Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Official Warhammer 40,000 and Tabletop Gaming Guild

Back to Guilds

The Official Gaian Home of Tabletop Gaming 

Tags: Games Workshop, Tabletop, Warhammer, Gaming, Wargaming 

Reply 40k Discussion
40k Rule Questions & Clarifications Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 21 22 23 24 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:12 pm


Okay, how do you people deal with low hedges and walls that act as cover? Is it difficult terrain or can we simply scale it in our move and assault phases?
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:54 pm


Lt. Brookman
Okay, how do you people deal with low hedges and walls that act as cover? Is it difficult terrain or can we simply scale it in our move and assault phases?

We always count it as difficult terrain, because some parts of your armour or what ever could get caught on it, and that slows you down.

Jason Kharo

5,500 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Forum Explorer 100
  • Signature Look 250

Van Evok

Dangerous Hunter

8,550 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Person of Interest 200
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 3:23 am


best arrange the effects of terrain pre-battle scanning the tabletop and getting consensus of the players involved. if my opponents says his orks are strong enough to cut thru hedges with choppas in no time, my marines are no worse with combat blades smile
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 4:06 am


Personally I'm not in favour of having separate rulings for armies in regards to terrain features and whatnots.

Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner


Caleidah

Eloquent Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 7:07 pm


Lt. Brookman
Okay, how do you people deal with low hedges and walls that act as cover? Is it difficult terrain or can we simply scale it in our move and assault phases?


The standard rule we have: If it counts as area cover, it counts as difficult terrain. Hedges, fences, forests, whatever.
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 4:42 am


He meant linear cover like wall or hedgerow probably... and I meant that if my enemy treats any terrain in some way, my army treats the terrain the same way.

Van Evok

Dangerous Hunter

8,550 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Person of Interest 200

Shinobi_8745

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 5:31 am


Our local gaming club (and every other I've been to through my days) use small ledges and such as cover and difficult terrain., but only as cover if it covers enough of the body (knee and up), unless stated as with the new LoS rules.
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 5:22 pm


So, if you have line of sight OVER cover, can you still fire? From what I remember, you had to roll to see how far through cover you can shoot and I just played again yesterday for the first time in two months and the person I played against said that as long as there is a line of sight, then they can hit.

Also, Independent characters.... Are the independent if they are in a squad? I know Farsight isn't when he's with his body guard, he was using an assault marine special hero (Forgot his name) and he said that the unit was independent, but he deepstriked with a whole squad. Wouldn't that make him a part of the squad and nullify the vortex grenade (only usable by independent) he used?

Babbalui


Van Evok

Dangerous Hunter

8,550 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Person of Interest 200
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 7:42 pm


in 5th ed "real" LOS takes precedence, but shooting thru cover gives target a cover save... independent characters in a squad can't be targeted unless in close combat where any models touching them can attack freely, or via torrent of fire in shooting (plus some exotic models like vindicare who chose their targets in shooting)... independent characters joining a squad can still use independent-only wargear.
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 8:09 pm


So, the 6' in rule no longer applies and they only have to be able to see units inside or through, but the units behind/inside cover get a save anyways?
That's better and worse at the same time, I think, if that's what you're telling me. ninja

Babbalui


Shinobi_8745

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 9:22 pm


LoS: I'd suggest you reading the 5th ed rulebook, if you don't have it, you should get it, as soon as possible IMO.

Independent Characters: Independent characters with a retinue (with a real retinue from the chosen codex, chrisis bodyguard for Tau, Command Squad for Marines, Command platoon for Guards etc) doesn't count as an independent character (not even in close combat I think, not 100% sure but someone could check the book unless I get to do it when I'm home from work) untill the retinue is dead, independent characters joining normal units keep the rule (I think it was like this).

This affects me as an ork player alot when using Old Zoggy, who can target independent characters within 12" or so, so the type of characters as explained above can be hard to target, and I'm sure there's other kind of wrgear or psychic powers that work sort of in the same way.


Unless someone have time to check this up in the rulebook before me I belive this is how it works, but I'm not 100% sure. > 3<
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 12:53 pm


That's why I'm asking. I don't have 5th and I don't have $50+ do shell out for one...
I just wanna know the brief description to make sure of the rules without getting a long and drawn out and winded explanation that's just going to confuse me when I get to the table and mess it up. xp

Babbalui


Lady Blodwynn

Sexy Businesswoman

7,900 Points
  • Unleash the Beast 100
  • Guildmember 100
  • Brandisher 100
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:03 pm


It might be better to buy the book or to read it at your FLGS instead of slowly dragging it out of people here. These rules are essential for play, why wouldn't you buy these? confused
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 2:39 pm


Van Evok
in 5th ed "real" LOS takes precedence, but shooting thru cover gives target a cover save... independent characters in a squad can't be targeted unless in close combat where any models touching them can attack freely, or via torrent of fire in shooting (plus some exotic models like vindicare who chose their targets in shooting)... independent characters joining a squad can still use independent-only wargear.


Torrent of Fire no longer exists, being replaced with the new wound allocation rules.

Oryn


Babbalui

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 3:17 pm


Lady Blodwynn
It might be better to buy the book or to read it at your FLGS instead of slowly dragging it out of people here. These rules are essential for play, why wouldn't you buy these? confused

babbalui
... I don't have $50+ do shell out for one...

Enough said?
Reply
40k Discussion

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 21 22 23 24 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum