Welcome to Gaia! ::

I'm new to writing. I just wanted to know if anyone had advice as to how someone should start a piece because I have a bunch of ideas however I am unable to put them to paper. I am always stopping because I am uncertain if I should continue even though I do not have any writing background. Should I look at writing books or do research so my stories have more detail? Again I'm new so please any advice would be helpful. smile
stormseer
I'm new to writing. I just wanted to know if anyone had advice as to how someone should start a piece because I have a bunch of ideas however I am unable to put them to paper. I am always stopping because I am uncertain if I should continue even though I do not have any writing background. Should I look at writing books or do research so my stories have more detail? Again I'm new so please any advice would be helpful. smile

You start with an idea and then you develop it. Then you just write.

Don't worry about how the first draft turns out. One of the hardest things for beginners, at least from what I've seen, is getting over the fact that rough drafts always, ALWAYS suck. But that's OKAY! Rough drafts aren't meant to be shared and are meant for you to just get the words down. The editing process is what's suppose to make the story good. But you should really only try editing your work AFTER the story is down. Otherwise you could get stuck.

Umm, I'm trying to be very general with my advice here cause everyone has their own writing process. For example, some people use outlines and plan everything out before writing. Others just start with a general idea or just completely wing it.

Try getting a book or two on writing novels or go search up some author blogs if you want to get a better idea of what to expect. I have a couple books, and they helped me a lot.