|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 6:31 am
alright, my friend and i had a dispute over this. How exactly does replicate work? dont u have to pay its replicate cost while it is still on the stack before it resolves?
so if you have a card that gives you mana that replicates (djinn illuminatus and desperate ritual), you would pay the 1R for desperate ritual, then pay any amount of additional 1R for each other copy you want while it is on the stack b4 it gives you the mana, right? another way to show it would be to say that new rule is that "you can only counter one copy with a counterspell" or sumthing like that, meaning that it would probably all have to be on the stack at once, right?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:19 pm
Lord Yawgmoth Samyueru_UK OK, serious question (for once ^_^) Ebony Owl Netsuke checks on Resolution correct? If this is true, how does this interact with cards like Reverse damage, since it doesn't know how much damage is going to be dealt. Also, if I have a Skargan Skybreaker (sp) in play and I sacrifice it to deal damage equal to its power, and how does that interact with what "mode" it is put in (the Skybreaker no longer HAS a power value, so I assume last known information is used, but could you explain why that ability doesn't check on resolution). Thanks for the help in advance. I'll have to check later when I have the time but I'm almost positive that the Owl only checks on the trigger not on resolution. Reverse damage puts up a 'shield' like most damage prevention and redirection spells. It never knows the amount of damage it's going to get. It just 'does' when it finally sees damage coming no matter the amount. Then how would this work with a Sudden Impact? Is that damage set when the spell is first played or on resolution? Why is this differeny from the Owl (if it is)? If the Impact checks cards in hand on resolution, does that mean I can discard cards from my hand somehow in order to get the damage the impact would do to go down (for example, I have 3 cards in hand, and someone plays an Impact targeting me, can I play Consult the Necrosages targeting myself to make myself discard 2 cards in order to take no damage)? Thanks in advance.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:46 pm
Samyueru_UK Lord Yawgmoth Samyueru_UK OK, serious question (for once ^_^) Ebony Owl Netsuke checks on Resolution correct? If this is true, how does this interact with cards like Reverse damage, since it doesn't know how much damage is going to be dealt. Also, if I have a Skargan Skybreaker (sp) in play and I sacrifice it to deal damage equal to its power, and how does that interact with what "mode" it is put in (the Skybreaker no longer HAS a power value, so I assume last known information is used, but could you explain why that ability doesn't check on resolution). Thanks for the help in advance. I'll have to check later when I have the time but I'm almost positive that the Owl only checks on the trigger not on resolution. Reverse damage puts up a 'shield' like most damage prevention and redirection spells. It never knows the amount of damage it's going to get. It just 'does' when it finally sees damage coming no matter the amount. Then how would this work with a Sudden Impact? Is that damage set when the spell is first played or on resolution? Why is this differeny from the Owl (if it is)? If the Impact checks cards in hand on resolution, does that mean I can discard cards from my hand somehow in order to get the damage the impact would do to go down (for example, I have 3 cards in hand, and someone plays an Impact targeting me, can I play Consult the Necrosages targeting myself to make myself discard 2 cards in order to take no damage)? Thanks in advance. Yes you can. Its simply responding to the spell. It sets damage on resolution. However once the impact starts resolving you cant play anything in the middle so you'll get whacked for however many cards are in your hand. But responding to the impact in the manner mentioned above will reduce the damage.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:13 pm
Tohma_Seguchi_San Copies are spells. The only difference is, most of the time they're put directly on the stack instead of played. Isochron Sceptre, for example, is an exception, in that it plays them. Looking at Panoptic Mirror, it also plays them. So no, Epic still applies and stops you from reusing it. Which is a Good Thing, because they d be very hard to keep track of, otherwise, what with all of them making copies of themselves and such. Then I would asume that since epic doesn't say play you can not copy it with Uyo and replicating or Twincasting it would only cause the second one to fizzle, correct?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:35 am
fk3241, I think you broke their brains o_O!
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 4:47 pm
fk3241 Tohma_Seguchi_San Copies are spells. The only difference is, most of the time they're put directly on the stack instead of played. Isochron Sceptre, for example, is an exception, in that it plays them. Looking at Panoptic Mirror, it also plays them. So no, Epic still applies and stops you from reusing it. Which is a Good Thing, because they d be very hard to keep track of, otherwise, what with all of them making copies of themselves and such. Then I would asume that since epic doesn't say play you can not copy it with Uyo and replicating or Twincasting it would only cause the second one to fizzle, correct? IF you're asking whether or not you can copy an epic spell with Uyo then yes you can. Because the epic spell hasn't resolved yet when you copy it. If you want to copy one of the epic spell copies then yes you can do that to because Uyo doesnt say "Play the copy" it just copies it putting the spell directly onto the stack. You can only twincast the initial spell of an epic because after that you wont be able to play twincast at all.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 5:13 pm
Do walls count as creatures with defender and can be made to attack with Wakestone Gargoyle?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:47 pm
fk3241 Do walls count as creatures with defender and can be made to attack with Wakestone Gargoyle? Yes, all walls have been errata'd to be creatures with defender.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:50 pm
robthemanbigboy alright, my friend and i had a dispute over this. How exactly does replicate work? dont u have to pay its replicate cost while it is still on the stack before it resolves? so if you have a card that gives you mana that replicates (djinn illuminatus and desperate ritual), you would pay the 1R for desperate ritual, then pay any amount of additional 1R for each other copy you want while it is on the stack b4 it gives you the mana, right? another way to show it would be to say that new rule is that "you can only counter one copy with a counterspell" or sumthing like that, meaning that it would probably all have to be on the stack at once, right? Replicate means you pay the replicate cost and put a copy on the stack, which is why the desperate ritual/lava spike/izzet guildmage combo needs an extra three to get going. Djinn Illuminatus, on the other hand, just makes copies, and they all go off at the same time (you can't stack them)
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:39 am
evil STOP threadjacking. I've asked numerous times. Stop it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:43 am
fk3241 Do walls count as creatures with defender and can be made to attack with Wakestone Gargoyle? Yes you can robthemanbigboy alright, my friend and i had a dispute over this. How exactly does replicate work? dont u have to pay its replicate cost while it is still on the stack before it resolves? so if you have a card that gives you mana that replicates (djinn illuminatus and desperate ritual), you would pay the 1R for desperate ritual, then pay any amount of additional 1R for each other copy you want while it is on the stack b4 it gives you the mana, right? another way to show it would be to say that new rule is that "you can only counter one copy with a counterspell" or sumthing like that, meaning that it would probably all have to be on the stack at once, right? Djinn Illuminatus can't keep replicating something like desperate ritual. Replicate works like this. You play the spell. Play means a few things. A) You announce the spell B) You place the spell on the stack and pay any and all costs for the spell This includes replicate costs. You don't get the mana from something like desperate ritual until it resolves which is way past point B.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:51 am
so if you replicate it then, all of the replicates happen at once, right?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:31 am
Sarjun so if you replicate it then, all of the replicates happen at once, right? Nope. Replicating places a copy of the spell on the stack above the original. But you can only pay the cost of replicate at that one moment when you're paying costs for spells including things like replicate or kicker.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:53 am
Just trying to move the topic to the top since no one notices it, and many rules questions are being asked everywhere but here.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|