Welcome to Gaia! ::

Wheezing Sex Symbol

How did they just now find all these problems? Did they suspect a problem before releasing DMS? Honestly, it's just strange.

Perfect Saint

Late last year, they attempted to do maintenance on zOMG, but instead of fixing it, they found security holes. They determined they were too hard to fix given many factors like how old the program is, how difficult the coding was, the lack of staff who are really familiar with the codes, etc. Can't really tell you more than that since I'm no programmer.

You can read these threads though.

http://www.gaiaonline.com/forum/community-announcements/update-on-zomg-maintenance/t.94749579_1/#1
http://www.gaiaonline.com/forum/community-announcements/some-zomg-clarifications/t.94763911_1/#1

Wheezing Sex Symbol

Myrielle
Late last year, they attempted to do maintenance on zOMG, but instead of fixing it, they found security holes. They determined they were too hard to fix given many factors like how old the program is, how difficult the coding was, the lack of staff who are really familiar with the codes, etc. Can't really tell you more than that since I'm no programmer.

http://www.gaiaonline.com/forum/community-announcements/update-on-zomg-maintenance/t.94749579_1/#1
http://www.gaiaonline.com/forum/community-announcements/some-zomg-clarifications/t.94763911_1/#1

Thank you for those links and I understand all of that. But when DMS was being coded, did they not check to see if there was a problem or if there could be potential problems? That's the only part that doesn't seem right about that.

RandiHoney's Partner

Rainbow Lunatic

18,275 Points
  • Grunny Rainbow 100
  • Grunny Grabber 50
  • Brandisher 100
Unbeatable Tofu
Myrielle

Thank you for those links and I understand all of that. But when DMS was being coded, did they not check to see if there was a problem or if there could be potential problems? That's the only part that doesn't seem right about that.