Welcome to Gaia! ::

Athebyne's Partner

Big Member

So, an old friend of mine wants to pick up the electric guitar. He's not half bad at the acoustic, being able to play quite a few songs, but as an electric guitarist myself I know electric is a different ballgame. Anyway, he's asking for recommendations for a good beginner guitar. One that doesn't cost too much, but is easy to play and sounds decent. He seems to be leaning towards classic rock, if it helps, so maybe stuff like Les Pauls? I don't really know.

(Btw, it'd be nice to get input from people who live in Australia, as my friend has moved there.)
Depends on style, etc. But i'd suggest a starter pack since you can get a small amp, bag and stuff with it. I got the Silvertone starter back and I loved the guitar. Ibanez and Epiphone have some as well.
Anything London City, if you can get a mk 1 or 2 comet (the telecaster model), perfect. Friend of mine picked up one of these for dirt cheap and it is one sweet axe.
They have dual-humbucker and stratmodels too, just look for london city.

For amp a blackstar fly or ht1 (or ht5) , line 6 spider or roland cube.

The thing with starterpack amps is that they sound okay-ish clean, but once you kick in the gain it just becomes flat and dead is my experience, and all of the above amps are readily available secondhand (half the world plays a line 6 spider is my experience) so you start off with a much better tone than you'd get for your 250 bucks starter pack deal.

Okay, so you might have to spend 300-400 bucks, but for the money, definitely worth it. Especially since he's already a player, so he already knows he'll keep on playing.

I know, I only suggested secondhand, but on a budget, it's definitely the way to fly.

Genius

I'm going to need to know an actual budget price to be specific. People have different opinions on what "one that doesn't cost too much" means.