The Law was written by The High Council, in collaboration with the ruling Fae of The Other Lands, to define magical interactions between Fae, Mundanes, and Magical Mortals. They go as follows:

1. You will not kill with magic.
2. You will not alter the past.
3. You will not enthrall another.
4. You will not change another's form.
5. You will not steal another's magic.
6. You will not disturb the dead.
7. You will not expose yourself to the unknowing.

There are, of course, a number of other Laws, but the first seven are the most important, and the most commonly known. After all, most modern humans don't need to remember "14. You will not steal another's child and replace it with your own." (That one was directed more at the Fae, anyway.)

As far as mortals go, the rules are a bit flexible, and tend to be enforced on a case-to-case basis. Crimes against the Laws are always judged before a sentence is given (save those times when a Knight kills you because you're raising the dead or committing mass murder). A minor infraction will be judged by your nation's Council Member, or an appointed representative thereof, and punishments vary greatly from person to person (and that goes for both the criminal and the judge), crime to crime. A more serious infraction is judged by your local Branch Council, and usually ends in much harsher punishment. The greatest of crimes are judged before The High Council, and the few who have gotten there didn't exactly live to tell their tales.

To Fae, though, these laws are absolute. Luckily for us, only crimes committed in The Other Lands are judged by the Fae. (But when's the last time that happened?)