Welcome to Gaia! ::

Basically I don't really (I'm half-half because I'm not a legal expert) support efforts to circumvent congress because I think it undermines the government, but I most certainly don't support any ideas to literary mint some stupid coin. I am amazed people like Krugman have somehow backed this idea.

He's backing this idea to essentially print money, but has yet to explain how a trillion dollar coin would retain any value. In the end either two things have to happen, either a foreign agent buys it for 1 Trillion dollars, which they won't, or the government uses it as a place hold for 1 trillion real dollars they used to pay off in it's place, which means nothing because the Treasury will just have a worthless platinum coin that can't be sold or exchanged for any value.
azulmagia
N3bu
It IS childish. He didn't even offer it, afaik it was started by some silly petition. The US needs QE regardless (my opinion) mostly to deal with debt and exports. But the idea that this "coin" shoudl be used as a threat to get the house in line is childish. Firstly because an actual coin wouldn't work and secondly because it's essentially like trying to bluff stupid people with a stupid ultimatum. You don't bluff stupid people and you don't fight stupid with more stupid.

1) Read my revised post.

2) The coin should not be used as a THREAT, it should be minted if there is no alternative to avoid hitting the debt ceiling.

3) Read this and let's see if you're still singing the same tune.

Quote:
We have about a $100bn per month deficit.