Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

rhadeof_valceca

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:05 am


Thank You again, and i have another question. What would Quicksilver Foutain do to a Watery Grave or Steam Vents considering both cards are part island and part swamp or moutain. It seems to me that Quicksilver Foutain is in a Paradox. And congratulations Tohma_Seguchi_San! I hope that you too will expand my understanding.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:53 am


Quicksilver fountain will erase everything and Put "Island" there. So the type on the grave and vents becomes nothing but "Island" so long as the fountain is in play and the flood counters are on it. Meaning it will only tap for blue, it'll be destroyed by boil, boiling seas and what not. 3nodding

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Kleber

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:25 pm


You cannot put a flood counter on an Island card, it says right there on Quicksilver Fountain text. So you cannot put a counter on Steam Vents nor Watery Grave
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:05 pm


Thats what i thought but i guess one rule just supersedes another rule.

rhadeof_valceca


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:48 am


gonk I totally forgot the text of "target non-island land" nevermind then sweatdrop
I'm already forgetting mirrodin crying
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 10:08 am


so what does happen then?

rhadeof_valceca


Gix3241

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:13 pm


Here's one me and my friends haven't resolved yet: can you play spells to give a creature pluses or minuses after blockers are declared and before damage is dealt and if so what kinds of spells or abilities?

I'll try to pay more attention to replies this time, sorry... sweatdrop
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:36 pm


rhadeof_valceca
so what does happen then?
Nothing really. The fountain can't put flood counters on them. But if all other lands have flood counters then they are counted as island (thus making every land an island) and the counters are all taken away.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:37 pm


fk3241
Here's one me and my friends haven't resolved yet: can you play spells to give a creature pluses or minuses after blockers are declared and before damage is dealt and if so what kinds of spells or abilities?

I'll try to pay more attention to replies this time, sorry... sweatdrop
Yes. There is now a step between declaring blockers where damage goes "on the stack" before damage goes onto the stack players can play instants and activated abilities on creatures then let damage resolve to make their creatures survive or die based on the + or - factor
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:28 pm


Oh...oh well that nocks that deck idea from my list, but thank you anyway this thread is the MOST useful forum in this guild and your work is much apprieciated. Thank You Again.

rhadeof_valceca


Kleber

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:18 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
fk3241
Here's one me and my friends haven't resolved yet: can you play spells to give a creature pluses or minuses after blockers are declared and before damage is dealt and if so what kinds of spells or abilities?

I'll try to pay more attention to replies this time, sorry... sweatdrop
Yes. There is now a step between declaring blockers where damage goes "on the stack" before damage goes onto the stack players can play instants and activated abilities on creatures then let damage resolve to make their creatures survive or die based on the + or - factor

And, you can use any instant spell, or ability from creature, artifact, land, etc. UNLESS it specifies on the card that it can only be used as sorcery.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 2:29 pm


Kleber
Lord Yawgmoth
fk3241
Here's one me and my friends haven't resolved yet: can you play spells to give a creature pluses or minuses after blockers are declared and before damage is dealt and if so what kinds of spells or abilities?

I'll try to pay more attention to replies this time, sorry... sweatdrop
Yes. There is now a step between declaring blockers where damage goes "on the stack" before damage goes onto the stack players can play instants and activated abilities on creatures then let damage resolve to make their creatures survive or die based on the + or - factor

And, you can use any instant spell, or ability from creature, artifact, land, etc. UNLESS it specifies on the card that it can only be used as sorcery.
X.x That kinda cheap. make them think it's not worth it so they don't block it them slam it with boosts and they can't do anything about it.

Gix3241


Tohma_Seguchi_San

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:05 am


fk3241
Kleber
Lord Yawgmoth
fk3241
Here's one me and my friends haven't resolved yet: can you play spells to give a creature pluses or minuses after blockers are declared and before damage is dealt and if so what kinds of spells or abilities?

I'll try to pay more attention to replies this time, sorry... sweatdrop
Yes. There is now a step between declaring blockers where damage goes "on the stack" before damage goes onto the stack players can play instants and activated abilities on creatures then let damage resolve to make their creatures survive or die based on the + or - factor

And, you can use any instant spell, or ability from creature, artifact, land, etc. UNLESS it specifies on the card that it can only be used as sorcery.
X.x That kinda cheap. make them think it's not worth it so they don't block it them slam it with boosts and they can't do anything about it.


Well, they can, because they get a chance to respond. So they could kill your creature before damage was dealt, or somesuch.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:58 am


There's been a few threads about rules questions so this post is to push this up towards the top to hopefully bring in some 'business' and stop people from making rules threads that clutter the forum sweatdrop

So yes, in all basic aspects..This post is a bump ._.;;

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


froszen

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:16 pm


hmm.. i have a realy easy/simple one that i dont see as a problem, but my friends seem to fail at understanding this; so i am forced to ask what happens.

one of my decks uses a lot of gold cards, and i was saying that the cards have all of the colors in its mana cost and thus would be effected by things such as a circle of protection, (one of them was saying that if theye should be prevented that way than there would be a circle of protection: gold)
and (this one im not so sure on though): be effected twice by something that effects two colors such as Nightscape Familiar, which lowers the cost of blue spells by one and red spells by one.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum