4 0.33333333333333 33.3% [ 4 ]
5 (Good enough/Average) 0.25 25.0% [ 3 ]
6 0.083333333333333 8.3% [ 1 ]
7 0 0.0% [ 0 ]
8 0 0.0% [ 0 ]
9 0 0.0% [ 0 ]
10 (Professional) 0.083333333333333 8.3% [ 1 ]
Total Votes:[ 12 ]

I originally wanted to hopefully start selling my art (on Gaia and Deviantart), but I guess that's too out of reach for me at the moment. So I want this to be a critique page where you just tell me what I need to work on concerning my realistic portrait drawings.
I'm a traditional artist (and more on the realistic side), with little experience on digital art, but I do have a few examples provided anyways. Also, if you could, try to ignore the blurriness, and just focus on the overall look that I'm trying to make it realistic.

**Don't mention the quality of the drawings. I am fully aware that the quality is blurry. I will fix that when I go home for winter break, where I will have a scanner - currently have no good camera or scanner with me at school.

---currently still working on the first one---
User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image

Demonic Nymph

2,900 Points
  • Supreme Supporter 500
  • Hellraiser 500
  • Full closet 200
Well you're to a good start for realism that's for sure. I wouldn't exactly place where you are right now in that category but I think with a little more work you could find yourself well on the way there.

My biggest issue with what you've got here is the way you draw the features onto the faces. Especially the noses. Human noses do not look like that in a realistic sense. When it comes to drawing realism you'd get a better result from shading to define your features.

Shading will become your best friend when trying for that realism look. As long as you are drawing with symbols (as you do with the noses here) you'll never quite achieve that. It'll always have a slightly cartoony look to it.