of mana?

Yeah. Pretty much.
Example: he has 3 islands and 3 other lands he attacks you with an ornithopter. he ninjutsus out a Ninja of the Deep Hours with one island and one other land. then he ninjas another ninja of the deep hours returning the first to his hand. and then does the same thing yet again. They're unblocked as long as the phase is still going until it moves to Combat Damage

Nosada_the_Stealth
Also, if I imprint something like a Fireball on Panoptic Mirror, what happens when I use it? Is the casting cost assumed to be one red only, so then it deals no damage?

I'm sure I'll come up with a lot more questions...

When X is anywhere but the stack it's assumed to be 0. So copying a fireball from anywhere other than the stack would make X = 0
Note: If you were to fireball with 7 mana making X = 6 and then do something like twincast or fork then the copy would be X = 6 as well since it was copied from the stack.
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:28 am


ok i kno i have alot of questions about the stack and ive read numerous things about the stack but plz just explain to me

say my opponent has a rakdos guildmage out and i have a 2/2

so he activates the guildmages ability to give -2/-2, and in resp i repeal the guildmage, does my creature live or does repeal happen then my creature dies ???

similar question im playing volcanic hammer, and my opponent has CoP red
so i play hammer he pays to acivate ability, and again in resp i repeal CoP to his hand, does he still take damage or not ???

Phantom_Renegade


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:04 am


Phantom_Renegade
ok i kno i have alot of questions about the stack and ive read numerous things about the stack but plz just explain to me

say my opponent has a rakdos guildmage out and i have a 2/2

so he activates the guildmages ability to give -2/-2, and in resp i repeal the guildmage, does my creature live or does repeal happen then my creature dies ???

Once the ability to give -2/-2 is on the stack it doesn't need the source to resolve. So repealing the guildmage will draw you a card but won't stop the -2/-2 effect from resolving. I suggest respond with a giant growth instead.

Phantom_Renegade
similar question im playing volcanic hammer, and my opponent has CoP red
so i play hammer he pays to acivate ability, and again in resp i repeal CoP to his hand, does he still take damage or not ???

Same as above. The CoP Red doesn't need the source once he stacks the ability. It works like this. Repeal resolves. You draw a card and may respond again (if you want say with another burn spell) his CoP Effect resolves, The next red source is prevented. Volcanic hammer resolves, since it's red. It's the next red source and is prevented. Having the CoP in play doesn't matter once the effect is on the stack.

This also applies to ANYTHING. The thing that created the effect does NOT have to be in play for the effect to resolve.
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:16 am


thanks again dude

Phantom_Renegade


Nosada_Kage

6,650 Points
  • Elocutionist 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:13 pm


If I play a spell with replicate, say Pyromantics, and my friend counters it, do the replicants still work, or are they all countered?
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum