Welcome to Gaia! ::

currydaddy's Sweetheart

Feral Bunny

11,475 Points
  • Waffles! 25
  • Expert Skill 150
  • Little Bunny Foo Foo 100
I stopped writing some time ago due to discouragement.
i was a freelancer sort of
I entered writing contests and such
I won some money here and there and i used to street perform with some of my stuff
but its so stressful finding work in that area.

anybody on gaia making money/a living from their writing?

/just curious because im constantly thinking about getting back into it.

Questionable Prophet

I'm not.
I hope to make a little bit eventually, but I imagine it'd never be anything to live off of. Probably best to have a proper job and then write on the side.

If you've already won a few contest, I'd keep going.

currydaddy's Sweetheart

Feral Bunny

11,475 Points
  • Waffles! 25
  • Expert Skill 150
Desi the fuzzy fluffhead
I'm not.
I hope to make a little bit eventually, but I imagine it'd never be anything to live off of. Probably best to have a proper job and then write on the side.

If you've already won a few contest, I'd keep going.

Thank you bunches for the motivation. It upsets me that its so hard to make a career out of.

Dangerous Enabler

I do tech writing and marketing for a living! I know several people who make a living writing: mostly non-fiction, in food writing or journalism or working on textbooks.

Making a living on fiction is difficult, but that doesn't mean making a living on writing is all that hard. And it's still creative, and can be fun.