Welcome to Gaia! ::

4,475 Points
  • Hygienic 200
  • Signature Look 250
  • Full closet 200
I really like lolita but I personally like flowier kinds of clothes. So I was just wondering, if I were to wear a lolita dress/skirt without a petticoat, would it give it more of a relaxed kind of look or would it just look weird and saggy?

As you can probably tell, I'm kinda new at this so sorry if it's a bit of a silly question.

Profitable Businessman

Petticoats are a must for me. It's one of those things that I see as essential to lolita because lolita has such a specific shape, that without one I no longer see it as lolita. There are other J-fashion styles that use more flowy things, like mori, aristo, cult party kei, otome and dolly kei. You might be interested in those.

Fashionable Gawker

Some Casual Lolita don't wear petticoats, or wear less full ones. So basically what you're describing wink Classic lolita doesn't require the cupcake shape so just one A-line petti usually works just fine for me. Those two and Country are generally the most lenient about the cupcake/bell shape requirement http://hellolace.net/styles/casual
It seriously depends on the cut of the skirt. Try it and see how you like it because some will look better than others.

Sugary Bunny

19,000 Points
  • Dressed Up 200
  • Befriended 100
  • Signature Look 250
Depends on the style your wearing, you may get away with it with classic, guro, and more subtle styles like that but with anything OTT, sweet, country and the likes it'll just look like a sad dress. sad

HimeKeesho's Wife

I don't know.. because lolita is all about having a bell like shaped skirt or dress so I think petticoats are a must but every lolita is different so he/she can do whatever they like.

Questionable Conversationalist