Reply The Foreign Languages Guild
Homestay?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Fullmetalrunt

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 6:15 pm
I'm going to be staying at a family's house in Barcelona for a few weeks as part of a language learning program. I've never done a homestay before, so I had some questions I've been wondering about...

What should I bring?
What kind of gifts should I get them? (I live in the USA)
What am I supposed to talk to them about? ;v;

I guess I'm just super nervous, ha ha....  
PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 3:44 am
Oh, Barcelona sounds like fun!

I've done homestay a couple of times before and there's nothing to worry about. People who provide homestay for foreigners are, I think, usually very open and eager to learn, so you'll probably be more than welcome to stay with them. The conversation part will solve itself, but you can always ask them about daily life in Barcelona or anything that the city is known for, even if you already know it, haha. It's fun to get perspective from locals, 'cuz that's one of the reasons you're there, no? It's okay to be nerdy, it's fun for you and them. =D

And gifts, hmm... I usually bring something symbolic from my town, preferably something that I can tell them about. My town is not very famous, but it's got some interesting stories to it. =) So like, if you're from Seattle, bring them a tiny Space Needle, because that's a major thing about Seattle, even if like everyone does that. And then you can bring something a little "less famous" as well, maybe something Native American, that'd be so cool! I'd personally love that.

Other stuff to bring - clothes? Stuff you bring when going somewhere, I guess. They'll probably provide with bed stuff and towels, but bring your own adapter, in case you'd like some electric power to charge a laptop or so. You usually get some kind of checklist before you go, so you can make sure you bring what you'll need. =)