Welcome to Gaia! ::

Lavish Consumer

11,000 Points
  • Party Member 100
  • Consumer 100
  • Happy Birthday! 100
I am a beginning artist and I absolutely love the Christopher Hart drawing books. I am learning to draw chibis right now and I have orders some more of his books. Have you used these books? What do you think of them?

Distinct Prophet

It's good to have things that make you want to draw. But the majority "how to draw" art books, especially those filling really specific niches, the main goal is making you think you really need to buy it, maybe even more than teaching you how to make good art. All art methods and teachers have their negatives, and learning from someone else's style can teach you their bad habits. Just be sure to keep an eye out for them, and try to avoid ingraining them into your own work.
After he drew boobs as muscles, I keep a wide berth from his work.

Lavish Consumer

11,000 Points
  • Party Member 100
  • Consumer 100
  • Happy Birthday! 100
ninniku
It's good to have things that make you want to draw. But the majority "how to draw" art books, especially those filling really specific niches, the main goal is making you think you really need to buy it, maybe even more than teaching you how to make good art. All art methods and teachers have their negatives, and learning from someone else's style can teach you their bad habits. Just be sure to keep an eye out for them, and try to avoid ingraining them into your own work.

I like to copy the finished pictures from the book.

Lavish Consumer

11,000 Points
  • Party Member 100
  • Consumer 100
  • Happy Birthday! 100
puppetbomb
After he drew boobs as muscles, I keep a wide berth from his work.

You didn't have to do yours like that.
LilithDraco
You didn't have to do yours like that.

I suppose I was a bit too blunt. Apologies.