|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:17 pm
Me and my family have been debating on the summoning sickness. what where debating about is if a creature comes into playcan you use somthing like earthcraft(tap an untaped creature you control, untap a basic land.) on it on the some turn it comes into play. I would be very thankful if you could clarify this rule for me.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:57 pm
No the creature cannot by tapped. In order for a creature to be tapped for anything like Earthcraft, it must be out of summoning sickness or not have it. Same goes for the use of Glare of Subdual. Although, just a little note, an ability like Yosei's tapping of creatures as a triggered effect from his death can still tap your creature. Or an Icy Manipulator. Icy works too, lol.
If that confuses you, think of it this way. The creature was just brought into existence, if it is too weak to make an attack, I'd say it'd be to weak to use a tapping ability, lol. But thats just my way of understanding it, lol.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:04 pm
Actually, a creature can be tapped when they first come into play, as long as the "tapping" effect didn't specify the creature itself.
For example, with summoning sickness the "tap, draw a card effect" can't be used, but effects such as "tap five untapped goblins, Skirk Fire Marshal deals 10 damage to each creature and player" can be used.
I forgot the "offical explanation" for this rule, but all my friend and all the people I met in regional tounerys follow it. So, meh...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:47 am
The second poster is correct. As long as the ability doesn't have the tap symbol, the creature can be tapped. But please try to remember that there is a thread for this in the main forum, and posting there reduces clutter.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 8:20 pm
thanks everyone for your help this might convenes my dad. and thank you agin
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 8:28 pm
Indeed....
Other abilities can tap summoned ill creatures. Not themselves.
But anyone else.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:35 pm
Hood Fate No the creature cannot by tapped. In order for a creature to be tapped for anything like Earthcraft, it must be out of summoning sickness or not have it. Same goes for the use of Glare of Subdual. Although, just a little note, an ability like Yosei's tapping of creatures as a triggered effect from his death can still tap your creature. Or an Icy Manipulator. Icy works too, lol. If that confuses you, think of it this way. The creature was just brought into existence, if it is too weak to make an attack, I'd say it'd be to weak to use a tapping ability, lol. But thats just my way of understanding it, lol. this is one thing that is brought up many times at the tournaments where im from because of glare of subdual.. you can tap the creature as long as said creature does not have it as an ability..
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|