Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

rhadeof_valceca

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:43 am


thank you and your welcome.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:29 am


Anyone knows how does Replicate and Storm work?

Example A: I play a Izzet spell with 1 replicate, then I play a spell with Storm, so does the Storm effect kick-in twice or thrice?

Example B: I have the Djinn in play (the one that let's me play replicate for any sorcery or instant) so, I play a random a normal spell without replicate, then play a spell with Storm and a replicate of it. The original Storm spell acts twice, does the replicate act twice or thrice?

japoniano


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:47 pm


Replicating a spell doesn't play it. In example A if you play a spell and replicate it then play a storm spell the storm spell only copies once for the originial spell not the replicas. Same thing in example B. it doesn't matter what you play with the Djinn, it will still only count as one spell. You don't actually place the replicas they just go onto the stack targetting whatever you wanted them to. So storm only sees one spell played before it.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:49 am


a question that i came up with is can u kill a creature in response to someone trying to sacrifice it

rhadeof_valceca


saiyamike

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:36 pm


How much wood could a Yawgmoth chuck if a Yawgmoth could chuck wood? Also I like the way you explain why the rulings work out.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:26 pm


rhadeof_valceca
a question that i came up with is can u kill a creature in response to someone trying to sacrifice it


i'll try my hand at this, and yawgmoth can correct me if i'm mistaken.

this situation depends on what kind of ability is sacrificing the creature. if the cost of the ability is the sacrifice (meaning, if the sacrifice is BEFORE the colon on a permanent, or if it says "as an additional cost, sacrifice a creature"), then you can not respond to it, because it will be done right when the ability or spell goes on the stack. however, if the sacrifice is in the ability (after the colon, in the rules text), then you can respond to the stacked ability. either way, you are technically not doing anything "in response to someone trying to sacrifice it".

(i wanna learn more about the rules so i can someday become a judge...i'm trying my hand at looking at rules issues)

Tricastelin


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:20 am


There really isn't a sacrifice effect that I know of that isn't before the colon or part of an activation cost so to put it simply, until someone shows me a card (the errated version razz ) that has sacrifice after a colon or somewhere else then we'll just keep is as the rulings are in the book as in you can't respond to sacrifices period.

saiyamike: Seeing as Yawgmoth is overlord god of a metallic plane there isn't much wood around for him to chuck seeing as phyrexia is artificial and metallalic o.o; but say he's in a forest, well he could chuck an infinite amount of wood because A) he lives forever and B) He doesn't really seem to run out of energy. Also thanks xd
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 4:54 pm


Another question. Let's say you want to chump block with a Sakura Tribe Elder, and make it grab a land for you. Is it possible to block with Elder, and then, before damage goes off, sac it to grab a land?

AFK Masturbating


wellwisher

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:10 pm


Angelic Celestia
Another question. Let's say you want to chump block with a Sakura Tribe Elder, and make it grab a land for you. Is it possible to block with Elder, and then, before damage goes off, sac it to grab a land?
yes, after it blocks you sac it, then before damage is dealt it's ability activates, and without anywhere for the damage to go, it fizzes, it's been blocked already.
thats what makes it such a useful wall.
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:13 pm


If I have a Keening Banshee with a Flickerform on it, and I flickerform it out with damage on the stack, and bring it back at end of turn, can I apply the -2/-2 to the damaged creature, or would damage wear off first?

DInfiltrator


AFK Masturbating

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:16 pm


wellwisher
Angelic Celestia
Another question. Let's say you want to chump block with a Sakura Tribe Elder, and make it grab a land for you. Is it possible to block with Elder, and then, before damage goes off, sac it to grab a land?
yes, after it blocks you sac it, then before damage is dealt it's ability activates, and without anywhere for the damage to go, it fizzes, it's been blocked already.
thats what makes it such a useful wall.


Hella sweet! mrgreen
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:26 pm


i also have a question about blocing, can u use the sisters of stone death to attack, thn when a creature is assingned to block it, can u use its ability to remove the blocker from the game befoer damage is dealt to it ???

Phantom_Renegade


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:34 am


DInfiltrator: the end phase consists of two steps the 'end of turn' phase and the 'cleanup phase' damage doesn't wear off until the cleanup phase so the banshee will come back at the end of turn phase and give the -2/-2 to everything, and anything that then has lethal damage will die since the damage is yet to be removed

Phantom_Renegade: Yes. there is a point between assigning blockers and damage where players may play instants and activated abilities.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:56 am


Apperntice:

Username: Rhadeof_Valceca

Years playing Magic: 7 Years

DCI Rating/DCI Number: None

rhadeof_valceca


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:19 am


rhadeof_valceca
Apperntice:

Username: Rhadeof_Valceca

Years playing Magic: 7 Years

DCI Rating/DCI Number: None
read it all the way. You're supposed to PM that to me not post it in the thread.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum