Welcome to Gaia! ::

what is the best way to get your comic out there and gain readers? (assuming that you have a decent story/art)
Well, a link in your signature when posting on forums is a good place to start.

Magical Investigator

22,875 Points
  • Bookworm 100
  • Pine Perfection 250
  • Forum Regular 100
Fencer Mike McC

That's how I do it.

I'm not really good with promotions. I'm a writer/artist, not an advertiser. I do believe there are a good few sites where you can promote your comic, though.

There's also a Promotions forum here on Gaia. 3nodding
Fencer Mike McC

that is definitely a good idea 3nodding
Xiam
Fencer Mike McC

That's how I do it.

I'm not really good with promotions. I'm a writer/artist, not an advertiser. I do believe there are a good few sites where you can promote your comic, though.

There's also a Promotions forum here on Gaia. 3nodding

ditto, i know nothing of promotions. hmmm do people visit the promotion section often or is it just there to appease people trying to get information out about their work? thanks for the input!
There are two major categories when it comes to promoting your comic.

Free Self-Promotion.

Enter contests or art jams.

Webcomic Idol. Global Comic Jam. Local 24-Hour Comic Day events. The jam forums on various message boards.

Forum posts and signatures.

Take a panel or pin-up from your comic, superimpose the title and a short, catchy description (Like "Heliothaumic: Sci-Fi Elves!" or "Dead Winter: "Not Your Typical Zombie Comic!" ), make it banner-sized, and post it as your sig image on any forum that allows sigs. If they don't allow sig images, post a text link.

Art archive accounts.

A Deviant Art account, updated simultaneously with your comic's main site, might get you more readers. Some people are very loyal to community sites like DA, and would rather read a comic there than go offsite for it.

Guest strips.