Welcome to Gaia! ::

“I was always broken”
It was depression week here at Colorado University. Being a transfer student I can see I had a lot of depression. I found myself typing this in class one day. I submitted it unanimously to the Colorado website for depressed teens. Bored out of my mind during a lecture, I decided to jam this onto my computer, tune out the teacher and reflect on my struggle with depression:
“The first time I cut myself was 12 years old. That’s when I knew something was wrong with me. And the worst part is I’ve never had a reason to be depressed- I come from a perfect life. I’m pretty, wealthy, and have a loving family. I’ve never been bullied or raped. Nothing has ever happened to me that was bad really. I just always was… broken. I’ll never know the exact existence of my depression but it does exist and I’ve always felt this foreboding sense of not being good enough. And I hate to say it but I’ve always wanted to die. Maybe it’s being surrounded by such perfection. Who knows? I’ve also felt myself tremendously sad about others suffering. I’ve wanted to die simply to the sheer fact I don’t agree with the world.
I’ve always felt scared in this world and there was always a part of me that wanted to die. You could say I harbor a lot of fear. The cutting escalated when I transferred colleges- that was a big change for me. I went through hell Lakeforest College having no friends and transferred to my entire group of friends at Colorado University. I met a bunch of mean people-- I was never bullied but I felt isolated. Everywhere I went I was alone it was horrible. I had one friend that I still talk to this day.