Learned Gaian

5,750 Points
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Member 100
  • Cart Raider 100
LoperDoper Mule
DarknessofHeavenandDreams
LoperDoper Mule

I have a name, and I want to know it's origin.
What's the name?
Morranis

It has several possible origins, the most likely ones being the Italian 'Seaman/ of the sea', Hebrew for 'bitter'. There is an indication that it could be Greek, but the meaning is unknown (so far).
I am The Compendium
It has several possible origins, the most likely ones being the Italian 'Seaman/ of the sea', Hebrew for 'bitter'. There is an indication that it could be Greek, but the meaning is unknown (so far).
I did think it sounded Italian, thank you!

Popular Member

7,750 Points
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Overstocked 200
  • Tipsy 100
Does anyone know the meaning of the Japanese surname Kumada?
this actually helps, im a writer myself ! blaugh
I_Write_Ivre
Does anyone know the meaning of the Japanese surname Kumada?

It's not a perfect translation, but it could either mean "gentle bear" or "mountain bear." With separated kanji it would be "bear" and "rice field". Sadly I am better versed with Chinese characters.

LoperDoper Mule
I have a Greek character, and a surname in mind for his daughter.
I don't want a site that will give me a Greek surname, I want to know if there's a site that'll tell me what origin a surname is likely to come from.

[The surname's Morranis and I'm not sure whether to attribute it to the father or the mother, who hasn't really got a designated nationality yet]