Welcome to Gaia! ::

Winner

19,600 Points
  • Snowball Hero 200
  • Caroling Champ 100
  • Alchemy Level 3 100
As usual, it's the morning before my final paper and presentation for Research Methods are due (I have like 4 hours before I'll need to pass out), and I'm one or two paragraphs from being done with my paper. [The presentation was finished days ago, and only needs minor adjustments.]

Turns out, the supposedly hypothetical research project I was laying out in the paper has already been done by someone else.

A year ago, I did a research project myself that I was told I wasn't allowed to use (even though other people got to use their already-started research) for this class because I wouldn't learn anything about Methods from it. I could pretty easily draw up a paper & a presentation on that instead, because I know that material like the back of my hand (probably better, honestly).

Potentially important information:
I'm majoring in Criminology.
I'm fairly certain my professor knows nothing of the literature of my particular focus. [My focus is psychological/personality criminology, specifically psychopathy, so it's all individual-level stuff, looking at people and their motivations and personalities. The prof's focus is macro-level and looks at countries, cities, counties, companies. That kind of thing.]

Should I go ahead with what I set out to do (and what every prior assignment that is supposed to build up to this was about), or should I go with my personal project even though the prof said not to? If I go with my project, should I explain the reason for the change?

At this point you are so done with the paper you written that it seems kind of a waste to scrap it for something out of the norm (and something you would have to really explain). If you wanted to challenge what your prof said you should have done it way before now. I also assume that the presentation links to the paper and so changing one would make it not match the other so much.

Winner