Is it overrated to be a native English speaker? Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

[neon.zombie]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:09 pm
Fem_chan
I'm often envious of native English speakers, especially from the U.S.!

But that is mainly because I come from a country that has a language problem (Belgium). I have difficulty finding a job, in my own country, because I don't speak 3-4 languages fluently enough: French, Dutch, English, German (I never had the chance to study German, as I studied Arts, wasn't part of my school's program).
...my knowledge of other languages than those seems irrelevant. There's a lot of unnecessary language and dialect elitism.

I have friends from other parts of the world (South Africa, Congo) who have similar problems. We often fantasize what it would be like, growing up in a country where nearly everyone can fluently communicate with one-another. And it's ironic my friends, from halfway down the globe, can often understand me better, than my own countrymen.

But, the fact that I knew English from a very young age, has always allowed for me to communicate with tourists from further away (but French can also get you far, many people understand French, even if they can't form sentences with it). Which is great!

Wow, I never knew that about Belgium... that is insane! And that's kinda what I meant about it being overrated to be a native speaker - particularly because I live on an island, there's not really any pressure to speak any other languages, as our neighbouring countries either speak English or speak a language that is too uncommon to really impact your career if you travel overseas, etc. (Well, New Caledonia speaks French, but I don't think that counts). While the number of foreign languages spoken in your country seems to cause problems, to me it sounds like a nice world to live it. Minus the dialect elitism, that is.