Welcome to Gaia! ::

ZypTrek's Wife

Dapper Lover

Hey, I'm a full time commission writer... and I'm wondering if anyone else around here is as well. Do you ever have trouble writing someone else's idea? Does it ever make you want to pull your hair out and just run screaming in the opposite direction to your own story?

I don't feel that way all the time, it's just with the commissions that I take that are particularly... bleh. Though I find that if I work on and finish someones commission (typically between 5-10k words a day) I end up being burnt out by the time I can work on my own novels.

Just kinda fishing around for thoughts on the whole subject, I guess. >_> Aren't we all trying to NOT get burnt out at one point or another.

Feral Loiterer

I've never done writing commissions, but 5k a day would burn anyone out. That is a lot of creative juice you need to drain out on a daily basis.

I have a friend who does a lot of commissions and she has her shop set up so that she doesn't accept them all. She has 'slots' and when a slot opens she picks an idea someone has asked her to do that she likes and she does it. It might help if you limit your intake and become maybe a little more picky about which stories you want to write.

ZypTrek's Wife

Dapper Lover

defineunique
I've never done writing commissions, but 5k a day would burn anyone out. That is a lot of creative juice you need to drain out on a daily basis.

I have a friend who does a lot of commissions and she has her shop set up so that she doesn't accept them all. She has 'slots' and when a slot opens she picks an idea someone has asked her to do that she likes and she does it. It might help if you limit your intake and become maybe a little more picky about which stories you want to write.