Submit

Toni-Lupin

3,450 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Treasure Hunter 100
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:29 pm
Hello,
I'm new to this guild and I was wondering how many of you were composers.
I'm currently in my first year of college and am trying to establish myself as a composer at the college and in the real world. I really want to make a big contribution to the musical world and create music that all the world will listen to for generations.
If you are a composer, what is your style like? Who inspires you? Is there a composer you admire? What is your favorite instrument to write for? Etc, etc.
Thanks!  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:13 pm
Hi Toni,
I'm a composer as well.
I'm studying at college, past with some of the best honors one can in high-school (Being selected for 'encore'), and have been writing full songs for about 4 years so far.

Fusion music is my passion, but as to what genres or styles I infuse together, I have no limits.
I love Jazz-metal, the two blend surprisingly well, I think the mentality behind the two genres is very similar, despite drastically different approaches and end-results.
I also love mixing modal or 12-tone serialist jazz ideas into rock structures.
I'm currently trying to write my first full orchestral piece, and I must say, I'm struggling.
I like to have in-depth knowledge about (as well as a basic ability to play) every instrument I compose for, so of course, writing for a full orchestra is a pain (I don't play any woodwind instruments :[).

I'm inspired mainly by noise-rock, mathcore and serialist jazz composers.
I love weird compositional styles. Repetition bores me, and I love subverting expectations. Making almost 'musical jokes' :]

As for specific composers that I admire, it's got to be Schoenberg and Stravinsky when it comes to classical music.

Drums are definitely my favorite instrument to compose for.
I've never been a very melodic person.
Big, sweeping arpeggios do nothing for me.