Welcome to Gaia! ::

<3 </3

Overdone?

Total Votes:[ 0 ]
This poll closed on January 2, 2005.
No longer accepting new votes.
< 1 2 3 4 ... 9 10 11 >

Quote:
I gotta say, I never got the idea that vampires were supposed to be sexy. I mean, they look like dead people. OK sure, I get the whole sucking blood/oral sex comparisons and such and climbing through the windows of rich aristocrats to have sex and steal their blood and such, but come on.

Dead people.

*Runs up, sticks a pin reading 'AWESOME' onto Heidi no Lux's jacket, and runs off.*
Quote:
I maintain that they're certainly not rare, but not overdone. Overdone implies that the market is saturated and that there is no room for new works. At least, that's the way it seems to me. I've been writing them for six years, I'm sticking to them, thankyou very much.

That's a good point. My definition of overdone is more like there could be a whole section of a library devoted to them and if you look at any original fiction posting site online, you'll find many.

Quote:
Same. Some authors just play off the dark, angsty, immortal bit and don't really put much more work into it other than that, or concentrate on couples and Rice-style plots. If you move away from that though, I think you can manage quite a bit of character development and some very interesting vampires and consequently stories. Vampires are ex-humans. How far they've distanced themselves from humans is a combination of age and personality and it makes for some very interesting metamorphoses of character.

Well put. I'm of the opinion that people go by a one-fits-all mentality with almost all of the vampiric characters... There are different quirks, yes, but they seem to all have the same opinions of humans and human society. (I'm speaking in terms of a single author's characters having the same mentality, not vampiric characters as a whole.) I try to keep mine following a bit of a humanistic pattern. (Psychology isn't my strong point though, so eh...)