Reply Main Forum: Haven for Harry Potter Fanatics
Which do you think is more true?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Master Zeffy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:01 pm
Character depictions in the movies in the art in the books? I'm still new to the series so I dunno if it's opinionated or if one is a set fact. Just brought this up because if it's art, then according to Prisoner of Azkaban chapter 14 'Snape's Grudge,' Snape has a beard. =O  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:12 pm
Well, obviously the books, because they came first. I was always kind of annoyed about some of the ways they made the characters in the movies... Lupin, for example... Honestly, I think that Scottie looks more like the way I thought Lupin would be.  

ScottieBears MiaKitty

6,250 Points
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Window Shopper 100
  • Hive Mind 200

paraphernalia_101

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:28 pm
I totally agree with you the books are the first resource that you should go to if you want reliable descriptions of characters. Also the art because fans get the description of character from Jo from the books the themselves. Even though I do like the actress they picked for Luna. She is pretty much canon.  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:48 am
Yes obviously the books will give you the best original description since they came first before anything else did.

In every movie which is from a book, they can't get any actor that will look EXACTLY like the character that is described in the book.  

Grey Gardens

1,100 Points
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Member 100
  • Gaian 50

Master Zeffy

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:51 am
I don't mean character descriptions, I meant the art at the beginning of each chapter. Obviously the character descriptions are right. ^^;  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 12:41 pm