Welcome to Gaia! ::

Do you need to find out how an injury would affect your characters?

Want to know what it's like inside an Emergency Room, what the interior of an operating room looks like, what kind of treatments you'd get in an ICU or how long an injured character would have to spend in hospital?

Got a question about modern medicine, drugs, or medical treatments?

Here's where you can come to ask.

In a former life (and please forgive my fanciful phrasing) I was a student nurse. I may not have quite qualified, but my training has left me a Fount of Useless Medical Trivia. More to the point, I'm a med nerd. I actually like looking up information on healthcare and its history, and, more to the point, I know where to go to look for it. I can also speak Doctor pretty well. That said, I won't pretend I know everything or am any substitute for talking to someone who actually works in the field. I can't answer every single medical question you may have off the top of my head and if you have access to a friend or relative who works in healthcare, I'd reccomend talking to them before talking to me. I won't claim to be infallible, but I'm assured by the friends who come to me for advice on writing hospital scenes that I know enough for my knowledge to be useful to someone else.

Most of my knowledge relates specifically to the English medical system and English treatments, but I'm assured that things aren't all that different throughout the Western medical establishment. I'm not the one to ask about things like hospital bills or how much an ambulance ride will set you back - and I'm certainly not the one to ask where it comes to high fantasy featuring non-human characters - but I can tell you what the inside of an ambulance looks like and what it's like to ride in one.

I'm not online every day, but I will endeavor to check this thread regularly and to get back to any queries in a timely and helpful fashion.

When asking questions, please...