|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Caleidah Dragonzealot Inquisitor Lord Torquemada Corteaz!
Is a pimp?Indeed. His Hammer is his Pimp Hand, which he keeps strong.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:26 am
Dragonzealot Caleidah Dragonzealot Inquisitor Lord Torquemada Corteaz!
Is a pimp?Indeed. His Hammer is his Pimp Hand, which he keeps strong.
My god...I have an urge to convert a powerfist with rings on it now. That would be amazing. And a purple suit.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:17 am
FlashbackJon That's my beef right there - the background. I like them as iconic characters and all, but to me that's how they ought to stay, not in every kid's 1500 point army. Similarly, I wouldn't object if someone converted a model, made up their own backstory, and fielded it 'counting as' a special character, balanced or no. Trouble is, lots of SCs are just too handy not to use. Until recently, 40K SCs have been pretty pointless compared to their WFB counterparts, but the latest lot are just awesome. It's a major marketign point for GW, that's the thing - they can sell cool background+cool model (sometimes)+game winning attributes to any player who uses a given army. I like the idea of using the rules to represent a character of your own devising. My new Marine Chapter (very much work in progress, still writing background/names etc.) uses the Blood Angels rules, as I thought the latest list was fantastic but I hate red - successor chapter here we come smile ! My Dante equivalent is going to be a conversion with wings (swooping hawk style, not real ones) instead of a jump pack and carrying a full blown meltagun rather than Dante's pistol (with an additional CC weapon to compensate). I wanted to use the lower half of a running Dark Angels body (with the flapping cloak part) as well. Thought that would look cool.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:17 pm
GW's new stance on special characters is that it is okay to use an established character and use him/her as a "counts as.." character for your own chapter. The new marine codex is said to have this description seeing as 70% of the new characters are Ultra Marines. So if you want Sicarius or Kronus, just rename the model and you can slap him into your own army.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:46 am
As long as your opponent knows what the rules state on the model, and it's WYSIWYG you won't ever run into problems in a tourney.
You get problems when you use stuff like The dual powerfist wielding UM SM guy as a stand-in commander. Because his weapons are unique you can't use him as a proxy. I've seen alot of times people had to swap him out for another char. Can't blame the judges for that though. He's no wysiwyg.
As for me SOB only has Celestine as far as useful. She's faithful and passes 90% of her faith checks because she's a single model, though you can have her join a Seraphim squad for extra pwnage. Nothing like 4 flamers going off from a jumppack squad. I've wiped out tons of marines like that.
"HAHA no one uses flamers" "Make 30 armor saves" "WTF?" "I have 4 flamers and if you look closely I've criss-crossed your whole command squad 4 times over, and wounded 30 times. So take 30 armor saves. Ok now I charge, passed my faith check so I have initiative 5. I go first. Here's 10 power weapon attacks hitting on 3's, and heres' 6 wounds wounding on 3's as well. Ok make 3 invulns. Ok I killed your squad. KTHXBYE!"
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:20 am
As far as the "Counts as" stuff, I've run a Commissar with Yarrick's rules, though he was by no means the Hero of Armageddon. Commissar Renvalt and his Ogryn Auxilia ground through more than a few enemy squads.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 12:20 pm
the onlt special characters i would have are Gaunt, try 'again' bragg, eszrah ap niht, saint sabbat and marneus calgar
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 12:30 pm
Blood Raven777 the onlt special characters i would have are Gaunt, try 'again' bragg, eszrah ap niht, saint sabbat and marneus calgar Fictional characters that are not found in the game do not count.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:39 am
Lt. Brookman Blood Raven777 the onlt special characters i would have are Gaunt, try 'again' bragg, eszrah ap niht, saint sabbat and marneus calgar Fictional characters that are not found in the game do not count. saint sabbat is saint celestine and as for eszrah ap niht is a special character, they made up Mkoll, try again bragg and rawne, they will do the same for the others
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:40 pm
Blood Raven777 Lt. Brookman Blood Raven777 the onlt special characters i would have are Gaunt, try 'again' bragg, eszrah ap niht, saint sabbat and marneus calgar Fictional characters that are not found in the game do not count. saint sabbat is saint celestine and as for eszrah ap niht is a special character, they made up Mkoll, try again bragg and rawne, they will do the same for the others Yea, they've made rules for Mad Larkin aswell biggrin There in a PDF document on the GW site.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:49 am
Iron Hand Straken with an entire army of Catachan Devils. Upgrade the whole squad to plasma and melta. Can someone say guard army of all ap 2 weapons?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:24 pm
Say, any one hear of the new Marneus Calgar with Ws 6, Bs 5, S 4, T4, W4, I 5, A 5, Ld 10 with a 2+ and Iron halo as standard, plus all the old rules from the SM codex. I hear he's getting a new rule called God of War, which basically lets him reroll anything, anything at all. Any time he wants. Friend:Oh look, you missed with three of your five attacks. Me: *Rerolls and all hit* Friend:s**t.... Me: Yea your screwed, twos to kill....
Friend: *ten power fist attacks on Marneus* Your squishied. Me: *Invulnerables, fails four* Friend: Ha, dead. Me: *Reroll and saves all* Im fine...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:00 pm
I know he has the ability to go to ground or pass/fail morale checks at will.
Don't forget that he also has two Powerfists and a Stormbolter and can wear Terminator Armor and has the Eternal Warrior ability.
He doesn't reroll anything at all, he rerolls to hit.
He also can take three 10 man squads of honor guard.
Perhaps more cheesy is Chief Librarian Tigurius who knows every psychic power available to marines and can use three of them per turn.
This is both fair and legal.
On a related tangent, Daemonhunter's Brother-Captain Stern can reroll once per phase, but the opponent then also gets however many rerolls used by Stern.
Maybe if I paint my Grey Knights blue I'll win all the time too....
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:01 pm
Serebrate Maybe if I paint my Grey Knights blue I'll win all the time too.... Blue for luck? I didn't know the Grey Knights worshipped Mork. *rimshot*
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:48 pm
Not Mork Blue.
Ultra-Smurf Blue.
Ba-dam-psssh.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|