Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply Card Discussion
Children of Korlis Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Rohml

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:14 pm


Children of Korlis
W
Creature - Human Rebel Cleric
Rules Text (Oracle): Sacrifice Children of Korlis: You gain life equal to the life you've lost this turn. (Damage causes loss of life.)
1/1

----------------

I can use this card to return the life I've used to pay for some spells and abilities, right?

For example I paid 3 life plus B for Greed, to draw a card. If I sacrifice Children of Korlis I gain back my 3 life lost, right?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:07 pm


Yes.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Mylian

Eloquent Lunatic

15,500 Points
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
  • Beta Citizen 0
  • Gender Swap 100
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:38 pm


If you have two of them out, can you use both of them for the same damage? For example, let's say I have two Children and Illusions of Grandeur in play, and I let Illusions die. Can I use both Children to give me back 20 each, or can I only use one?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:09 pm


Mylian
If you have two of them out, can you use both of them for the same damage? For example, let's say I have two Children and Illusions of Grandeur in play, and I let Illusions die. Can I use both Children to give me back 20 each, or can I only use one?


From what I read from its ability. Yes, you can use them both.

-------------------------------

Say you have 2 Children of Korlis and somebody hits you with a Fireball or a Drainlife. And you lost 10 life.

Sacrifice one CoK and you gain 10 life. Sacrifice the other and you gain another 10 life.

--------------------------------

That's what shocked me with this card. I have this cleric deck that makes use of Greed, Unspeakable Symbol and Oversold Cemetery. With Children of Korlis I could pretty much beef up any creature I like and just sacrifice the clerics to gain back what life I've lost... with two Korlis and Oversold Cemetery I could keep returning them over and over.

Rohml


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:57 pm


Mylian
If you have two of them out, can you use both of them for the same damage? For example, let's say I have two Children and Illusions of Grandeur in play, and I let Illusions die. Can I use both Children to give me back 20 each, or can I only use one?

Life Loss this turn is the total amount of life you have loss to this point. Life you gain does not affect the Life Loss (as opposed to your current life total) you've loss this turn.

So for your two questions, yes, you can use each Children to gain the life equal to the life loss this turn. This will be 20 apiece for the Illusions (in addition to whatever life you loss so far).
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:27 pm


Additional info:

From what I've read from the MTG site.

If you're dealt sufficient damage or something happened that reduced your life to 0. You cannot use CoK to prevent you from losing the game.

So if you're playing something like Necropotence and decided to pay all your 20 life points, you'd lose the game before you can use CoK. And even if you leave say 1 point of life and your opponent then responds to your sacrificing of CoK with say... Shock. You'd still lose the game.

Rohml


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:35 am


Rohml
Additional info:

From what I've read from the MTG site.

If you're dealt sufficient damage or something happened that reduced your life to 0. You cannot use CoK to prevent you from losing the game.

So if you're playing something like Necropotence and decided to pay all your 20 life points, you'd lose the game before you can use CoK. And even if you leave say 1 point of life and your opponent then responds to your sacrificing of CoK with say... Shock. You'd still lose the game.

Removing a player from the game is a state based effect. No one has priority thus you can't activate a spell or ability.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:58 pm


Dittoing Rohml on the being shocked thing, that's the way I read it too but it seemed too broken to be true. I can definitely see these guys taking a dominant role in the life gain scene.

And Liquidor, removing a player from the game is state-based, but activating the Childrens' ability isn't. If you're at one life and you activate your Children, your opponent can respond by tagging you.

Mylian

Eloquent Lunatic

15,500 Points
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
  • Beta Citizen 0
  • Gender Swap 100

alpha impervius

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:29 am


Rohml
Children of Korlis
W
Creature - Human Rebel Cleric
Rules Text (Oracle): Sacrifice Children of Korlis: You gain life equal to the life you've lost this turn. (Damage causes loss of life.)
1/1

----------------

I can use this card to return the life I've used to pay for some spells and abilities, right?

For example I paid 3 life plus B for Greed, to draw a card. If I sacrifice Children of Korlis I gain back my 3 life lost, right?


i have a feeling that this card will be broken quite soon.

hatred anyone?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:51 pm


There are so many ways to break this it's ridiculous. (It's not even funny. xd ) You could use these to graft a burn deck onto a life gain deck. Suddenly, causing yourself damage isn't just a black strategy, it's a white strategy too.

Mylian

Eloquent Lunatic

15,500 Points
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
  • Beta Citizen 0
  • Gender Swap 100

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:31 pm


Mylian
There are so many ways to break this it's ridiculous. (It's not even funny. xd ) You could use these to graft a burn deck onto a life gain deck. Suddenly, causing yourself damage isn't just a black strategy, it's a white strategy too.

If you wanted a Burn/Life Gain Strategy, best go with Tamanoa. mrgreen
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 3:59 pm


I dunno, i like Soulgorger orgg on Soul Foundry, plus three Children of Korlis imprinted on Soul Foundry's.
6/6 Trampler and i get double of all but one of my life? yes please.

wellwisher


Emperor Helltroll

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:33 pm


Children of Korlis
Sacrifice Children
This is evil
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:44 pm


malkronus
Children of Korlis
Sacrifice Children
This is evil

Maybe they're naughty children? rofl You reminded me of the movie Peter Pan. "Quick! We must kill the children before they try to kill you again!" xd

Ta13oo


wellwisher

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:41 pm


Ta13oo
malkronus
Children of Korlis
Sacrifice Children
This is evil

Maybe they're naughty children? rofl You reminded me of the movie Peter Pan. "Quick! We must kill the children before they try to kill you again!" xd
well, the first two words on the ability does happen to be "Sacrifice Children"
Reply
Card Discussion

Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum