Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

SinfulGuillotine

Perfect Trash

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:43 am
SloanSage
SinfulGuillotine
I don't like modern Christian music because of the sheer lack of quality. Granted, I'm a musician and my standards are higher than most, but I'll take Phish and Pink Floyd over any Christian bands I've encountered just because the music is a whole lot better.

And so long as you're not a complete idiot and think "zomg, dis band talks about how satan is awesome so now im gonna worship satan!!!111!!" I don't see any issue with listening to music that isn't blanently Christian.

Maybe you are just not looking hard enough? (says a Music Major with many musicians under the belt and many friends who can tell more about a band just by what they hear...)

You can find them, they just may not be the most popular ones out there.You just have to look.
The reality is, I'm not terribly pre-occupied with finding good "Christian" bands, and I'm not interested in sifting through piles of utter crap just for the sake of finding a band that throws in a few lyrics about Jesus.

I'm always on the lookout for good music, and if I happen to find something awesome that's Christian, then great. If not, that's equally great. I'm far more concerned with it being good music than the religious persuation of who's playing it.

Oh, though I did think of an exception to my "Christian music sucks" opinion. Anyone ever heard of Joy Electric? I believe the guy who makes it is some flavour of Christian. And it's decent music. Not the best, but sort of pleasant and happy and easy to listen to. Reminds me of old school Nintendo music. With a techno beat. And vaguely annoying female vocals. But it's all right.  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:17 pm
SinfulGuillotine
SloanSage
SinfulGuillotine