Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply Sculpted - art + craft guild
Aesthetics vs Practicality

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

How many lurkers are there opposed to posters?
  Lurker
  Poster
View Results

Ambrocio

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:05 am
So... I've been noticing something about myself... I don't like to consider practical or functional purposes when creating a work.

I'm studying Jewelry/Metal Arts, however my background is in drawing and painting. And I'll be honest, I miss the godliness you have when drawing/painting. The freedom to depict something physically impossible to enhance the work (whether that be ignoring gravity, changing the way light works, etc). However, in crafting something, you have to consider the physical properties of the material... and also sometimes the purpose.

I like to create wearable pieces (not because I like jewelry, but because I love the body and site-specific works). However, they are not usually practical and/or functional. It is easy to misshapen or break most of the things I create and others restrict the wearers movement.

I think it works for me and my aesthetic. I like that art doesn't need to serve a purpose, I like the feelings, subjectivity, and the idea of art as an experience (someday, I want to move in the direction of the physical work being just a prop). I just need to take it to the next level to clarify: this is my statement as an artist.

Discuss...

How does your background affect your craft? (background in this case may include your actual background in life. Like coming from a very family or community orientated place, or whatever)
Is your background in something other than craft? If so, what is it?
Why do you create works? (what do you value in art? What is your voice; what is your statement?)
Do you think practically? Or just about appearances? Do you consider both?
Or whatever else you can pull from this.