Welcome to Gaia! ::

An Alien Friendship Contest!
"A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out."

Hello, and welcome to my third writing contest! I have not been very active in this forum or in any others on Gaia for several months now, but I always come back here to read what people write and to gain inspiration from others' successes. I've been writing for a couple years now and am always looking for inspiration to keep plowing through a project even when I want to start over or work on something else. That, added to the fact that I have literally more gold than I know what to do with, is the reason behind this contest. Let's kick back and write as we talk about inspirations, frustrations, writer's block, and more!

To give you a fast glimpse into this writing contest, here are some specifics:

Type - Original Prose
Entry Fee - Free
Deadline - August 22, 2012
Prize Pot - 500k
Word Minimum Requirement - 5,000 words
Word Maximum Limit - Nonexistent!
How to Enter - Post the story in the thread [No PM'd entries allowed]

More specific information will be provided in the following posts.

Note: Okay so, I have lots of gold. Several million gold. And I literally never use it. I'd be more than happy to contribute more gold to the prize pot, but since my last contest did not garner much interest, I'm a little hesitant. If there's a higher interest in this contest, the prizes will go up dramatically. Only time will tell!
Prompts and Rules
"Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art... It has no survival value; rather is one of those things that give value to survival."

Prompt:

There will only be one prompt that you must follow when you write your entry to this contest. I have a story idea that has been in my head for a while now, and I really think that this idea can offer new and experienced writers alike a great opportunity for practice. Besides, I just really want to read some awesome alien stories!