Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Gix3241

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:07 pm


I have several questions, first, could you explain to me, in detail, how ninjitsu works. Second, if you have Mindmoil in play and play a spell to draw a card, which happens first Mindmoil or the draw. Third, with Sensei Golden-Tail, if you use it on the same creature twice or a creature with bushido already, does it add to the already existing bushido making it bushido 2 (or gives it 2 bushido 1 but acts the same).
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:37 pm


fk3241
I have several questions, first, could you explain to me, in detail, how ninjitsu works. Second, if you have Mindmoil in play and play a spell to draw a card, which happens first Mindmoil or the draw. Third, with Sensei Golden-Tail, if you use it on the same creature twice or a creature with bushido already, does it add to the already existing bushido making it bushido 2 (or gives it 2 bushido 1 but acts the same).


A)
502.43. Ninjutsu

502.43a Ninjutsu is an activated ability that functions only while the card with ninjutsu is in a player's hand. "Ninjutsu [cost]" means "[Cost], Reveal this card from your hand, Return an unblocked creature you control to its owner's hand: Put this card into play from your hand tapped and attacking."

502.43b The card with ninjutsu remains revealed from the time the ability is announced until the ability leaves the stack.

502.43c A ninjutsu ability may be played only while a creature in play is unblocked. The creature with ninjutsu is put into play unblocked.

those are the comprehensive rules on Ninjutsu if you have a more specific situation then I'll be happy to answer that.

B) You'd play the spell, then mindmoil would trigger and go ontop of the draw spell. So the mindmoil would then resolve first.

C) Bushido does stack. If something has Bushido 1 twice, each one will trigger and give it +1/+1 if it blocks or becomes blocked. It acts just like Bushido 2.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Gix3241

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:19 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
fk3241
I have several questions, first, could you explain to me, in detail, how ninjitsu works. Second, if you have Mindmoil in play and play a spell to draw a card, which happens first Mindmoil or the draw. Third, with Sensei Golden-Tail, if you use it on the same creature twice or a creature with bushido already, does it add to the already existing bushido making it bushido 2 (or gives it 2 bushido 1 but acts the same).


A)
502.43. Ninjutsu

502.43a Ninjutsu is an activated ability that functions only while the card with ninjutsu is in a player's hand. "Ninjutsu [cost]" means "[Cost], Reveal this card from your hand, Return an unblocked creature you control to its owner's hand: Put this card into play from your hand tapped and attacking."

502.43b The card with ninjutsu remains revealed from the time the ability is announced until the ability leaves the stack.

502.43c A ninjutsu ability may be played only while a creature in play is unblocked. The creature with ninjutsu is put into play unblocked.

those are the comprehensive rules on Ninjutsu if you have a more specific situation then I'll be happy to answer that.

B) You'd play the spell, then mindmoil would trigger and go ontop of the draw spell. So the mindmoil would then resolve first.

C) Bushido does stack. If something has Bushido 1 twice, each one will trigger and give it +1/+1 if it blocks or becomes blocked. It acts just like Bushido 2.
With the ninjitsu, the ninjitsued creature cannot be blocked and the unblocked creature you returned deals no damage, only the ninjitsued creature, correct?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 1:43 pm


Yes. the creature deals no damage unless it has first/double strike. In which case you can have first strike damage stack and resolve and before regular combat damage stacks return the creature because it's still an attacking unblocked creature at that point. But otherwise, the creature you return won't deal damage and the ninja will.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Gix3241

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 1:59 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
Yes. the creature deals no damage unless it has first/double strike. In which case you can have first strike damage stack and resolve and before regular combat damage stacks return the creature because it's still an attacking unblocked creature at that point. But otherwise, the creature you return won't deal damage and the ninja will.
Thank you, that was very helpful. smile
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:20 pm


Pushed the top to remind people its here. X3

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Legendary_ONE

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:42 pm


I have few questions:

1. Does "goblin offering" from Patron of the Akki count as an ability or a spell? (In other words, can it be countered with Counterspell, or Stifle?)

2. Does "protection" prevent trample damage from going through?

3. If Quicksilver Fountain leaves play, do the flood counters generated by it from the previous turns leave play as well? If they don't, do the lands with flood counters on them still count as island when there is no Quicksilver Fountain in play?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:40 pm


Legendary_ONE
I have few questions:

1. Does "goblin offering" from Patron of the Akki count as an ability or a spell? (In other words, can it be countered with Counterspell, or Stifle?)

2. Does "protection" prevent trample damage from going through?

3. If Quicksilver Fountain leaves play, do the flood counters generated by it from the previous turns leave play as well? If they don't, do the lands with flood counters on them still count as island when there is no Quicksilver Fountain in play?


1. You're still plaing it. So yes, it can be countered. It's a spell still. You can't stifle it since its just an alternate way of paying the cost for it.

2. No. If a 2/2 pro green blocks a 4/4 green trampler all you have to do is assign 2 damage enough to "kill" the 2/2 and 2 to the player. The 2 damage assigned to the pro green creature will resolve and do nothing but the 2 damage will still go through to the player.

3. If the fountain leaves the flood counters go nowhere. However, without the fountain telling them what to do they just look shiny. But if another fountain comes into play it reads them and tells them to make the lands islands again.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Samyueru_UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:29 am


froszen
hmm.. i have a realy easy/simple one that i dont see as a problem, but my friends seem to fail at understanding this; so i am forced to ask what happens.

one of my decks uses a lot of gold cards, and i was saying that the cards have all of the colors in its mana cost and thus would be effected by things such as a circle of protection, (one of them was saying that if theye should be prevented that way than there would be a circle of protection: gold)
and (this one im not so sure on though): be effected twice by something that effects two colors such as Nightscape Familiar, which lowers the cost of blue spells by one and red spells by one.


I'm new here, but I'll try to answer and people can correct me if I'm wrong. At least they should sweatdrop .

Anyway, I don't think the cost is lowered twice, the Familiar looks at the spell being played and asks it id it's red or blue, and it answers yes, so the Familiar makes it cost 1 less. However with more Familiars in play, the cost would reduce.

And yes, a creature is counted as all the colors in its mana cost (for example a creature with a cost of WUG is White, Blue and Green). Hybrid creatures are both colors at all times (A (G/B) Hybrid is both Green nd Black at all times no matter what color mana is used to pay for it.

Hpoe I've helped, and not been too much of a pain sweatdrop . I'm still learning, but I hope to be a DCI judge one day... It'll always be the dream
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:42 am


I'm new here, but I'll try to answer and people can correct me if I'm wrong. At least they should .

Anyway, I don't think the cost is lowered twice, the Familiar looks at the spell being played and asks it id it's red or blue, and it answers yes, so the Familiar makes it cost 1 less. However with more Familiars in play, the cost would reduce. ACTUALLY, THE COST IS LOWERED TWICE IF IT IS A GOLD CARD SUCH AS BLACK BLUE AND YOU HAVE THE PROPER FAMILIARS IN PLAY.

And yes, a creature is counted as all the colors in its mana cost (for example a creature with a cost of WUG is White, Blue and Green). Hybrid creatures are both colors at all times (A (G/B) Hybrid is both Green nd Black at all times no matter what color mana is used to pay for it. THIS PARAGRAPH CONTRADICTS WHTA YOU JUST SAID.

Hpoe I've helped, and not been too much of a pain . I'm still learning, but I hope to be a DCI judge one day... It'll always be the dream KEEP WORKING AT IT.

Variant_Theory


Samyueru_UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 1:14 pm


Was I wrong sweatdrop ? It wouldn't surprise me!
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 1:26 pm


yes but its nothing to be upset about. the fact that you try to help otehrs understand the game is enough.

Variant_Theory


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 2:26 pm


Samyueru_UK and Variant_Theory: STOP thread jacking. sad
I asked everyone on the first page to stop doing exactly what you two are doing. There are two people answering questions in this thread, that's plenty. If I or Tohma miss a question and the person hasn't found the answer on their own they can PM either one of us for the answer. But I'm not going to stand by and watch people threadjack me. It's annoying, rude and spamming. I'm going to be nice and let it slide this time but not twice. Consider this your only warning for that. neutral
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 2:30 pm


froszen
hmm.. i have a realy easy/simple one that i dont see as a problem, but my friends seem to fail at understanding this; so i am forced to ask what happens.

one of my decks uses a lot of gold cards, and i was saying that the cards have all of the colors in its mana cost and thus would be effected by things such as a circle of protection, (one of them was saying that if theye should be prevented that way than there would be a circle of protection: gold)
and (this one im not so sure on though): be effected twice by something that effects two colors such as Nightscape Familiar, which lowers the cost of blue spells by one and red spells by one.


The official answer is this: 1) Yes, if there's a white/black card then you can stop it with C.O.P. Black or C.O.P. White either one stops it all together.

2) If you have a blue red creature that lets say cost 2UR and you have a Nightscape Familiar. Then it cuts it down by 2 because it's both red and blue and it reduces the cost of spells for each of that color. Since the card in question is both colors it cuts it for each color cutting allowed by the familiar. So it will cost UR to cast 3nodding

After double checking just to make sure apparently, that isn't the case because of the way the familiar is worded. It only cuts it down by 1 not 2. It would take two familiars to cut it down by 2 or one familiar and another source of cost cutting. With only one source for cost cutting it can only cut it down once. sweatdrop Sorry for the previous confusion.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Tohma_Seguchi_San

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 2:47 pm


Yeah, it would have to have the ability twice to cut it twice. Like so:
Red spells you play cost 1 less to play.
Blue spells you play cost 1 less to play.
{Or however it's worded; too lazy to look it up}
Then it would ask two seperate questions.
Is it red?
Is it blue?
It would see two "yes"s, so reduce by two.

EDIT: Interestingly enough, Samyueru was right on both counts, and Variant_Theory was completely off. Funny how that works.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum